Pulse & Plate

Best Home Rowing Machines

Seven rowers for a home, compared on the specs that decide it: what the console reports, how many feet of floor the machine needs, published weight capacity, seat height and whether the workouts cost a membership.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

The rower most people should buy for a home is still the Concept2 RowErg, for the unglamorous reason that its numbers are the ones everyone else’s training is written in: a 500 lb capacity, a PM5 monitor that reports pace, watts and drag factor, and five years of published frame warranty. Two honest caveats travel with it. Its air fan is the loudest thing in this roundup, and Concept2 usually sells direct, so Amazon may show “Check price” or ship it from a third-party seller — expected for this model, not a red flag.

Below that, the field splits on three things: resistance type, floor length and whether the workouts cost a monthly fee. The Sunny Dual Rail SF-RW524079 is the budget pick that still publishes a 500 m split, 300 lb of capacity and a 63.2 in frame — more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field. The MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro is the value pick, and the only console here besides the PM5 that reports drag factor. The Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART is the water rower to buy if you want the on-water feel with real pacing data and a frame that folds to 42.9 in. The Hydrow is near-silent and class-led, and worth it only if you will pay the membership. The Body-Solid Endurance R300 is the one to buy if it has to outlast the enthusiasm, and the Sunny SF-RW520007 is the air rower that actually fits a small room.

Every figure on this page is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up. We own none of these machines and have tested none of them — the comparison below is a spec argument, and it says so.

Compare the best home rowing machines

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit, with the live Amazon price and stock on every row. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

#1 Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

Best overall · Air

PM5 monitor (pace, watts, drag factor), 500 lb capacity

$990.00

Amazon: In stock

Check Price on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

#2 Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

Best budget · Magnetic

63.2 in long, 500 m split on the console, 300 lb

$199.00

Amazon: In stock

Check Price on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air Rower

#3 MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air Rower

Best value · Air

Drag factor readout, 47.2 in rail inseam

$499.99$559.9911% off

Amazon: In stock

Check Price on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

#4 Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

Best water rower · Water

Watts + split monitor, folds to 42.9 in

$699.99

Amazon: In stock

Check Price on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Hydrow Rowing Machine

#5 Hydrow Rowing Machine

Best for classes · Electromagnetic

22 in touchscreen, classes need a membership

$2,195.00

Amazon: Only 11 left in stock (more on the way)

Check Price on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Body-Solid Endurance R300 Indoor Rower

#6 Body-Solid Endurance R300 Indoor Rower

Best for heavier rowers · Air

500 lb capacity, lifetime frame warranty

$925.00

Amazon: In stock

Check Price on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

#7 Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

Best for small rooms · Air

72.6 in long, folds upright, 300 lb

$442.98

Amazon: Only 2 left in stock - order soon

Check Price on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The seven rowers side by side

Nine rows, chosen because each one has changed somebody's mind: what the console reports, how long the machine is, what it will carry, how high you sit, what it becomes when you are done, and whether the workouts carry a fee.

SpecConcept2 RowErg (Model D)Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air RowerSunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)Hydrow Rowing MachineBody-Solid Endurance R300 Indoor RowerSunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)
ResistanceAir, damper 1-10Magnetic, 16 levelsAir, 10 levelsWater, angled tankElectromagneticAir, user-set wheelAir, progressive
500 m split on the consoleYesYesYesYesNot publishedNoNo
Watts on the consoleYesNot publishedYesYesNot publishedYesNo
Max user weight500 lb300 lbNot published300 lb375 lb500 lb300 lb
Assembled length96 in63.2 in93.7 in80.7 in86 in95 in72.6 in
Seat height14 in13.4 in15.0 in15.4 inNot publishedNot published14.6-15.7 in
StorageSeparates in twoFlips uprightStands on endFolds to 42.9 inUpright, add-on kitSeparatesFolds upright
Membership to use itNoneNoneNoneNoneHydrow membershipNoneNone
Published warranty5 yr frame / 2 yr parts3 yr frame / 180 d parts2 years3 yr frame / 180 d partsNot publishedLifetime frame / 5 yr parts3 yr frame / 180 d parts

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

The widely cited standard for home rowing, durable and data-rich, but louder than magnetic or water rowers.

