Pulse & Plate

Best Rowing Machines With Screens

A screen on a rower is two completely different products: a console that reports your numbers, and a tablet that plays classes behind a monthly fee. Five machines ranked on which one you are actually buying.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

For almost everybody, the best screen on a rowing machine is the Concept2 PM5on the RowErg: it reports the two numbers rowing programs are actually written in — watts and time per 500 m — and the free ErgData app logs every session with no membership of any kind. If you want the water feel with the same pacing data, the Sunny Phantom Hydro SMARTpublishes watts and a 500 m split and its SunnyFit app is free. The MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro is the only other console here that reports drag factor. If what you want is instructor-led classes on a big panel, the Hydrowhas the 22 in pivoting touchscreen and the Echelon Smart Rower folds, and both put their classes behind a paid membership.

Searching for “rowing machine with a screen” returns two product categories that have almost nothing in common, and the listings deliberately blur them. One is a performance console: a small, usually monochrome panel whose entire job is to tell you how hard you are working, right now, in units you can compare with your last session and with somebody else’s. The other is a content tablet: a large colour touchscreen whose job is to play video, and whose value disappears the month you stop paying for the library.

So this page ranks on one question first: what does the screen tell you, and does the useful part cost a monthly fee?A 22 in panel that shows a calorie estimate and a rower in a fjord is a worse trainingtool than a 4 in LCD that shows watts, and a far better one if classes are the only thing that gets you on the machine. Both answers are legitimate. Buying the first while believing you bought the second is the expensive mistake.

Every readout and app term below comes from the maker’s own published material on the dated visit linked under each write-up. We quote no subscription price, because those change without notice and a figure in a review outlives its accuracy; where a membership is required we say so and leave the current cost to the maker. We own none of these machines and have tested none of them.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

The widely cited standard for home rowing, durable and data-rich, but louder than magnetic or water rowers.

Best console overall
$990.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

The most completely specified water rower under four figures: an angled tank, a monitor that reads watts and split rather than just calories, and a frame that folds upright into about half its rowing length.

Best free-app screen
$699.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air Rower

MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air Rower

The only console on this page besides the Concept2's that reports watts and drag factor - the two numbers that make a session on one erg comparable with a session on another - and it sits in the middle of the price range rather than the top.

Best data console under premium
$559.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Hydrow Rowing Machine

Hydrow Rowing Machine

A premium, near-silent rower with immersive classes, worthwhile mainly if you'll pay for the membership.

Best class screen
$2,195.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 12, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Echelon Smart Rower

Echelon Smart Rower

A folding, app-connected rower for small spaces, with specs that vary by model and a subscription for classes.

Best folding class rower

What the screen says, and what it costs to keep saying it

Rows one to four are the pacing numbers. A machine that reports watts and a 500 m split can run any published rowing program; one that reports calories and strokes cannot. Row six is the one that decides the long-term cost of the screen.

SpecConcept2 RowErg (Model D)Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air RowerHydrow Rowing MachineEchelon Smart Rower
Screen typePM5 performance monitorLCD console5.3 in backlit LCD22 in HD touchscreen (pivots)Device holder or built-in (varies)
Reports watts?YesYesYesNot publishedNot published
Reports time per 500 m?YesYesYesNot publishedNot published
Reports drag factor?YesNoYesNoNo
Companion appErgData (free)SunnyFit (free)MERACH + KinomapHydrow (membership)Echelon (membership)
Classes need a subscription?No classes - no feeNoKinomap is a separate paid appYesYes
Works fully with no phone or account?YesYesYesNoNo
ResistanceAir, damper 1-10Water, 60-degree tankAir, 10 levelsElectromagneticMagnetic, 32 levels
StorageSeparates in twoFolds to 42.9 inFolds to 25.0 inUpright (add-on kit)Folds

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best console overall

Concept2 RowErg (Model D)

The widely cited standard for home rowing, durable and data-rich, but louder than magnetic or water rowers.

Strengths

  • Legendary durability and the widely used PM5 monitor
  • 500 lb capacity and a wide 1-10 damper range
  • Separates into two pieces for storage

Trade-offs

  • Air resistance is louder than magnetic or water rowers
  • Frequently sold direct, so Amazon may show 'Check price' or third-party stock
ResistanceAir (flywheel), spiral damper 1-10
MonitorPM5 (Bluetooth, ANT+)
Max user weight500 lb
Footprint96 in L x 24 in W (needs ~9 x 4 ft)
Seat height14 in
StorageSeparates into two parts

Worth knowing. Often sold direct by Concept2, so on Amazon it may list as 'Check price' or ship from a third-party seller.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best free-app screen

Sunny Health & Fitness Phantom Hydro SMART Water Rower (SF-RW5910SMART)

The most completely specified water rower under four figures: an angled tank, a monitor that reads watts and split rather than just calories, and a frame that folds upright into about half its rowing length.

