Pulse & Plate

Best Folding Treadmills

Every treadmill here folds. What separates them is what folding actually costs you - the weight you have to tilt, the assist that does it for you, and whether anybody will tell you how big the folded machine is.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

“Folding” is the most over-promised word in home cardio. Nearly every treadmill sold for a house folds, so the word on its own tells you nothing — and the picture in the listing, with the deck upright and a tidy sliver of floor beside it, tells you less. What decides whether a treadmill actually gets folded twice a day or gets folded once, in week one, and never again is three things the listings mostly bury: how heavy the deck is when you lift it, whether anything helps you lift it, and how big the thing is once it is up.

That last one is the finding that ended up organizing this page. Of the five machines below, exactly one maker publishes a folded footprint: Horizon states 46 × 34 × 61 in for the folded T101, against 70.5 × 33.5 × 59 in assembled. That is the single most useful number in this category, because it is the number you measure your room against — and four of five makers decline to give it. NordicTrack publishes a footprint of 70.8 × 34.9 × 59.7 in without saying whether that is folded or open, which is worse than silence.

So this is a ranking of the fold, not of the run. We own none of these machines and have tested none of them; the figures are read from each maker’s published specifications or the listing on a dated visit, and where a figure is not published it is printed as “Not published” rather than guessed. If you want the motor-and-deck ranking instead — which machine suits which runner — that is best treadmills for home, and it ranks the same five on different criteria.

The Horizon T101wins because it is the only machine here whose maker tells you what you are getting into: a one-step hydraulic fold, 180 lb of machine, and a published folded size. The Sunny auto-incline treadmill arrives fully assembled and folds with one click, which removes the two-hour build most folding treadmills start with. The NordicTrack EXP 7i has the best lift assist and the worst disclosure. The XTERRA TRX1000 is the cheapest way to a folding deck and the one that asks the most of your back. And the UREVO walking pad is the honest answer for anyone whose real problem is storage rather than running: it does not fold at all, because it is already flat.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Horizon Fitness T101 Treadmill

Horizon Fitness T101 Treadmill

A dependable folding treadmill with real powered incline and no forced subscription, though its 55-inch belt is short for taller runners.

Best overall
$739.99 · View on Amazon

$819.9210% off

Price as of October 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Sunny Health & Fitness Auto Incline Treadmill (20 in belt)

Sunny Health & Fitness Auto Incline Treadmill (20 in belt)

A full 20-inch running belt with 15% automatic incline and no assembly at all — the value play if you want a real deck rather than the cheapest one.

Best no-assembly fold
$699.99 · View on Amazon

$899.9922% off

Price as of October 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
NordicTrack EXP 7i Treadmill

NordicTrack EXP 7i Treadmill

A capable touchscreen treadmill for iFIT fans, but most of its value depends on keeping the membership.

Best lift assist
$799.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
XTERRA Fitness TRX1000 Folding Treadmill

XTERRA Fitness TRX1000 Folding Treadmill

A cheap, foldable pick for walking and light jogging, as long as you don't mind setting the incline by hand.

Best budget fold
$445.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
UREVO Under Desk Treadmill Walking Pad

UREVO Under Desk Treadmill Walking Pad

A slim under-desk pad for logging steps while you work, not a treadmill for running.

Best for storage, not running
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What putting it away actually involves

Row three is the row to measure your room against - and four of these five makers do not publish it. Read those cells as the finding, not as a gap in our reading.

SpecHorizon Fitness T101 TreadmillSunny Health & Fitness Auto Incline Treadmill (20 in belt)NordicTrack EXP 7i TreadmillXTERRA Fitness TRX1000 Folding TreadmillUREVO Under Desk Treadmill Walking Pad
Fold mechanismOne-step hydraulic (FeatherLight)One-click foldSpaceSaver with EasyLift assistManual fold, transport wheelsDoes not fold - already flat
Assembled footprint (L × W × H)70.5 × 33.5 × 59 inNot published70.8 × 34.9 × 59.7 in (fold state not stated)Not publishedNot published
Published folded footprint46 × 34 × 61 inNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedn/a - flat deck
Machine weight180 lbNot published228 lb in the box; bare weight not publishedNot publishedNot published
Ships assembledNoYes, fully assembledNoNoYes
Belt / running surface20 × 55 in20 × 53 in20 × 55 in (maker's pages also say 20 × 60)16 × 50 inNot published
Max user weight300 lb300 lb300 lb250 lb265 lb
Incline0–10% powered15 auto levels to 15%0–12% automatic3 manual positionsNone
Top speed10 mph10 mph10 mph10 mphAbout 4 mph (walking)
Subscription for full valueNoNo - SunnyFit app is freeYes - iFIT membershipNoNo

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Horizon Fitness T101 Treadmill

A dependable folding treadmill with real powered incline and no forced subscription, though its 55-inch belt is short for taller runners.