Strengths

  • Legendary durability and the widely used PM5 monitor
  • 500 lb capacity and a wide 1-10 damper range
  • Separates into two pieces for storage

Trade-offs

  • Air resistance is louder than magnetic or water rowers
  • Frequently sold direct, so Amazon may show 'Check price' or third-party stock
ResistanceAir (flywheel), spiral damper 1-10
MonitorPM5 (Bluetooth, ANT+)
Max user weight500 lb
Footprint96 in L x 24 in W (needs ~9 x 4 ft)
Seat height14 in
StorageSeparates into two parts

Worth knowing. Often sold direct by Concept2, so on Amazon it may list as 'Check price' or ship from a third-party seller.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best budget

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

The cheapest rower here that publishes every number a buyer needs - 16 levels, 300 lb of capacity and a monitor that reads a 500 m split - on a frame more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads time per 500 m and strokes per minute, not just a calorie estimate
  • 63.2 in assembled length is more than a foot shorter than the other full-rail picks
  • 41.5 lb is light enough for one person to stand it against a wall

Trade-offs

  • 45.7 in rail and a 40.9 in inseam are the shortest here - measure before you buy if you are tall
  • It flips upright rather than folding, and Sunny publishes no folded dimensions
  • The monitor lists a pulse readout but Sunny does not publish what sensor drives it
ResistanceMagnetic, 16 levels
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, count, total count, calories, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size63.2 in L x 17.7 in W x 18.9 in H
Slide rail45.7 in long, 40.9 in inseam
Seat height13.4 in
Machine weight41.5 lb
StorageFlippable, transport wheels
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny publishes slide rail length (45.7 in) and slide rail inseam (40.9 in) as two separate figures. The inseam is the one that decides fit - it is the usable travel of the seat, not the length of the tube it runs on.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best value

MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air Rower

The only console on this page besides the Concept2's that reports watts and drag factor - the two numbers that make a session on one erg comparable with a session on another - and it sits in the middle of the price range rather than the top.

Strengths

  • Console publishes time/500 m, watts, stroke rate and drag factor - the full pacing set
  • 1,200 mm (47.2 in) rail inseam is the longest published seat travel here
  • Folds to 635 x 835 x 1,370 mm (25.0 x 32.9 x 53.9 in), a small footprint for a 93.7 in machine

Trade-offs

  • MERACH's US spec sheet publishes no maximum user weight and no user height range
  • Two years of warranty, against five from Concept2 and lifetime-on-frame from Body-Solid
  • Every figure is published in millimeters and kilograms, so the inch and pound numbers here are conversions rather than the maker's own
ResistanceAir, 10 levels, 32-blade fan, manual lever
Flywheel3.5 kg (7.7 lb)
Monitor5.3 in backlit LCD - time, distance, calories, strokes, pulse, SPM, time/500 m, watts, stroke waveform, drag factor
Slide rail1,365 mm (53.7 in) track, 1,200 mm (47.2 in) inseam
Rail materialAluminum with a stainless steel sliding rail
Assembled size2,380 x 610 x 1,022 mm (93.7 x 24.0 x 40.2 in)
Folded size635 x 835 x 1,370 mm (25.0 x 32.9 x 53.9 in)
Machine weight33.3 kg (73.4 lb)
Seat height380 mm (15.0 in)
AppMERACH and Kinomap (Bluetooth 5.0)
Warranty2 years
Max user weightNot published

Worth knowing. Drag factor is the one console reading that makes two different air rowers comparable. It measures how quickly the flywheel slows between strokes, so the monitor knows how much air the fan is actually moving no matter where the damper lever sits. Publishing it on a machine at this price is unusual.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best water rower