Strengths

  • Monitor reads watts and time per 500 m, the two numbers you actually pace by
  • Folds from 80.7 in to a 42.9 in footprint, so it can live in a normal room
  • SunnyFit app is free - nothing on the machine sits behind a membership

Trade-offs

  • Resistance is set by how much water is in the tank, so you cannot change it mid-session
  • 300 lb capacity and a 15.4 in seat are mid-pack; heavier rowers should look at the WaterRower
  • 88.2 lb of machine plus water is a two-person job to move up stairs
ResistanceWater (60-degree angled tank, 16 hydro blades)
MonitorTime, time/500 m, SPM, distance, strokes, total strokes, calories, watts, pulse
Max user weight300 lb
Assembled size80.7 in L x 21.5 in W x 40.6 in H
Folded size42.9 in L x 21.5 in W x 51.2 in H
Seat height15.4 in
Machine weight88.2 lb
AppSunnyFit (free, no subscription)
Warranty3 years structural frame, 180 days other parts

Worth knowing. Sunny sets the tank at a 60-degree incline instead of laying it flat, which is what lets the frame fold upright rather than merely stand on end.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 27, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best data console under premium

MERACH NovaRow R50 Pro Air Rower

The only console on this page besides the Concept2's that reports watts and drag factor - the two numbers that make a session on one erg comparable with a session on another - and it sits in the middle of the price range rather than the top.

Strengths

  • Console publishes time/500 m, watts, stroke rate and drag factor - the full pacing set
  • 1,200 mm (47.2 in) rail inseam is the longest published seat travel here
  • Folds to 635 x 835 x 1,370 mm (25.0 x 32.9 x 53.9 in), a small footprint for a 93.7 in machine

Trade-offs

  • MERACH's US spec sheet publishes no maximum user weight and no user height range
  • Two years of warranty, against five from Concept2 and lifetime-on-frame from Body-Solid
  • Every figure is published in millimeters and kilograms, so the inch and pound numbers here are conversions rather than the maker's own
ResistanceAir, 10 levels, 32-blade fan, manual lever
Flywheel3.5 kg (7.7 lb)
Monitor5.3 in backlit LCD - time, distance, calories, strokes, pulse, SPM, time/500 m, watts, stroke waveform, drag factor
Slide rail1,365 mm (53.7 in) track, 1,200 mm (47.2 in) inseam
Rail materialAluminum with a stainless steel sliding rail
Assembled size2,380 x 610 x 1,022 mm (93.7 x 24.0 x 40.2 in)
Folded size635 x 835 x 1,370 mm (25.0 x 32.9 x 53.9 in)
Machine weight33.3 kg (73.4 lb)
Seat height380 mm (15.0 in)
AppMERACH and Kinomap (Bluetooth 5.0)
Warranty2 years
Max user weightNot published

Worth knowing. Drag factor is the one console reading that makes two different air rowers comparable. It measures how quickly the flywheel slows between strokes, so the monitor knows how much air the fan is actually moving no matter where the damper lever sits. Publishing it on a machine at this price is unusual.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 31, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best class screen

Hydrow Rowing Machine

A premium, near-silent rower with immersive classes, worthwhile mainly if you'll pay for the membership.

Strengths

  • Near-silent electromagnetic resistance
  • 22-inch pivoting HD touchscreen with rowing and cross-training content
  • 375 lb capacity on a solid frame

Trade-offs

  • Classes require a Hydrow membership subscription
  • Long 86-inch footprint; upright storage needs an add-on kit
ResistanceElectromagnetic (computer-controlled drag)
Display22 in HD touchscreen (pivots)
Max user weight375 lb
Footprint86 in L x 25 in W x 47 in H
Weight145 lb
StorageUpright (with add-on kit)

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best folding class rower

Echelon Smart Rower

A folding, app-connected rower for small spaces, with specs that vary by model and a subscription for classes.

