Pulse & Plate

Best Magnetic Rowing Machines

Magnetic rowers are the quiet, foldable, set-a-level end of the category. Five compared on resistance levels, rail inseam, published capacity, what the monitor actually reads and how each one stores.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

A magnetic rower creates drag by moving a magnet nearer to or further from a steel flywheel. Nothing spins a fan, nothing sloshes in a tank, and nothing about the resistance changes because you pulled harder. That is the whole appeal: the level you set is the level you get, and the machine is quiet enough to use at 6 a.m. in a flat. It is also why magnetic dominates the bottom two-thirds of the rowing market — a magnet and a flywheel cost far less to build than a sealed water tank or a balanced fan and its housing.

The catch is that “16 levels” on a box tells you almost nothing. What separates these machines is the length of the seat’s usable travel, the published weight capacity, whether the monitor reports a 500 m split or only a calorie guess, and the shape the frame folds into. The Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail (SF-RW524079) is the pick for most people because it publishes every one of those numbers and is the shortest full-rail frame here. The MERACH Q1S undercuts it with a higher 350 lb capacity and far less published detail. Above them sit Sunny’s dual-handle MotionMax, the deliberately simple Stamina 1110, and the Hydrow for anyone who wants the classes and will pay the membership. Every pick was confirmed in stock on the day this page was written, and every trade-off listed below is a real one.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

The cheapest rower here that publishes every number a buyer needs - 16 levels, 300 lb of capacity and a monitor that reads a 500 m split - on a frame more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field.

Best overall
$199.99 · View on Amazon

$229.9913% off

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
MERACH Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine

MERACH Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine

The highest published weight capacity on this page attached to the lowest price - bought from a listing that states a capacity, a resistance count and remarkably little else.

Best budget
$189.99 · View on Amazon

$199.995% off

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Sunny Health & Fitness MotionMax Full Motion Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW522067)

Sunny Health & Fitness MotionMax Full Motion Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW522067)

Two independent handles instead of one bar, the longest rail on this page and 330 lb of published capacity - a different movement from a standard erg rather than a better version of one.

Best full-motion rower
$509.97 · View on Amazon

$599.9915% off

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

The simplest machine here and the one with the least to go wrong: eight levels, an aluminum beam, 41 lb, and a warranty Stamina prints on its own product page.

Best simple first rower
$247.89 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Hydrow Rowing Machine

Hydrow Rowing Machine

A premium, near-silent rower with immersive classes, worthwhile mainly if you'll pay for the membership.

Best connected rower
$2,195.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

The cheapest rower here that publishes every number a buyer needs - 16 levels, 300 lb of capacity and a monitor that reads a 500 m split - on a frame more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads time per 500 m and strokes per minute, not just a calorie estimate
  • 63.2 in assembled length is more than a foot shorter than the other full-rail picks
  • 41.5 lb is light enough for one person to stand it against a wall

Trade-offs

  • 45.7 in rail and a 40.9 in inseam are the shortest here - measure before you buy if you are tall
  • It flips upright rather than folding, and Sunny publishes no folded dimensions
  • The monitor lists a pulse readout but Sunny does not publish what sensor drives it
ResistanceMagnetic, 16 levels
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, count, total count, calories, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size63.2 in L x 17.7 in W x 18.9 in H
Slide rail45.7 in long, 40.9 in inseam
Seat height13.4 in
Machine weight41.5 lb
StorageFlippable, transport wheels
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny publishes slide rail length (45.7 in) and slide rail inseam (40.9 in) as two separate figures. The inseam is the one that decides fit - it is the usable travel of the seat, not the length of the tube it runs on.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best budget

MERACH Q1S Magnetic Rowing Machine

The highest published weight capacity on this page attached to the lowest price - bought from a listing that states a capacity, a resistance count and remarkably little else.

Strengths

  • 350 lb published capacity, the highest here apart from the Hydrow
  • 16 resistance levels and a dual slide rail at the lowest price on this page
  • Bluetooth to MERACH's own app is included rather than sold as an upgrade

Trade-offs

  • Neither assembled nor folded dimensions are published, so you are measuring your room blind
  • MERACH sells several machines called Q1S - manual, self-powered, auto-electromagnetic and an HD-screen version - and its own pages do not keep their specs apart
  • No published warranty terms and no published monitor readouts
ResistanceMagnetic, 16 levels
Max user weight350 lb
RailDual slide rail
MonitorLCD (readouts not published on the listing)
AppMERACH app (Bluetooth)
Assembled sizeNot published
Folded sizeNot published
StorageNot published
WarrantyNot published

Worth knowing. Because the Q1S name covers more than one machine, buy from the listing rather than from the model name. The two figures quoted here - 16 levels and 350 lb - are the ones printed on the listing this page links to.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best full-motion rower

Sunny Health & Fitness MotionMax Full Motion Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW522067)

Two independent handles instead of one bar, the longest rail on this page and 330 lb of published capacity - a different movement from a standard erg rather than a better version of one.