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

The most completely specified water rower under four figures: an angled tank, a monitor that reads watts and split rather than just calories, and a frame that folds upright into about half its rowing length.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads watts and time per 500 m, the two numbers you actually pace by
  • Folds from 80.7 in to a 42.9 in footprint, so it can live in a normal room
  • SunnyFit app is free - nothing on the machine sits behind a membership

Trade-offs

  • Resistance is set by how much water is in the tank, so you cannot change it mid-session
  • 300 lb capacity and a 15.4 in seat are mid-pack; heavier rowers should look at the WaterRower
  • 88.2 lb of machine plus water is a two-person job to move up stairs
ResistanceWater (60-degree angled tank, 16 hydro blades)
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, strokes, total strokes, calories, watts, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size80.7 in L x 21.5 in W x 40.6 in H
Folded size42.9 in L x 21.5 in W x 51.2 in H
Seat height15.4 in
Machine weight88.2 lb
AppSunnyFit (free, no subscription)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny sets the tank at a 60-degree incline instead of laying it flat, which is what lets the frame fold upright rather than merely stand on end.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for classes

Hydrow Rowing Machine

A premium, near-silent rower with immersive classes, worthwhile mainly if you'll pay for the membership.

Strengths

  • Near-silent electromagnetic resistance
  • 22-inch pivoting HD touchscreen with rowing and cross-training content
  • 375 lb capacity on a solid frame

Trade-offs

  • Classes require a Hydrow membership subscription
  • Long 86-inch footprint; upright storage needs an add-on kit
ResistanceElectromagnetic (computer-controlled drag)
Display22 in HD touchscreen (pivots)
Max user weight375 lb
Footprint86 in L x 25 in W x 47 in H
Weight145 lb
StorageUpright (with add-on kit)

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best for heavier rowers

Body-Solid Endurance R300 Indoor Rower

A 500 lb published capacity, a monitor your own stroke powers, and a warranty that runs to lifetime on the frame - the one to buy if the machine has to outlast the enthusiasm.

Strengths

  • 500 lb published capacity, the joint-highest of any rower on this site
  • Warranty is lifetime on the frame, 5 years parts, 2 years electronics, 1 year labor
  • Self-generating, so the console runs on your stroke - no outlet, no batteries

Trade-offs

  • 95 in assembled is the second-longest machine here and it needs clear space behind it
  • The console has no time-per-500 m split, which is the number most rowing programs are written in
  • Body-Solid publishes no seat height and no separated-for-storage dimensions
ResistanceAir, user-controlled air resistance wheel
MonitorTime, stroke, heart rate (with a wireless strap), calories, paddle width, stroke rate, distance, cycle, watts
PowerSelf-generating - no outlet required
Programs8 (quick start, distance, time, calories, game, intervals 20/10, 10/20, 10/10)
Max user weight500 lb
Assembled size95 in L x 25 in W x 40 in H
Machine weight81 lb
ChainNickel-plated steel
StorageSeparates into multiple pieces
WarrantyEndurance 5 Year In-Home: lifetime frame, 5 years parts, 2 years electronics, 1 year labor, 6 months wear items
Seat heightNot published
Folded sizeNot published

Worth knowing. Self-generating means the flywheel spins a small generator that powers the console, so there is nothing to plug in and no battery to replace. The trade-off is that the display is live only while you are rowing - stop, and the numbers go with it unless you keep the handle moving.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#7Best for small rooms

Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

At 72.6 in assembled it is nearly two feet shorter than the rest of the air field, and it stands upright afterwards - the air rower for a room that has to go back to being a room.

