Pulse & Plate

Best Rowing Machine for Small Spaces

Two numbers decide this: how long the machine is while you row, and what it becomes when you stop. Six rowers ranked on published assembled length, width, stored footprint and machine weight.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

Rowers are long, and that is not a design flaw — the rail has to be long enough to row on. So a small-space rower is not a shorter workout, it is a machine that manages its length well: a shorter frame in use, or a genuine fold afterwards, or both. The numbers here run from a 60 in assembled frame to one that folds flat to 48 × 18 × 28 in and slides under a bed.

The Sunny Dual Rail SF-RW524079 wins overall on the least glamorous argument available: 63.2 in long by 17.7 in wide, 41.5 lb, magnetic and therefore near-silent, and it flips upright against a wall — while still publishing a 500 m split and 300 lb of capacity. The Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110 is the shortest frame here at 60 in. The Sunny SF-RW520007 is the only air rower that fits a small room, folding upright onto a 31.3 × 25.1 in patch. The Stamina ATS Air Rower 1399 is the only pick that stores lying down rather than standing up. The Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART halves itself, 80.7 in to a 42.9 in footprint. And the WaterRower Oak is the premium answer: an 82.25 in machine that stands in a 20 in footprint like a bookcase.

Every dimension below is one the maker publishes. Where a maker does not publish a folded size — and several do not, which on a page about space is a real finding — it says “Not published” rather than an estimate.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

The cheapest rower here that publishes every number a buyer needs - 16 levels, 300 lb of capacity and a monitor that reads a 500 m split - on a frame more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field.

Best overall
$199.99 · View on Amazon

$229.9913% off

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

The simplest machine here and the one with the least to go wrong: eight levels, an aluminum beam, 41 lb, and a warranty Stamina prints on its own product page.

Shortest frame
$247.89 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

At 72.6 in assembled it is nearly two feet shorter than the rest of the air field, and it stands upright afterwards - the air rower for a room that has to go back to being a room.

Best air rower
$440.86 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Stamina ATS Air Rower 1399

Stamina ATS Air Rower 1399

The cheapest genuine air rower on the page and the only one that actually folds - a plain steel machine with a four-readout monitor and very little to go wrong.

Best for storing flat
$349.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

The most completely specified water rower under four figures: an angled tank, a monitor that reads watts and split rather than just calories, and a frame that folds upright into about half its rowing length.

Best water rower
$699.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
WaterRower Oak Rowing Machine with S4 Monitor

WaterRower Oak Rowing Machine with S4 Monitor

The hardwood water rower every budget frame is imitating, with a published 700 lb capacity and a warranty that upgrades to five years on the frame. You pay roughly four times a budget wooden rower for it.

Best premium
$1,324.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 6, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Length, width and stored size side by side

Assembled length is the number that decides whether the machine fits. Stored footprint is the number that decides whether the room still works afterwards. They are not the same question and makers routinely publish only one of them.

SpecSunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)Stamina ATS Air Rower 1399Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)WaterRower Oak Rowing Machine with S4 Monitor
Assembled length63.2 in60 in72.6 in77 in80.7 in82.25 in
Assembled width17.7 in22 in25.1 in18.75 in21.5 in22.25 in
Stored footprintNot publishedNot published31.3 x 25.1 in48 x 18 x 28 in42.9 x 21.5 in20 x 22.25 in
How it storesFlips uprightStands on endFolds uprightFolds flatFolds uprightStands on end
Height when storedNot publishedNot published72.6 in28 in51.2 in82.25 in
Machine weight41.5 lb41 lb56.7 lb54 lb88.2 lb63.5 lb dry
Resistance and noiseMagnetic - near-silentMagnetic - near-silentAir - loudAir - loudWater - broad whooshWater - broad whoosh
Max user weight300 lb250 lb300 lb250 lb300 lb700 lb

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Sunny Health & Fitness Dual Rail Magnetic Rowing Machine (SF-RW524079)

The cheapest rower here that publishes every number a buyer needs - 16 levels, 300 lb of capacity and a monitor that reads a 500 m split - on a frame more than a foot shorter than the rest of the full-rail field.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads time per 500 m and strokes per minute, not just a calorie estimate
  • 63.2 in assembled length is more than a foot shorter than the other full-rail picks
  • 41.5 lb is light enough for one person to stand it against a wall

Trade-offs

  • 45.7 in rail and a 40.9 in inseam are the shortest here - measure before you buy if you are tall
  • It flips upright rather than folding, and Sunny publishes no folded dimensions
  • The monitor lists a pulse readout but Sunny does not publish what sensor drives it
ResistanceMagnetic, 16 levels
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, count, total count, calories, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size63.2 in L x 17.7 in W x 18.9 in H
Slide rail45.7 in long, 40.9 in inseam
Seat height13.4 in
Machine weight41.5 lb
StorageFlippable, transport wheels
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny publishes slide rail length (45.7 in) and slide rail inseam (40.9 in) as two separate figures. The inseam is the one that decides fit - it is the usable travel of the seat, not the length of the tube it runs on.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Shortest frame

Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110

The simplest machine here and the one with the least to go wrong: eight levels, an aluminum beam, 41 lb, and a warranty Stamina prints on its own product page.