Strengths

  • 51.3 in rail with a 45.7 in inseam, the longest usable travel of any pick here
  • 330 lb published capacity on a frame that still stores upright
  • Monitor reports the full pacing set: time/500 m, SPM, strokes, total strokes and pulse

Trade-offs

  • 78.6 in long by 30.5 in wide is by far the biggest footprint on this page
  • Sunny publishes no folded size, no seat height and no machine weight for this model
  • Independent handles are a different skill from a single-bar erg, so your split will not transfer
ResistanceMagnetic, 16 levels
HandlesTwo independent 360-degree handles
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, strokes, total strokes, calories, pulse
Max user weight330 lb
Assembled size78.6 in L x 30.5 in W x 39.3 in H
Slide rail51.3 in long, 45.7 in inseam
StorageUpright
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Folded sizeNot published
Seat heightNot published

Worth knowing. Full-motion rowers trade the fixed bar for two handles that travel in an arc, which is closer to sculling than to an indoor erg. It frees the shoulders, and it makes the machine wider - 30.5 in here against 17.7 in for the standard Sunny.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best simple first rower

Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

The simplest machine here and the one with the least to go wrong: eight levels, an aluminum beam, 41 lb, and a warranty Stamina prints on its own product page.

Strengths

  • 3 years on the frame and 90 days on parts, published by Stamina rather than by a retailer
  • Aluminum rowing beam on ball-bearing rollers, which is unusual at this price
  • 60 in assembled and 41 lb - it stands on end and one person can move it

Trade-offs

  • Eight resistance levels against 16 on the Sunny and MERACH picks
  • Monitor shows strokes, SPM, time, distance and calories, but no 500 m split
  • 250 lb capacity is the lowest here, and Stamina does not publish it on its own spec page
ResistanceMagnetic, 8 levels
MonitorTotal strokes, strokes per minute, time, distance, calories
Max user weight250 lb (stated on the Amazon listing, not on Stamina's spec page)
Assembled size60 in L x 22 in W x 27 in H
Machine weight41 lb
RailAluminum rowing beam, ball-bearing rollers
StorageStores on end, built-in wheels
Warranty3 years frame, 90 days parts
Folded sizeNot published
Seat heightNot published

Worth knowing. Stamina writes its warranty per model rather than per brand - the same catalog shows one year on the frame of its cheaper rowers and five on the DT Pro. The 1110's three years applies to this machine and nothing else.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best connected rower

Hydrow Rowing Machine

A premium, near-silent rower with immersive classes, worthwhile mainly if you'll pay for the membership.

Strengths

  • Near-silent electromagnetic resistance
  • 22-inch pivoting HD touchscreen with rowing and cross-training content
  • 375 lb capacity on a solid frame

Trade-offs

  • Classes require a Hydrow membership subscription
  • Long 86-inch footprint; upright storage needs an add-on kit
ResistanceElectromagnetic (computer-controlled drag)
Display22 in HD touchscreen (pivots)
Max user weight375 lb
Footprint86 in L x 25 in W x 47 in H
Weight145 lb
StorageUpright (with add-on kit)

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a magnetic rower

Rowing is the rare home machine that is genuinely full-body and genuinely low-impact at the same time, which is why it keeps showing up in guidance about getting enough weekly activity without wrecking your knees. Magnetic is the version of it that fits an ordinary house. These are the specs that decide which one to buy, roughly in the order they should decide it.

Resistance levels: a range, not a score

Every machine here advertises a level count — eight on the Stamina, 16 on both Sunnys and the MERACH, and a computer-set range on the Hydrow. It is the most quoted number in the category and the least useful, because nobody publishes what a level is worth. Eight levels on one machine can span the same total drag as 16 on another; all the extra levels guarantee is finer steps between them.