Strengths

  • 32 quiet magnetic resistance levels
  • Frame folds for storage in small spaces
  • Bluetooth pairs with the Echelon app for classes

Trade-offs

  • Classes require a paid Echelon membership
  • Specs and screen differ across Row Sport, Row-S and Row-4s versions
ResistanceMagnetic, 32 levels
Max user weightUp to 350 lb (varies by model)
StorageFolds for storage
DisplayDevice holder or built-in screen (varies by model)
ConnectivityBluetooth, Echelon app

Worth knowing. Sold in several versions (Row Sport, Row-S, Row-4s) with differing weight limits and screens; confirm the exact model before buying.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a rowing machine screen

1. Decide whether you want numbers or video

Be honest with yourself about which one gets you onto the machine, because the two buys pull in opposite directions. If you will row on your own and want to improve, you want a console that reports watts and time per 500 m, and the screen size is irrelevant. If you will only row when somebody is talking to you, you want a large panel and a class library, and the pacing readouts are a bonus you may never look at.

Here is why watts and split specifically. Watts is an absolute measure of power output — 150 W on one machine is the same work as 150 W on another. Time per 500 m is the pace unit every published rowing workout is written in, from a 2 km test to an interval session. Calories, by contrast, is an estimate the console derives from power using assumptions it does not show you, and a stroke count tells you how many times you moved rather than how hard. A console that reports only time, distance, strokes and calories cannot run a real rowing program. Three of the five machines here report watts and split; two do not publish whether they do.

2. Work out what disappears if you stop paying

This is the test that separates the two categories, and it is worth applying before you buy rather than a year in. Ask: with no subscription and no account, what does this machine still do?

On the Concept2, everything. The PM5 is self-contained, it works with no phone present, and ErgData — which Concept2 describes as “our free app that connects you to the Concept2 community” — syncs to the Online Logbook and forwards workouts to Strava and Garmin Connect at no cost. On the Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART, everything: Sunny publishes the SunnyFit app as free, and the console’s watts and split readouts are on the machine itself. On the Hydrow and the Echelon, the classes stop — both makers state that their content requires a paid membership — and what you are left with is a well-built rower with a screen on it. The MERACH sits in between: its own app is included, while Kinomap, the scenic-route app it also pairs with, is a separate paid subscription of its own.

This is a pattern across connected fitness rather than a rower quirk, and the makers are not uniform about it. Horizon states flatly that it “does not require any subscription services to operate your fitness equipment”. NordicTrack publishes that iFIT is not mandatory and that the machine runs in manual mode without it, with a limited library. Garmin, on the wearables side, committed that “all existing features and data in Garmin Connect will remain free” when it launched a paid tier. Read the maker’s own words on this, not the box.

3. If you want a console, check drag factor

Drag factor is the most useful readout almost nobody knows to look for, and only two machines here report it. On an air rower, the damper lever changes how much air the fan moves, which changes how the stroke feels— Concept2 is explicit that the damper is gearing rather than resistance, and suggests starting between 3 and 5. Drag factor is the number the monitor measures by watching how fast the flywheel slows between strokes, so it describes the actual load regardless of where the lever sits or how dusty the fan cage is.

That matters for one practical reason: a drag factor makes two sessions comparable. A workout done at damper 4 on a clean machine and damper 4 on a dusty one are different workouts; the same drag factor on both is the same workout. The Concept2 PM5 publishes it, and MERACH publishes it on a 5.3 in LCD at a mid-range price, which is genuinely unusual at that money.

4. If you want classes, check the screen hardware and the footprint

Class machines are decided by the panel and the room rather than the readouts. Hydrow publishes a 22 in HD touchscreen that pivots, which is the feature that lets the machine double as a floor-workout display rather than a rower you stare past. The cost is an 86 in × 25 in footprint, 145 lb of machine, and upright storage that needs an add-on kit you buy separately.

Echelon takes the other route: a frame that folds for storage, with the screen situation varying by version. Echelon sells the rower as the Row Sport, Row-S and Row-4s, and the display is a device holder on some and built in on others, with different published weight limits too. That is a genuine buying hazard rather than a footnote — confirm the exact version on the listing you are ordering, because “Echelon Smart Rower” alone does not tell you whether a screen is included.

The option this page is quietly recommending

A small console plus your own tablet. The PM5 or the Phantom Hydro’s LCD gives you the pacing numbers; a phone or iPad on a stand gives you any video you like, including free ones, and you can change your mind about the content without replacing a rowing machine. The thing a built-in class screen buys over that arrangement is convenience and the on-screen metrics overlay. The thing it costs is a monthly fee and a machine whose best feature is tied to one company’s continued existence.