Strengths

  • 3 years on the frame and 90 days on parts, published by Stamina rather than by a retailer
  • Aluminum rowing beam on ball-bearing rollers, which is unusual at this price
  • 60 in assembled and 41 lb - it stands on end and one person can move it

Trade-offs

  • Eight resistance levels against 16 on the Sunny and MERACH picks
  • Monitor shows strokes, SPM, time, distance and calories, but no 500 m split
  • 250 lb capacity is the lowest here, and Stamina does not publish it on its own spec page
ResistanceMagnetic, 8 levels
MonitorTotal strokes, strokes per minute, time, distance, calories
Max user weight250 lb (stated on the Amazon listing, not on Stamina's spec page)
Assembled size60 in L x 22 in W x 27 in H
Machine weight41 lb
RailAluminum rowing beam, ball-bearing rollers
StorageStores on end, built-in wheels
Warranty3 years frame, 90 days parts
Folded sizeNot published
Seat heightNot published

Worth knowing. Stamina writes its warranty per model rather than per brand - the same catalog shows one year on the frame of its cheaper rowers and five on the DT Pro. The 1110's three years applies to this machine and nothing else.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best air rower

Sunny Health & Fitness Smart Premium Air Resistance Rowing Machine (SF-RW520007)

At 72.6 in assembled it is nearly two feet shorter than the rest of the air field, and it stands upright afterwards - the air rower for a room that has to go back to being a room.

Strengths

  • 72.6 in assembled is the shortest air rower here by close to two feet
  • Folds upright onto a 31.3 x 25.1 in floor patch, and Sunny publishes those folded numbers
  • 300 lb capacity with a published 14.6-15.7 in seat height, an easy height to sit down onto

Trade-offs

  • The console shows time, count, total count and calories - no split, no stroke rate, no watts
  • Of the two picks that publish a rail inseam, its 38.5 in is the shorter, so long-legged rowers will run out of travel
  • Resistance is described as progressive rather than adjustable, so there is no damper to set
  • The Amazon listing that names the model number is a bundle, so the price covers a floor mat as well as the rower
ResistanceAir (fan), progressive - no resistance levels
MonitorTime, count, total count, calories, scan
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size72.6 in L x 25.1 in W x 31.3 in H
Folded size31.3 in L x 25.1 in W x 72.6 in H
Slide rail44.7 in long, 38.5 in inseam
Seat height14.6-15.7 in
Machine weight56.7 lb
StorageFolds upright, transport wheels
AppSunnyFit (free, Bluetooth)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny publishes slide rail length (44.7 in) and slide rail inseam (38.5 in) as two separate figures. The inseam is the seat's usable travel and the one that decides fit - and 38.5 in is short enough that a tall rower should measure their own leg length against it first.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best for storing flat

Stamina ATS Air Rower 1399

The cheapest genuine air rower on the page and the only one that actually folds - a plain steel machine with a four-readout monitor and very little to go wrong.

Strengths

  • Folds to 48 x 18 x 28 in - the only pick that stores lying down rather than standing on end, so it slides under a bed
  • 54 lb, light enough for one person to move and store without help
  • 3 years on the frame and 90 days on parts, published by Stamina on this model's own page

Trade-offs

  • The monitor reads speed, distance, time and calories only - no stroke rate, no split, no watts
  • 250 lb capacity is the lowest here, half of the Body-Solid's
  • Stamina publishes no damper or resistance setting, so the drag is whatever the fan gives you
ResistanceAir (wind resistance)
MonitorSpeed, distance, time, calories
Max user weight250 lb
Assembled size77 in L x 18.75 in W x 22 in H
Folded size48 in L x 18 in W x 28 in H
Machine weight54 lb
RailOversized angled seat rail, upholstered sliding seat
StorageFolding frame
Appmuuv audio coaching app (free access included)
Warranty3 years frame, 90 days parts
Seat heightNot published
Damper settingNot published

