Pulse & Plate

Best Rowing Machine for Seniors

Seat height is the spec that decides this, not resistance levels. Six rowers ranked on how high you sit, how quiet they are, what they will carry and how simple the console is - every figure published by the maker.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

Rowing is close to an ideal machine for an older adult on paper: seated, zero impact, and full-body, so one session trains legs, back, arms and core without a single landing. The catch is that the spec that decides whether you will actually use it is one almost no roundup mentions — how high the seat sits off the floor. Rowing seats on this site range from 9 in to 17 in. Getting up off a 9 in seat is a different physical act from getting up off a 17 in one, and no amount of resistance levels compensates.

So this page ranks on seat height first, then quiet, then published capacity and console simplicity. The Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART wins overall: a 15.4 in seat, 300 lb of published capacity, a monitor that reports watts and a 500 m split, a free app, and a frame that folds from 80.7 in to a 42.9 in footprint. The Sunny Obsidian Surge has the highest published seat of any rower we cover at 17 in, and a 250 lb ceiling that has to be checked first. The Sunny Dual Rail SF-RW524079 is the quietest and the lightest to move; the Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110 is the simplest thing here with almost nothing to go wrong; the Sunny SF-RW520007 folds upright out of a small room; and the Concept2 RowErg is the one rated to 500 lb.

Every figure below is published by the maker and read on the dated visit linked under each write-up. We own none of these machines. Nothing here is medical or training advice — if you have a joint, heart or balance concern, that conversation belongs with a professional before the machine arrives.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

The most completely specified water rower under four figures: an angled tank, a monitor that reads watts and split rather than just calories, and a frame that folds upright into about half its rowing length.

Best overall
$699.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Sunny Health & Fitness Obsidian Surge Water Rowing Machine

Sunny Health & Fitness Obsidian Surge Water Rowing Machine

A mid-priced water rower with an authentic feel and sound, trading app features and quiet for a lower cost.

Highest seat
$449.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

The cheapest rower here that publishes every number a buyer needs - 16 levels, 300 lb of capacity and a monitor that reads a 500 m split - on a frame more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field.

Quietest
$199.99 · View on Amazon

$229.9913% off

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

The simplest machine here and the one with the least to go wrong: eight levels, an aluminum beam, 41 lb, and a warranty Stamina prints on its own product page.

Simplest to use
$247.89 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

At 72.6 in assembled it is nearly two feet shorter than the rest of the air field, and it stands upright afterwards - the air rower for a room that has to go back to being a room.

Best for small rooms
$440.86 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

The widely cited standard for home rowing, durable and data-rich, but louder than magnetic or water rowers.

Best for heavier rowers
$990.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Seat height, capacity and weight side by side

Seat height is the first row because it is the first decision. Machine weight is on here because somebody has to move these, and a 41 lb frame and an 88 lb one are not the same object.

SpecSunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)Sunny Health & Fitness Obsidian Surge Water Rowing MachineSunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)Concept2 RowErg (Model D)
Seat height15.4 in17 in13.4 inNot published14.6-15.7 in14 in
Max user weight300 lb250 lb300 lb250 lb300 lb500 lb
Resistance and noiseWater - broad whooshWater - broad whooshMagnetic - near-silentMagnetic - near-silentAir - loudest hereAir - loudest here
Assembled length80.7 in79 in63.2 in60 in72.6 in96 in
Machine weight88.2 lbNot published41.5 lb41 lb56.7 lbNot published
ConsoleWatts and 500 m splitTime, distance, calories, pulse500 m split, SPM, pulseStrokes, SPM, time, distanceTime, count, caloriesWatts, split, drag factor
StorageFolds to 42.9 inStores uprightFlips uprightStores on endFolds uprightSeparates in two
Published warranty3 yr frame / 180 d parts3 yr frame / 180 d parts3 yr frame / 180 d parts3 yr frame / 90 d parts3 yr frame / 180 d parts5 yr frame / 2 yr parts

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

The most completely specified water rower under four figures: an angled tank, a monitor that reads watts and split rather than just calories, and a frame that folds upright into about half its rowing length.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads watts and time per 500 m, the two numbers you actually pace by
  • Folds from 80.7 in to a 42.9 in footprint, so it can live in a normal room
  • SunnyFit app is free - nothing on the machine sits behind a membership