Strengths

  • 72.6 in assembled is the shortest air rower here by close to two feet
  • Folds upright onto a 31.3 x 25.1 in floor patch, and Sunny publishes those folded numbers
  • 300 lb capacity with a published 14.6-15.7 in seat height, an easy height to sit down onto

Trade-offs

  • The console shows time, count, total count and calories - no split, no stroke rate, no watts
  • Of the two picks that publish a rail inseam, its 38.5 in is the shorter, so long-legged rowers will run out of travel
  • Resistance is described as progressive rather than adjustable, so there is no damper to set
  • The Amazon listing that names the model number is a bundle, so the price covers a floor mat as well as the rower
ResistanceAir (fan), progressive - no resistance levels
MonitorTime, count, total count, calories, scan
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size72.6 in L x 25.1 in W x 31.3 in H
Folded size31.3 in L x 25.1 in W x 72.6 in H
Slide rail44.7 in long, 38.5 in inseam
Seat height14.6-15.7 in
Machine weight56.7 lb
StorageFolds upright, transport wheels
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny publishes slide rail length (44.7 in) and slide rail inseam (38.5 in) as two separate figures. The inseam is the seat's usable travel and the one that decides fit - and 38.5 in is short enough that a tall rower should measure their own leg length against it first.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a home rowing machine

A rower is the sleeper pick of home cardio: a genuinely full-body, genuinely low-impact workout that trains legs, back, arms and core in one motion, which is a rare combination in a machine you can put in a spare room. What separates them comes down to how they make drag, how much floor they occupy, what the console will tell you, and what the machine costs you every month after the box is empty.

The short buyer’s guide: six checks before you order

  1. Measure the room. Take the assembled length and add roughly two feet behind it to get on and off. The picks here run 63.2 in to 96 in, and Concept2 asks for a 9 ft by 4 ft clear area for the RowErg.
  2. Measure your legs, not your height. Sit on the floor with your legs straight, measure heel to seat bones, and compare that with the published slide-rail inseam.
  3. Buy capacity with headroom. Published limits here run from 300 lb to 500 lb, and one maker publishes none at all.
  4. Pick the resistance type by how much noise the room can take. Magnetic is the quietest, water makes a whoosh, and air is the loudest.
  5. Check the monitor for a 500 m split, stroke rate and distance. Those three are what let you pace a session and repeat it next week.
  6. Price in any membership. Only the Hydrow needs one here, and two years of it can cost more than a budget rower.

Each of those checks gets its own section below.

The four rower types: air, magnetic, water and hydraulic

Every rower makes its drag one of four ways, and the type decides the feel, the noise and the price floor before any model does.

  • Air rowers (the Concept2, MERACH, Body-Solid and Sunny SF-RW520007 here) spin a caged fan, so drag is whatever you just did to the handle — pull harder and it pushes back harder, immediately. It is the most honest feel and the one competitive rowing runs on. It is also the loudest: on an air rower the fan noise is the resistance, so there is no quiet one.
  • Magnetic rowers (the Sunny Dual Rail) set a fixed level with a magnet near the flywheel, touch nothing, and are the quietest type by a wide margin. The Hydrow is the computer-controlled version, electromagnetic: still magnetic drag, but a class can change it for you mid-session.
  • Water rowers (the Phantom Hydro) drag paddles through a tank: the stroke self-scales like air, the sound is a broad whoosh rather than a fan whine, and the only setting is how much water is in the tank.
  • Hydraulic rowers resist the arms with one or two pistons instead of a flywheel. They are the cheapest and most compact type, and none is on this page, for three reasons: piston resistance changes as the cylinder warms over a session, the arms often pivot independently rather than pulling one handle, and with the resistance at the arms the movement drifts toward upper-body work instead of the legs-first stroke that makes rowing worth doing. If budget is what points you at one, the entry-tier magnetic rower below is the better buy.

If one of those has already decided it for you, each type has its own roundup — air, magnetic and water — and types of rowing machines explains all four mechanisms from scratch.

Budget vs premium: what each tier actually buys

Rowers do not get better in a smooth line as the price climbs; they buy different things at different points. Prices move constantly, so the tiers below are described by what you get rather than by a number — the live price on each buy button is the only figure on this site we will quote.