Strengths

  • Genuine 2.5 CHP motor and powered incline at a mid-range price
  • Bluetooth speakers and app connectivity with no required membership
  • Hydraulic FeatherLight folding deck saves floor space

Trade-offs

  • 55-inch belt is short for taller runners at faster paces
  • Basic LCD console feels dated next to touchscreen rivals
Motor2.5 CHP
Speed range0.5-10 mph
Incline0-10% powered
Belt / deck20 in x 55 in
Max user weight300 lb
FoldingYes (hydraulic)

Worth knowing. Deck folds up hydraulically and locks vertically to reclaim floor space between workouts.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best no-assembly fold

Sunny Health & Fitness Auto Incline Treadmill (20 in belt)

A full 20-inch running belt with 15% automatic incline and no assembly at all — the value play if you want a real deck rather than the cheapest one.

Strengths

  • 15 automatic incline levels to a 15% grade — a steeper range than most home decks
  • Arrives fully assembled and folds with a one-click mechanism
  • Free SunnyFit app with trainer-led video workouts; no subscription is required to run it

Trade-offs

  • Sunny quotes 2.5 HP without stating whether that is a continuous-duty rating
  • No model number on the listing, so matching parts and manuals takes a moment
Motor2.5 HP brushless (duty rating not published)
Speed rangeUp to 10 mph
Incline15 automatic levels to 15%
Running surface20 in x 53 in
Max user weight300 lb
MonitorLED display with built-in pulse sensors
Programs24 preset, plus 3 countdown and 3 user modes
AssemblyFully assembled; one-click fold

Worth knowing. Double-deck shock absorption, two cup holders, a device holder and a USB charging port — Sunny does not publish a model number on this listing.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best lift assist

NordicTrack EXP 7i Treadmill

A capable touchscreen treadmill for iFIT fans, but most of its value depends on keeping the membership.

Strengths

  • 7-inch HD touchscreen with trainer-controlled incline via iFIT
  • Full 20 x 55 in deck and 300 lb capacity suit running
  • SpaceSaver folding with FlexSelect cushioning

Trade-offs

  • Best features are locked behind a paid iFIT membership
  • No decline and a smaller screen than pricier NordicTrack models
Motor2.6 CHP
Speed range0-10 mph
Incline0-12% automatic
Deck20 in x 55 in
Max user weight300 lb
Display7 in HD touchscreen (iFIT)

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best budget fold

XTERRA Fitness TRX1000 Folding Treadmill

A cheap, foldable pick for walking and light jogging, as long as you don't mind setting the incline by hand.

Strengths

  • Low price with a folding deck and built-in transport wheels
  • 3-position manual incline, a 5-inch LCD console and 12 preset programs
  • 10 mph top speed covers light jogging, on an XTRASOFT cushioned deck

Trade-offs

  • Incline is set by hand, not motorized
  • 16-inch belt and 250 lb capacity are tight for larger runners
Motor2.25 HP
Speed rangeUp to 10 mph
Incline3 manual positions
Running surface16 in x 50 in (XTRASOFT cushioned)
Max user weight250 lb
Programs12 preset
FoldingYes, with transport wheels

Specs read from the product listing, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for storage, not running

UREVO Under Desk Treadmill Walking Pad

A slim under-desk pad for logging steps while you work, not a treadmill for running.

Strengths

  • Slides under a desk and stores flat against a wall
  • Quiet operation with remote-controlled speed
  • 265 lb capacity is generous for a compact pad

Trade-offs

  • Walking speeds only, with no incline and no handrail
  • UREVO sells several near-identical pads, so exact specs vary by model
Motor2.25 HP
Top speedUp to 4 mph (walking pace)
InclineNone (flat)
Max user weight265 lb
Running surfaceNot published (varies by model)
ProfileSlim, portable with front wheels

Worth knowing. UREVO markets multiple similar under-desk pads (roughly 2.25-2.5 HP); confirm the exact model's belt size and top speed on the listing before buying.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a folding treadmill

Four questions, in this order. Note that none of them is about the motor — that is the other page’s job.

1. What does the fold weigh, and what helps you?

A treadmill deck is the heaviest hinged object most people own. Folding one means tilting a long steel frame up on a pivot, and the amount of that frame you actually carry depends entirely on the mechanism.

A hydraulic fold— what Horizon calls FeatherLight on the T101, and describes as one-step — puts a gas strut in the hinge, so the cylinder takes most of the deck and your job is to start the movement and guide it. It also controls the deck on the way down, which is the half of the job nobody thinks about until a 180 lb frame gets away from them. NordicTrack’s EasyLift assistis the same idea and the company claims the most about it: its folding-treadmill pages say the assist reduces what you handle from roughly 50–60 lb to about 20–25 lb. Worth reading carefully — that figure is published for the folding line in general, not for the EXP 7i specifically, and we have not measured it.