Trade-offs

  • Resistance is set by how much water is in the tank, so you cannot change it mid-session
  • 300 lb capacity and a 15.4 in seat are mid-pack; heavier rowers should look at the WaterRower
  • 88.2 lb of machine plus water is a two-person job to move up stairs
ResistanceWater (60-degree angled tank, 16 hydro blades)
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, strokes, total strokes, calories, watts, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size80.7 in L x 21.5 in W x 40.6 in H
Folded size42.9 in L x 21.5 in W x 51.2 in H
Seat height15.4 in
Machine weight88.2 lb
AppSunnyFit (free, no subscription)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny sets the tank at a 60-degree incline instead of laying it flat, which is what lets the frame fold upright rather than merely stand on end.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Highest seat

Sunny Health & Fitness Obsidian Surge Water Rowing Machine

A mid-priced water rower with an authentic feel and sound, trading app features and quiet for a lower cost.

Strengths

  • Water flywheel gives a smooth, on-water feel and sound
  • Higher 17-inch seat is easy to get on and off
  • Stores upright to save floor space

Trade-offs

  • Water resistance is louder than magnetic rowers
  • 250 lb capacity and no app or class integration
ResistanceWater (16-blade flywheel tank)
MonitorLCD (heart-rate compatible)
Max user weight250 lb
Overall length79 in
Seat height17 in
StorageStores upright

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Quietest

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

The cheapest rower here that publishes every number a buyer needs - 16 levels, 300 lb of capacity and a monitor that reads a 500 m split - on a frame more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads time per 500 m and strokes per minute, not just a calorie estimate
  • 63.2 in assembled length is more than a foot shorter than the other full-rail picks
  • 41.5 lb is light enough for one person to stand it against a wall

Trade-offs

  • 45.7 in rail and a 40.9 in inseam are the shortest here - measure before you buy if you are tall
  • It flips upright rather than folding, and Sunny publishes no folded dimensions
  • The monitor lists a pulse readout but Sunny does not publish what sensor drives it
ResistanceMagnetic, 16 levels
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, count, total count, calories, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size63.2 in L x 17.7 in W x 18.9 in H
Slide rail45.7 in long, 40.9 in inseam
Seat height13.4 in
Machine weight41.5 lb
StorageFlippable, transport wheels
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny publishes slide rail length (45.7 in) and slide rail inseam (40.9 in) as two separate figures. The inseam is the one that decides fit - it is the usable travel of the seat, not the length of the tube it runs on.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Simplest to use

Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

The simplest machine here and the one with the least to go wrong: eight levels, an aluminum beam, 41 lb, and a warranty Stamina prints on its own product page.

Strengths

  • 3 years on the frame and 90 days on parts, published by Stamina rather than by a retailer
  • Aluminum rowing beam on ball-bearing rollers, which is unusual at this price
  • 60 in assembled and 41 lb - it stands on end and one person can move it

Trade-offs

  • Eight resistance levels against 16 on the Sunny and MERACH picks
  • Monitor shows strokes, SPM, time, distance and calories, but no 500 m split
  • 250 lb capacity is the lowest here, and Stamina does not publish it on its own spec page
ResistanceMagnetic, 8 levels
MonitorTotal strokes, strokes per minute, time, distance, calories
Max user weight250 lb (stated on the Amazon listing, not on Stamina's spec page)
Assembled size60 in L x 22 in W x 27 in H
Machine weight41 lb
RailAluminum rowing beam, ball-bearing rollers
StorageStores on end, built-in wheels
Warranty3 years frame, 90 days parts
Folded sizeNot published
Seat heightNot published

Worth knowing. Stamina writes its warranty per model rather than per brand - the same catalog shows one year on the frame of its cheaper rowers and five on the DT Pro. The 1110's three years applies to this machine and nothing else.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for small rooms

Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

At 72.6 in assembled it is nearly two feet shorter than the rest of the air field, and it stands upright afterwards - the air rower for a room that has to go back to being a room.