It is also worth saying which way we would spend a fixed budget: on the frame and the console, not the panel. A rower is a mechanical object that should last a decade, and a ten-year-old PM5 still reports watts correctly. A ten-year-old Android tablet bolted to a rower is a ten-year-old Android tablet. If the screen is what you are paying for, our Concept2 alternativespage is worth reading too — it ranks machines by the reason a buyer leaves the RowErg, and “it has no screen” is one of the four.

What a screen will not fix

No console makes a rower quiet, and the screen tends to correlate with the noise rather than against it. The Hydrow’s electromagnetic drag is the quietest resistance in this group; the Concept2’s fan is the loudest. If a shared wall or a sleeping child is the real constraint, quietest cardio machines is the page that ranks on it.

And no screen changes the dose. The federal guideline is 150–300 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week plus muscle-strengthening on two or more days, and a class library helps only insofar as it gets you to those minutes. If instructor-led video is what makes that happen for you, the membership is cheap. If it is not, the console machine is the better buy and the saved subscription pays for a set of adjustable dumbbells for the strength half of the recommendation.

Frequently asked questions

Do rowing machines with screens require a subscription?

It depends entirely on which kind of screen. A performance console does not: the Concept2 PM5 is self-contained, ErgData is free, and the Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART's console and the free SunnyFit app work with no membership. A class tablet usually does: both Hydrow and Echelon state that their class libraries require a paid membership, and without it you keep the rower and lose the content. MERACH sits in between - its own app is included, while Kinomap is a separate paid app.

What should a rowing machine screen actually display?

Watts and time per 500 m, at minimum. Watts is an absolute measure of power, so 150 W on one machine is the same work as 150 W on another. Time per 500 m is the pace unit every published rowing workout is written in. Calories is an estimate derived from power using assumptions the console does not show you, and stroke count tells you how often you moved rather than how hard. On an air rower, drag factor is a valuable fourth readout - the Concept2 PM5 and the MERACH R50 Pro are the two consoles here that report it.

Is the Hydrow screen worth it?

If instructor-led classes are the thing that gets you rowing, yes - the 22 in pivoting touchscreen is the largest and most capable panel here, and it turns far enough to use for floor work. If you would row anyway, you are paying a premium for a monthly fee and a screen whose useful content stops when the payment does, on a machine with an 86 in footprint and 145 lb of weight. We would put a fixed budget into the frame and the console and use our own tablet for video.

What is drag factor and why does it matter?

It is what the monitor measures by watching how quickly the flywheel slows between strokes, so it describes the load the fan is actually producing rather than where the damper lever happens to sit. That makes two sessions comparable: damper 4 on a clean machine and damper 4 on a dusty one are different workouts, but the same drag factor on both is the same workout. Concept2 is explicit that the damper is gearing rather than resistance and suggests starting between 3 and 5.

Can I use a rowing machine with my own tablet instead of a built-in screen?

Yes, and for most buyers it is the better arrangement. A performance console gives you the pacing numbers, and a phone or iPad on a stand plays whatever content you like - including free content - with no commitment to one company's library. What a built-in class screen adds is convenience and an on-screen metrics overlay. What it costs is a monthly fee and a machine whose headline feature depends on that company continuing to operate.

Which rowing machine has the best console without a subscription?

The Concept2 RowErg's PM5, by a clear margin: it reports watts, time per 500 m, stroke rate and drag factor, needs no phone to function, and syncs free to Concept2's Online Logbook and on to Strava and Garmin Connect through ErgData. For the water feel with the same pacing numbers and a free app, the Sunny Phantom Hydro SMART publishes watts and a 500 m split and states SunnyFit is free with no subscription.

Does the Echelon Smart Rower come with a screen?

It depends on the version, and this is a real buying hazard rather than a footnote. Echelon sells the machine as the Row Sport, Row-S and Row-4s, and the display is a device holder on some versions and built in on others, with different published maximum user weights across them too. Confirm the exact version on the listing you are ordering - the name 'Echelon Smart Rower' on its own does not tell you whether a screen is included.

Are screened rowers quieter than basic ones?

Not because of the screen, though the two often correlate. Resistance type sets the noise: the Hydrow's electromagnetic drag is the quietest in this group and the Concept2's fan is the loudest, with water and magnetic in between. If a shared wall is the constraint, choose on resistance type rather than on console, and read our quietest cardio machines page.

Sources

Keep reading