Worth knowing. Stamina's SKU for the version currently on its own site is 35-1399C, where the C is a revision letter - earlier A and B versions of the same 1399 shipped before it. The figures above are from the C spec sheet, and Amazon carries more than one ATS Air Rower listing at more than one price, so check the listing's own dimensions before you measure a corner around them.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best water rower

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

The most completely specified water rower under four figures: an angled tank, a monitor that reads watts and split rather than just calories, and a frame that folds upright into about half its rowing length.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads watts and time per 500 m, the two numbers you actually pace by
  • Folds from 80.7 in to a 42.9 in footprint, so it can live in a normal room
  • SunnyFit app is free - nothing on the machine sits behind a membership

Trade-offs

  • Resistance is set by how much water is in the tank, so you cannot change it mid-session
  • 300 lb capacity and a 15.4 in seat are mid-pack; heavier rowers should look at the WaterRower
  • 88.2 lb of machine plus water is a two-person job to move up stairs
ResistanceWater (60-degree angled tank, 16 hydro blades)
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, strokes, total strokes, calories, watts, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size80.7 in L x 21.5 in W x 40.6 in H
Folded size42.9 in L x 21.5 in W x 51.2 in H
Seat height15.4 in
Machine weight88.2 lb
AppSunnyFit (free, no subscription)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny sets the tank at a 60-degree incline instead of laying it flat, which is what lets the frame fold upright rather than merely stand on end.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best premium

WaterRower Oak Rowing Machine with S4 Monitor

The hardwood water rower every budget frame is imitating, with a published 700 lb capacity and a warranty that upgrades to five years on the frame. You pay roughly four times a budget wooden rower for it.

Strengths

  • 700 lb published user capacity - more than double every other pick here
  • Stands upright in a 20 in footprint, so an 82 in machine stores like a bookcase
  • Warranty upgrades to 5 years on the frame and 3 on components if you register within the first year

Trade-offs

  • 9 in seat height is low; getting up off it is a real consideration for stiff knees and hips
  • Bluetooth depends on which S4 monitor your unit ships with - some retail configurations need WaterRower's ComModule
  • WaterRower recommends its XL rails for users over 2 m (about 6 ft 7 in), which is a separate purchase
ResistanceWater (WaterFlywheel tank), scales with stroke effort
MonitorS4 - stroke rate, intensity, duration, distance
Max user weight700 lb
Assembled size82.25 in L x 22.25 in W x 20 in H
Upright storage20 in L x 22.25 in W x 82.25 in H
Machine weight63.5 lb dry, 100.5 lb filled
Seat height9 in
FrameSolid oak, Danish oil finish
Warranty1 year; upgradeable to 5 years frame / 3 years components on registration

Worth knowing. There is no damper, magnet or resistance setting anywhere on the machine - drag comes only from the paddle moving water, so the stroke gets heavier exactly as fast as you pull harder.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to buy a rower for a small room

There are four measurements involved and most buyers take one. Taking all four before you order is the difference between a rower and an expensive obstacle.

Measure the lane, not the machine

The assembled length is not the space you need. You need that plus roughly two feet behind the machine to get on and off it, and clearance in front for the handle and the flywheel cage. Concept2 asks for about a 9 ft by 4 ft area for a 96 in RowErg, which is a useful ratio to keep in mind: allow the length of the machine plus about a third again. On the shortest pick here, the 60 in Stamina 1110, that is about seven and a half feet of clear run — which fits down the side of a bed, and does not fit across most box rooms.

Width is the spec that decides a hallway

Nobody checks width and it is the reason a machine ends up wedged. The spread here is wider than it looks: 17.7 in for the Sunny Dual Rail against 25.1 in for the Sunny air rower — more than half a foot, which is the difference between rowing between a sofa and a wall and not. Full-motion rowers with two independent handles are worse again, at over 30 in, which is why none of them are on this page.

“Folds” means three different things

Makers use one word for three mechanisms, and they solve different problems.

  • Folds flat is the rare one. The Stamina ATS Air Rower 1399 comes down to 48 × 18 × 28 in, which is the only pick here that will go under a bed or behind a sofa rather than standing somewhere visible.
  • Folds or flips upright trades floor for height. The Sunny SF-RW520007 folds onto a 31.3 × 25.1 in floor patch and stands 72.6 in tall; the Phantom Hydro comes down to a 42.9 in footprint at 51.2 in tall. Wonderful in a room with a normal ceiling, useless under a sloped attic wall.
  • Stands on end is the WaterRower’s trick and it is the most impressive number on this page: an 82.25 in machine that occupies 20 × 22.25 in of floor when upright, standing 82.25 in tall. It stores like a bookcase and looks like furniture, which is the actual reason people put a hardwood rower in a living room.