Strengths

  • 72.6 in assembled is the shortest air rower here by close to two feet
  • Folds upright onto a 31.3 x 25.1 in floor patch, and Sunny publishes those folded numbers
  • 300 lb capacity with a published 14.6-15.7 in seat height, an easy height to sit down onto

Trade-offs

  • The console shows time, count, total count and calories - no split, no stroke rate, no watts
  • Of the two picks that publish a rail inseam, its 38.5 in is the shorter, so long-legged rowers will run out of travel
  • Resistance is described as progressive rather than adjustable, so there is no damper to set
  • The Amazon listing that names the model number is a bundle, so the price covers a floor mat as well as the rower
ResistanceAir (fan), progressive - no resistance levels
MonitorTime, count, total count, calories, scan
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size72.6 in L x 25.1 in W x 31.3 in H
Folded size31.3 in L x 25.1 in W x 72.6 in H
Slide rail44.7 in long, 38.5 in inseam
Seat height14.6-15.7 in
Machine weight56.7 lb
StorageFolds upright, transport wheels
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny publishes slide rail length (44.7 in) and slide rail inseam (38.5 in) as two separate figures. The inseam is the seat's usable travel and the one that decides fit - and 38.5 in is short enough that a tall rower should measure their own leg length against it first.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best for heavier rowers

Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

The widely cited standard for home rowing, durable and data-rich, but louder than magnetic or water rowers.

Strengths

  • Legendary durability and the widely used PM5 monitor
  • 500 lb capacity and a wide 1-10 damper range
  • Separates into two pieces for storage

Trade-offs

  • Air resistance is louder than magnetic or water rowers
  • Frequently sold direct, so Amazon may show 'Check price' or third-party stock
ResistanceAir (flywheel), spiral damper 1-10
MonitorPM5 (Bluetooth, ANT+)
Max user weight500 lb
Footprint96 in L x 24 in W (needs ~9 x 4 ft)
Seat height14 in
StorageSeparates into two parts

Worth knowing. Often sold direct by Concept2, so on Amazon it may list as 'Check price' or ship from a third-party seller.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a rowing machine as an older adult

Public health guidance for adults 65 and over asks for the same weekly aerobic activity as everyone else, plus muscle-strengthening on two or more days and balance activity where falls are a concern. A rower is unusually good value against that list: it is aerobic, it loads the legs and the whole posterior chain, and because you are seated the entire time it takes balance out of the equation rather than testing it. What follows are the specs that decide which one, roughly in the order they should decide it.

Seat height comes first, and it is not close

Every rowing machine puts you on the floor. The only question is how far down. The published seat heights across the machines we cover run from 9 in on the WaterRower Oak to 17 in on the Obsidian Surge — and that is the difference between lowering yourself onto a low stool and lowering yourself onto something near a dining chair. Standing back up from the low end asks for real hip and knee flexion under load, and it is the single most common reason a rower ends up unused.

Practical test before you buy: sit on a kitchen chair, measure the seat height, then try a chair a few inches lower and stand up from it without using your hands. Whatever you can do comfortably is the number to shop against. Two of the six picks here — the Stamina 1110 and the Concept2 — are worth flagging for the opposite reasons. Stamina does not publish a seat height at all for the 1110, which is a real gap on a machine chosen for this reason. Concept2 publishes 14 in, which is middling, so its place on this page is earned by capacity rather than by ease of entry.

Quiet is a feature, not a luxury

Magnetic rowers are near-silent, because a magnet near the flywheel touches nothing. Water rowers make a broad whoosh on the drive that most people find pleasant and a neighbor beneath you probably will not notice. Air rowers are the loudest machines here and there is no fixing that: on an air rower the fan noise is the resistance, so it peaks exactly when you work hardest. In a flat, a shared house or a room next to someone sleeping, that alone can decide it — and the quietest cardio machines ranks the whole category on it.

Check the published capacity before anything else on the spec sheet

The ceilings here are real and they vary a lot: 250 lb on the Obsidian Surge and the Stamina 1110, 300 lb on the two other Sunny picks, and 500 lb on the Concept2. A capacity figure is not a safety margin the maker is being coy about; it is the number the frame was tested against, and exceeding it is how a rail flexes and a seat runs rough. If you are near a machine’s limit, buy the next one up rather than the one with the better seat — and our equipment guide for heavier beginners covers the rest of the room on the same principle.

Machine weight decides whether it ever moves

The Sunny Dual Rail is 41.5 lb and the Stamina 1110 is 41 lb — light enough for one person to stand upright against a wall. The Phantom Hydro is 88.2 lb plus the water in the tank, which is a two-person job on stairs. Concept2 and Sunny publish no weight for the RowErg and the Obsidian Surge respectively. If the machine has to be moved between sessions rather than lived with, weight matters more than almost anything else on the sheet, and the two magnetic picks are the answer.