  • The entry tier is magnetic, almost always. That is where the Sunny Dual Rail SF-RW524079 sits, and what your money buys is a short frame, a real 500 m split on the console and 300 lb of published capacity. What it does not buy is rail: 45.7 in of slide with a 40.9 in inseam is the shortest here, and the reason a tall rower should read our rowing machines for tall people guide before ordering anything at this tier. Air does not get this cheap, because the fan, cage and chain cost more to build than a magnet on an arm.
    Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

    Sunny Dual Rail SF-RW524079

    $199.00

    Amazon: In stock

    Check Price on Amazon

    Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

  • The middle tier is where the console stops being decoration. The MERACH R50 Pro and the Phantom Hydro both report watts and a 500 m split, both publish a folded size, and both come with a free first-party app rather than a paywalled one. This is the tier most people should actually shop, and the R50 Pro’s 47.2 in rail inseam is the longest published seat travel on the page.
    MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air Rower

    MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro

    $499.99$559.9911% off

    Amazon: In stock

    Check Price on Amazon

    Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

    Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

    Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART

    $699.99

    Amazon: In stock

    Check Price on Amazon

    Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

  • The top tier splits in two, and they are not the same purchase. The Concept2 and the Body-Solid R300 spend the money on the machine: 500 lb capacities, portable data, and warranties measured in years or in lifetimes — though a lifetime warranty is not always the one it sounds like, which our commercial rowing machine roundup takes apart clause by clause. The Hydrow spends it on the experience — a 22 in pivoting screen, near-silent electromagnetic drag — and then keeps charging. Budget the Hydrow as the rower plus a year of membership, because that is the real price.
    Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

    Concept2 RowErg

    $990.00

    Amazon: In stock

    Check Price on Amazon

    Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

    Body-Solid Endurance R300 Indoor Rower

    Body-Solid Endurance R300

    $925.00

    Amazon: In stock

    Check Price on Amazon

    Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

    Hydrow Rowing Machine

    Hydrow Rowing Machine

    $2,195.00

    Amazon: Only 11 left in stock (more on the way)

    Check Price on Amazon

    Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Footprint and foldability: length first, storage second

Rowers are long, and the two numbers get confused constantly. Assembled length on this page runs from 63.2 in to 96 in, and you need roughly two more feet behind the machine to get on and off it — Concept2 asks for a 9 ft by 4 ft clear area. That is the number that decides whether a rower fits your room.

Storage is what the machine becomes afterwards, and makers use the words loosely. The Concept2 and the Body-Solid separate into pieces. The Sunny Dual Rail flips upright and the SF-RW520007 folds upright onto a 31.3 × 25.1 in floor patch. The Phantom Hydro genuinely folds, from 80.7 in down to a 42.9 in footprint. The Hydrow stands upright only if you buy the add-on kit. If the room has to go back to being a room, start with our rowing machines for small spaces guide, which ranks on exactly that.

Weight capacity: buy headroom, and notice who publishes nothing

Published maximum user weight is the maker’s structural rating for the frame, and the spread on this page is wide: 500 lb on the Concept2 and the Body-Solid R300, 375 lb on the Hydrow, 300 lb on all three Sunny machines, and nothing at all from MERACH for the R50 Pro — which is a finding, not a gap we should fill in for them. A rating is a ceiling rather than a target, so leave some margin under it, treat an unpublished number as unknown rather than as probably fine, and if several people will share the machine, buy for the heaviest of them. Past 500 lb, the WaterRower Oak in our water rower roundup publishes 700 lb, and exercise equipment for heavier beginners builds a whole shortlist around published capacity.

Rail inseam decides fit, not your height

The fit spec on a rower is the slide-rail inseam— the seat’s usable travel — and it is always shorter than the rail length makers advertise. Sunny publishes both, and the gap is instructive: 45.7 in of rail gives 40.9 in of inseam on the Dual Rail. Leg length varies too much at a given height to convert from one to the other, so sit on the floor with your legs straight, measure heel to seat bones, and compare that with the published inseam.