Two of the six — the Sunny Dual Rail and the Stamina 1110 — publish no folded or stored dimensions at all. Both are short and light enough that it matters less, but on a page about space that omission is worth naming rather than filling in.

Can one person move it?

Storage only happens if putting the machine away is easy. The two magnetic picks are 41 lb and 41.5 lb — genuinely a one-person job, every session. The two air rowers are in the mid-50s. The Phantom Hydro is 88.2 lb plus the water in its tank, and the WaterRower is 63.5 lb dry and 100.5 lb filled, so both are machines you stand up in place rather than carry. If the rower has to be moved daily rather than weekly, weight outranks stored footprint.

In a flat, noise is a space constraint too

Small rooms tend to come with shared walls. Magnetic rowers are near-silent because nothing touches the flywheel, which is why both magnetic picks lead this page. Water rowers make a broad whoosh on the drive that does not travel through a floor the way treadmill footfall does. Air rowers are the loudest machines here, and it cannot be tuned out — the fan noise is the resistance, so it peaks when you work hardest. If you are above a sleeping household, treat the two air picks as unavailable and read the quietest cardio machines.

What you give up, honestly

Short frames come with short rails. The Sunny Dual Rail publishes a 45.7 in rail with a 40.9 in inseam, and the SF-RW520007 publishes 44.7 in of rail with a 38.5 in inseam — the two shortest usable seat travels on this site. For a rower much over about 6 ft that is a compressed stroke rather than a full one, and it is the honest cost of the compact frame. If that is you, read our best rowing machine for tall people guide instead, and expect to solve the space problem with storage rather than with length. The two published capacities of 250 lb are the other ceiling worth checking before you order.

Is a rower even the right small-space machine?

Sometimes an exercise bike is simply the better answer for a tiny room, because a bike’s footprint is its footprint and nothing slides. An air bike fits in roughly half a rower’s floor length, at the cost of being a ten-minute machine rather than an hour one. And a walking pad slides under a sofa entirely — see treadmill vs walking pad. Our best fitness equipment for small apartments guide plans the whole room rather than just the cardio corner.

Frequently asked questions

What is the smallest rowing machine you can buy?

Of the machines we cover, the Stamina Magnetic Rower 1110 has the shortest assembled frame at 60 in, and the Stamina ATS Air Rower 1399 has the smallest stored size, folding flat to 48 x 18 x 28 in. Those answer different questions: the first is smallest while you row, the second is smallest once you have finished. Check which constraint your room actually has.

How much space do I need for a rowing machine?

Allow the machine's assembled length plus roughly a third again, which covers getting on and off behind it and handle clearance in front. Concept2 asks for about a 9 by 4 ft area for a 96 in rower; on a 60 in frame that scales to about seven and a half feet of clear run. Measure the width too - the machines here range from 17.7 in to 25.1 in wide.

Do rowing machines fold up?

Many do, but 'folds' covers three different mechanisms. Folding flat, like the Stamina 1399 at 48 x 18 x 28 in, means it can go under a bed. Folding or flipping upright trades floor space for height, which is useless under a sloped ceiling. Standing on end, like the WaterRower Oak at 20 x 22.25 in, stores an 82 in machine like a bookcase. Check which one the maker actually means, and whether it publishes the stored dimensions at all.

Which rowing machine is best for an apartment?

A magnetic one, in almost every case. Magnetic resistance touches nothing, so it is near-silent - and in a flat, noise is as much of a constraint as floor space. The Sunny Dual Rail SF-RW524079 is 63.2 in long, 17.7 in wide, 41.5 lb and flips upright, which is about as apartment-friendly as a real rowing machine gets while still publishing a 500 m split and 300 lb of capacity.

Are compact rowing machines any good?

Yes, with one specific compromise: a short frame means a short rail. The two shortest picks here publish slide-rail inseams of 40.9 in and 38.5 in, which is the seat's usable travel, and a rower much over about 6 ft will run out of it and shorten the stroke. Everything else - resistance quality, console data, build - is unaffected by the frame being short.

Can you store a rowing machine upright?

Most of them, one way or another, but check the published height before you count on it. The Sunny SF-RW520007 stands 72.6 in tall folded, the Phantom Hydro 51.2 in, and the WaterRower Oak a full 82.25 in - which is taller than many doorways are wide, and something to check against a sloped ceiling or a low attic wall. Two of the six picks here publish no stored dimensions at all.

Sources

Keep reading