A simple console is fine; a 500 m split is not “advanced”

There is a habit of assuming an older buyer wants the simplest possible display, and the Stamina 1110 serves that well: strokes, stroke rate, time, distance and calories, with nothing to configure. But do not confuse simple with limited. Time per 500 m is the one extra readout worth having, because it turns “I rowed for fifteen minutes” into a number you can gently beat next month, and four of the six picks here publish it. That is a motivation feature far more than a technical one. Calories, on every machine ever built, are a model rather than a measurement.

The rowers to skip for this

Being specific is more useful than being diplomatic. The WaterRower Oak is a magnificent machine with a 9 in seat, which makes it close to the worst choice on the site for anyone with stiff knees or hips. The Sunny SF-RW5515 pairs a short rail with a 250 lb cap. And any machine whose maker publishes no seat height at all is asking you to buy blind on exactly the spec that matters most here. None of that makes them bad rowers — see the water rower roundup for where the Oak genuinely wins — it makes them the wrong rowers for this page.

If a rower is not the right machine

It sometimes is not, and the honest alternatives are worth naming. If getting down to any rowing seat is the problem, a step-through recumbent cross trainer solves it outright — our elliptical roundup covers a seated model with a padded back and a 300 lb capacity, and rowing machine vs elliptical makes the comparison properly. If the goal is movement during the day rather than a workout, an under-desk pedal unit is a more realistic buy. And our best fitness equipment for seniors guide covers strength and balance work, which rowing does not replace.

Wellness guidance, not medical advice. Pulse & Plate is written by a fitness enthusiast, not a doctor. Wearable heart-rate, SpO2, ECG and sleep readings are for general wellness, not diagnosis. For a heart concern, a symptom, or before starting a new exercise program, talk to a qualified professional.

Frequently asked questions

Is a rowing machine good for seniors?

For most people, yes. Rowing is seated, zero-impact and full-body, so it delivers aerobic work and loads the legs, back and arms without any landing or balance demand. The two things to check first are the published seat height - getting up off a low seat is the usual obstacle - and the published weight capacity. Talk to a professional first if you have a joint, heart or balance concern.

What seat height should I look for on a rowing machine?

Higher than you think. Published seat heights on the rowers we cover run from 9 in to 17 in, and the difference is the difference between a low stool and something near a dining chair. Measure a kitchen chair you can stand up from without using your hands, then shop against that number. Anything much below 14 in asks for real hip and knee flexion to get out of.

Which rowing machine has the highest seat?

Of the machines on this site, the Sunny Health & Fitness Obsidian Surge water rower, at a published 17 in seat height. The trade-off is a 250 lb published capacity, a louder water flywheel than a magnetic rower, and no app or class integration. If that capacity works for you, it is the easiest rower here to get on and off.

Is rowing safe if I have back problems?

That is a question for your own clinician, not a buying guide - we are not medical professionals and we do not know your history. What we can say factually is that a rowing stroke loads the lower back through a hinge, and that doing it with a rounded back rather than a braced one is the common error. If a professional clears you to row, the technique is worth learning properly before adding intensity.

Are magnetic rowers better than water rowers for older adults?

They are quieter and usually lighter, which are two of the four things that matter here. Magnetic resistance touches nothing, so it is near-silent, and both magnetic picks on this page are about 41 lb - light enough for one person to stand against a wall. Water rowers counter with the two highest seat heights we have found, so the honest answer depends on whether noise or ease of entry is your constraint.

How often should an older adult use a rowing machine?

Public health guidance for adults 65 and over asks for the same weekly aerobic total as younger adults, plus muscle-strengthening on two or more days and balance work where falls are a concern. Rowing covers the aerobic half comfortably across a few sessions a week and does real strengthening work too, but it does not train balance - you are seated throughout - so pair it with something that does.

Do I need a subscription with any of these rowers?

None of the six. The three Sunny machines pair with the free SunnyFit app, the Stamina 1110 is fully self-contained, and the Concept2's PM5 tracks everything with no fee at all. Subscriptions only appear on class-led machines such as the Hydrow, which we cover in the main rowing roundup rather than here.

Sources

Keep reading