What the count does tell you is how granular your progression can be. If you plan to do intervals where you change resistance between efforts, more steps mean fewer awkward jumps. If you plan to set a level once and row, eight is plenty. What matters far more is that the resistance is fixed: unlike an air rower, easing off does not make a magnetic machine lighter, so a lazy stroke stays as hard as an honest one. That is a feature for steady-state work and a limitation for sprints, and it is the single biggest behavioral difference between the resistance types. We walk through all four in types of rowing machines.

Rail inseam is the fit spec, not rail length

This is the number buyers regret ignoring, and it is the one makers bury. Sunny publishes two figures for every rower: a slide rail length and a slide rail inseam. The first is how long the tube is. The second is how far the seat can actually travel, and it is always shorter — 45.7 in of rail gives 40.9 in of inseam on the SF-RW524079, and 51.3 in of rail gives 45.7 in on the MotionMax. If your legs cannot fully extend inside the inseam, you are rowing a shortened stroke forever, and no amount of resistance fixes that.

There is no honest way to convert a person’s height into a required inseam, because leg length varies enormously at the same height. The useful move is to measure: sit on the floor with your legs straight, and measure from your heels to your seat bones. If that figure is close to a machine’s published inseam, step up. Of the picks here, the MotionMax has the longest usable travel at 45.7 in; the Stamina publishes no inseam at all, which on a 60 in frame is itself informative.

Weight capacity is a stability number

Published capacity is a proxy for how much frame you are buying, not a cliff you fall off. The spread here is wide: 250 lb on the Stamina, 300 lb on the Sunny Dual Rail, 330 lb on the MotionMax, 350 lb on the MERACH and 375 lb on the Hydrow. A rower is loaded dynamically — you drive backwards against the seat with your whole body — so a frame near its limit flexes and creaks, and a machine that creaks is a machine you stop using. Give yourself headroom rather than buying to the number. Our high-capacity equipment guide sorts the wider catalog the same way.

The monitor: three readouts, and everything else is decoration

Console quality is where the price differences on this page become visible, and screen size is not the measure. What matters is whether the console reports time per 500 m, strokes per minute and a distance you can hold yourself to. Those three let you pace an interval, repeat a session next week and see whether you are actually improving. Calories are a modeled estimate on every machine ever built and are the worst possible thing to steer by.

Both Sunny picks publish a 500 m split and stroke rate alongside distance, strokes and a pulse field. The Stamina publishes total strokes, strokes per minute, time, distance and calories — complete enough to train with, minus the split. MERACH publishes an LCD and does not say what it shows, which is a real gap on an otherwise well-specified budget machine. If your training is heart-rate-led, note that none of these bundles a chest strap, so plan on adding one from our heart-rate monitor roundup.

Fold, flip, or stand: three different storage answers

A rower is a long object and it has to go somewhere. The three mechanisms are not interchangeable, and makers use the words loosely. Folding hinges the rail up toward the flywheel, cutting the length roughly in half. Upright storage tips the whole frame onto its end, trading floor length for height — the MotionMax and the Hydrow both do this. Flipping, which is what the Sunny Dual Rail does, stands the machine against a wall without a hinge at all.

The practical question is which shape your room has spare. A tall narrow gap beside a bookcase suits upright; a low space under a window suits folded. And read the published numbers rather than the word: Sunny publishes no folded dimensions for either pick here, MERACH publishes none at all, and Stamina says only that the 1110 “stores easily on end.” The one thing they all have is transport wheels, which is the difference between storing a rower and leaving it out. If floor space is the binding constraint, our small-apartment equipment guide covers the trade-off across every category.

Noise: this is the category’s real advantage

A magnetic rower has no fan and no water, so there is nothing to make a sound except the seat rolling on the rail and the belt returning the handle. That is quieter than a treadmill’s footfall, quieter than the whoosh of a water rower, and dramatically quieter than the fan roar of an air erg. If a shared wall, a sleeping household or a downstairs neighbor is the reason you are shopping at all, magnetic is the answer and the only remaining question is which one. We rank the whole category on that question in the quietest cardio machines.

Electromagnetic is still magnetic — the Hydrow question

The Hydrow sits on this page for a reason that is easy to miss: its drag is magnetic too. The difference is that a computer moves the magnet instead of your hand, which is what lets a class instructor set your resistance for you and what lets the machine hold a level as your stroke rate changes. Everything true of a manual magnetic rower — near-silence, fixed resistance, no consumables — is true of it as well.