Noise: what you will actually hear

None of the seven publishes a decibel figure in the specs we read, so this is a ranking by mechanism rather than a measurement — but the mechanism is decisive. Magnetic and electromagnetic rowers are the quietest: nothing touches the flywheel, so the loudest sound is usually the seat rolling on the rail. That is the Sunny Dual Rail and the Hydrow here. Water makes a broad whoosh on every drive, which many people like, and which still makes the Phantom Hydro a poor fit for a shared wall at 6 a.m. Air is the loudest, and no setting changes that, because the fan noise is the resistance — the Concept2, MERACH, Body-Solid and SF-RW520007 all sit here.

Rowing makes no footfall, which is the impact neighbors below hear most from a treadmill. A dense mat under the frame is still the cheapest way to cut the vibration that does travel through the floor, and our quietest cardio machines guide ranks every machine type on exactly this question.

The monitor and the app: three readouts matter, the rest is decoration

Screen size is not the measure of a rowing monitor. What matters is whether it reports time per 500 m, strokes per minute and a distance you can hold yourself to. Those three let you pace an interval, repeat the session next week and see whether anything is improving. Calories are a modeled estimate on every machine ever built and the worst possible thing to steer by. Four of the seven here publish a 500 m split; the Body-Solid oddly does not, despite reporting watts, and the SF-RW520007 reports neither.

The app is the other half of the monitor question. The Concept2’s PM5 connects over Bluetooth and ANT+. The MERACH pairs with MERACH’s own app and Kinomap over Bluetooth 5.0. All three Sunny machines pair with SunnyFit, which is free. The Body-Solid’s console is self-generating: it runs on your stroke with nothing to plug in, and goes dark when you stop rowing. The Hydrow is the outlier, with a 22 in pivoting touchscreen that is the product in its own right, and classes behind a membership.

Subscriptions, and which machines have none

Only one machine on this page needs a membership to do what it is for: the Hydrow, whose classes are the product. The Concept2, the Body-Solid and the MERACH are self-contained, and all three Sunny machines pair with SunnyFit, which is free. That is worth an explicit line on your spreadsheet, because two years of a class membership can cost more than the entire budget rower it would have replaced.

Is a rower the right machine at all?

Sometimes not, and it is cheaper to find that out now. A rower beats a treadmill on joints and on muscle recruited per minute, and loses on familiarity and on training for anything you do on your feet. Against an elliptical, the rower wins on upper body and data while the elliptical wins on ease — you step on and go, with no technique to learn. Against an assault bike, the rower is the machine you can do an hour on and the air bike is the one you can barely do ten minutes on. And an exercise bike is the lower- friction daily habit if you mostly want to pedal while watching something. If joints, balance or getting up off a low seat are the real constraint, read our rowing machines for seniors guide, which ranks on seat height first. If it is specifically your lower back, our rowing machines and back problems page ranks the same field on where the resistance peaks in the stroke, and makes the case for a recumbent bike instead. Building the whole room around this? Start with how to build a home gym.

Judging a rower by its maker

One filter sits underneath every pick on this page and is easy to check before the box arrives: what the brand is willing to commit to in writing. We separate nine rower brands on published warranty terms, and on who actually owns the company, in rowing machine brands.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best home rowing machine in 2026?

For most home buyers the Concept2 RowErg, because its PM5 monitor reports pace, watts and drag factor, it publishes a 500 lb capacity and five years of frame warranty, and its splits are the ones training programs are written in. If quiet matters more than portable data, the Sunny Dual Rail SF-RW524079 is the magnetic pick and needs a foot less floor; if you want the water feel with real pacing numbers, the Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART folds to a 42.9 in footprint.

How much should I spend on a rowing machine?