What you are paying for on top is a 22-inch pivoting touchscreen and a library of filmed rowing content, and that content sits behind a membership. Hydrow does provide a subscription-free “just row” mode, so the machine is not a brick without it, but nobody buys a Hydrow for just-row mode. Price it as the machine plus a couple of years of membership and compare that total against a Sunny plus the free SunnyFit app, and the decision usually makes itself. Our connected equipment guide lays out which brands charge for what.

Why the cheapest machine here is not the best one

The MERACH Q1S is the lowest price on this page and carries the highest published capacity of any manual pick, which looks like it should end the argument. It does not, for one reason: MERACH publishes almost nothing else. There are no assembled dimensions, no folded dimensions, no monitor readouts and no warranty terms on the listing, and MERACH sells several different machines under the Q1S name whose specs its own pages do not keep apart. That is survivable if you have the room and simply want a quiet rower cheaply. It is not survivable if you are measuring a tight corner, because you cannot measure against a number nobody has printed.

The Sunny Dual Rail costs a little more and answers every one of those questions: 63.2 in assembled, 45.7 in of rail on a 40.9 in inseam, 13.4 in seat height, 41.5 lb, three years on the frame. That is why it is the overall pick rather than the cheapest one. Buying blind is a discount, and it is worth knowing that is what you are buying.

Read the warranty per model, not per brand

Coverage on this page ranges from generous to absent, and it does not track price in the way you would expect. Sunny publishes three years on the structural frame and 180 days on other parts and components, with labor and shipping excluded and the cover non-transferable — the same terms on the $200 machine and the $600 one. Stamina writes its warranty per model rather than per brand: the 1110 gets three years on the frame and 90 days on parts, while cheaper Stamina rowers get one year on the frame. MERACH publishes no warranty terms on the listing at all, which is the usual trade at the bottom of the range and worth knowing before rather than after.

Who should skip magnetic entirely

Two groups should. If you want your numbers to be comparable with other rowers — a club erg test, an online leaderboard, a coach’s program written in splits and watts — buy an air rower with a performance monitor instead, and accept the noise; our best air rowing machines roundup ranks that field on exactly that question. And if what you actually want is the feel of being on the water, with a stroke that gets heavier exactly as fast as you pull, magnetic will always feel synthetic next to a tank; start with water vs magnetic before you spend. For the full field across all three resistance types, the rowing machine roundup covers everything in one place.

Frequently asked questions

Are magnetic rowing machines any good?

For home use, yes — they are the quietest rowers you can buy, they need no maintenance beyond keeping the rail clean, and the resistance level you set stays put. The trade-off is that the drag does not scale with how hard you pull, so a magnetic rower cannot reproduce the sprint feel of an air erg, and the numbers on its console are not comparable with anyone else's.

How many resistance levels do I actually need on a rowing machine?

Fewer than the marketing implies. No maker publishes what one level is worth, so eight levels on one machine can cover the same total range as sixteen on another — the count only tells you how fine the steps between settings are. Eight is enough if you set a level and row. More is useful if you change resistance between intervals.

What size rowing machine do I need for my height?

Ignore height and check the slide rail inseam, which is the seat's usable travel rather than the length of the tube. Sit on the floor with your legs straight and measure from your heels to your seat bones; if that number is close to a machine's published inseam, move up a size. Among the picks here the inseams run from 40.9 in to 45.7 in, and not every maker publishes one at all.

Are magnetic rowers quieter than water or air rowers?

Yes, clearly. A magnetic rower has no fan and no water, so the only sounds are the seat on the rail and the belt returning the handle. A water rower makes a broad whoosh on every drive, and an air rower is the loudest cardio machine most people own. For a flat, a shared wall or an early-morning session in a sleeping house, magnetic is the honest answer.

Do magnetic rowing machines need a subscription?

The manual ones here do not. Sunny's SunnyFit app is free and both Sunny picks work with no account at all, MERACH's app is free, and the Stamina 1110 is a self-contained machine with an LCD. The Hydrow is the exception: it runs a subscription-free 'just row' mode, but its filmed classes — the reason to buy it — need an active membership, so price the machine plus a couple of years of that.

How much space does a magnetic rower need?

Plan for the machine's assembled length plus roughly two feet behind it to get on and off. The picks here run from 60 in to 86 in long, so the range is genuinely wide. Storage is a separate question: some flip against a wall, some stand on end, and some fold — read the published folded dimensions rather than the word 'foldable', because several makers on this page do not publish any.

Sources

Keep reading