Spend by tier rather than by number. The entry tier is magnetic and buys you a short frame and a basic-to-decent console. The middle tier is where consoles start reporting watts and a 500 m split, and where machines publish a folded size - that is the tier most people should shop. The top tier splits between machines built to outlast you (Concept2, Body-Solid) and machines built around a subscription class library (Hydrow), which are very different purchases at similar prices.

How much space does a home rowing machine need?

Plan for the assembled length plus roughly two feet behind it to get on and off. The rowers here run 63.2 in to 96 in assembled, and Concept2 asks for about a 9 by 4 ft clear area for the RowErg. Storage is a separate question: some machines fold, some flip or stand upright, and some separate into pieces. Check both numbers before you buy, not after.

Which rowing resistance type is quietest?

Magnetic, and it is not close. Nothing touches the flywheel, so a magnetic rower like the Sunny Dual Rail is near-silent. Water rowers make a broad whoosh on the drive that many people like. Air rowers are the loudest because the fan noise is the resistance - there is no quiet air rower, and no setting that makes one.

Which type of home rowing machine is best: air, magnetic, water or hydraulic?

Air if training data matters most, because resistance scales with effort and the better monitors report splits you can compare between machines. Magnetic if the room is shared or small, because it is the quietest type. Water if you want the on-water feel and sound. Hydraulic is the cheapest and the one we would skip: piston resistance changes as the cylinder warms, and the stroke path is usually not a true rowing motion, so an entry magnetic rower is the better buy on the same budget.

How much weight can a home rowing machine hold?

It depends entirely on the frame, so read the published figure. On this page it runs from 300 lb (all three Sunny machines) through 375 lb (Hydrow) to 500 lb (Concept2 RowErg and Body-Solid R300), and MERACH publishes no limit for the R50 Pro at all. The highest published capacity on this site is 700 lb, on the WaterRower Oak. Leave margin under the rating, and buy for the heaviest person who will use it.

Can you fold a home rowing machine?

Some genuinely fold, some flip or stand upright, and some come apart - makers use the words loosely. Of the picks here, the Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART folds from 80.7 in to a 42.9 in footprint, the Sunny SF-RW520007 folds upright onto a 31.3 by 25.1 in floor patch, the Sunny Dual Rail flips upright, the Concept2 and Body-Solid separate into pieces, and the Hydrow stands upright only with an add-on kit.

What should a rowing machine monitor show?

Time per 500 m, strokes per minute and distance - the three readouts that let you pace an interval and repeat it next week. Watts and drag factor come next, because they make sessions comparable between machines; the Concept2 PM5 and the MERACH R50 Pro report both. Calories are a modeled estimate on every machine and the worst number to steer by.

Do I need a subscription to use a rowing machine?

Only for the classes. Of the seven picks here, only the Hydrow requires a membership to do what it is for. The Concept2, MERACH and Body-Solid consoles are fully self-contained, and the three Sunny machines pair with the free SunnyFit app. If classes are why you are buying, price the machine plus a year or two of membership - that is the real cost.

What size rowing machine do I need for my height?

Check the slide-rail inseam rather than the rail length or your height. The inseam is the seat's usable travel and is always the shorter figure - 45.7 in of rail gives 40.9 in of inseam on the Sunny Dual Rail. Leg length varies too much at a given height to convert, so sit on the floor with your legs straight, measure heel to seat bones, and compare that against the published inseam.

Why does the Concept2 sometimes show 'Check price'?

Concept2 frequently sells the RowErg direct rather than through Amazon's own inventory, so the listing may show 'Check price' or ship from a third-party seller. That is normal for this model - it is not a sign of a counterfeit or a problem with the machine. Our buy button never invents a number when the live retailer feed does not return one.

Is rowing enough exercise on its own?

For the aerobic half, comfortably. Rowing is full-body and low-impact, so a few sessions a week clears the weekly moderate-activity target public health bodies recommend, and the pull works legs, back, arms and core together. It does not replace dedicated strength training, which the same guidelines ask for on two or more days a week - so pair it with something loaded rather than treating it as the whole plan.

Sources

Keep reading