A one-click fold, which is what Sunny publishes for its auto-incline deck, is a latch-and-release rather than a power assist: quick, but you are still the lift. And a plain manual fold— the XTERRA TRX1000 — is exactly what it sounds like. On a cheap, light machine that is a fair trade; it is also the reason a budget folding treadmill often stops being folded.

2. The folded footprint, and the number almost nobody prints

Here is the arithmetic that matters and that you can only do for one machine on this page. Horizon publishes the T101 at 70.5 × 33.5 in open and 46 × 34 infolded. So folding reclaims about two feet of length and nothing at all of width — and it raises the machine to 61 in tall, which is two inches TALLER than it stands open. That is the sentence the product photography never says out loud: a folded treadmill is not a flat panel against a wall, it is a tall narrow tower, and in a room with a sloped ceiling or a low shelf the folded height is the constraint, not the folded length.

Sunny, XTERRA and UREVO publish no folded dimension on the listings we read. NordicTrack is the awkward case: it publishes one footprint, 70.8 × 34.9 × 59.7 in, and does not state whether that is the open or the folded figure. Given it is within an inch of the T101’s open size, treat it as the open footprint and assume you will measure the folded machine yourself.

Two practical checks before you buy anything here, and they cost nothing. Measure the folded height against whatever is above the spot you plan to park it. And measure the path— a folded treadmill still has to roll through a doorway on its transport wheels, and the width does not shrink when the deck goes up. If the room is genuinely tight, our small-apartment equipment guide works through what fits where in more detail.

3. Does it arrive assembled? (The fold you never see)

This is the most underrated spec in the category and only one maker here can claim it. The Sunny auto-incline treadmill ships fully assembled, and the UREVO pad effectively does too. Everything else is a flat-pack: the T101, the EXP 7i and the TRX1000 all arrive as a frame, a console mast, hardware and a long instruction sheet, and the box weights are the clue to how much of a job that is — NordicTrack publishes 228 lb in the boxfor the EXP 7i, and Horizon publishes a 73 × 30 × 12 in carton at an estimated 220 lb shipping weight for the T101.

Two consequences. The first is obvious: a two-person, one-to-two-hour build before your first walk. The second is not, and it is the one that catches people out — a flat-pack carton does not fit through every door and up every stair, and a 220 lb box is not something to carry up a flight alone. If the treadmill is going upstairs or into a basement, the box dimensions deserve as much attention as the folded ones.

4. Then, and only then, the deck you are folding

Folding is a storage feature, not a workout feature, so it should never be the reason you accept a deck that does not fit you. The belts here run from 16 × 50 in on the XTERRA to 20 × 55 inon the Horizon and NordicTrack, and that difference is not cosmetic: a 16-inch width gives you less room for a natural arm-swing wobble, and a 50-inch belt crowds a long stride at jogging pace. NordicTrack is worth one caution here too — its own pages state the EXP 7i belt as both 20 × 55 and 20 × 60 in, and give the top speed as both 10 and 12 mph depending on which page you read, so the deck figure above is the more conservative of the two.

Published maximum user weight runs 250 to 300 lb across these five. That is a structural rating and worth taking seriously on a machine with a hinge in the middle of the frame: if you are near the limit, the folding mechanism is precisely the part you do not want working at its margin. Our guide for heavier beginners ranks equipment on published capacity specifically.

The case for not buying a folding treadmill at all

Worth saying plainly, because it is the right answer more often than this category admits. If what you actually want is to walk— steps during the work day, a way to not sit for nine hours — then the folding mechanism is solving a problem you can avoid instead. A walking pad is 4 to 5 inches tall, slides under a desk or a bed without folding anything, and costs a fraction of a folding deck. The UREVO pad on this page tops out at a walking pace with no incline and a published 265 lb capacity, and for a desk worker that ceiling is a feature rather than a limit.

The honest trade is that a pad will not let you run, has no handrail to hold and nothing to grab if you stumble, and gives you no incline — and incline is the cheapest way to make a slow walk meaningfully hard. We lay the whole comparison out in treadmill vs walking pad. If you are still choosing between cardio categories rather than between treadmills, treadmill vs exercise bike and rowing machine vs treadmill are the two decisions that come before this page.

What to skip

Skip any folding treadmill whose listing shows the folded machine in a photograph but states no folded dimensionif your space is the reason you are buying a folding deck — that is the one scenario where the missing number is the whole decision. Skip a manual-fold machine if the person folding it has a bad back or if it has to be folded daily rather than weekly; the assist is worth real money in that case. Skip the cheapest frames if you plan to run rather than walk, because a hinge in the middle of a long frame is exactly where a thin, cheap frame tells on itself over years.

And be deliberate about subscription-dependent machines. The EXP 7i is a good deck whose trainer-controlled incline and classes ride on an iFIT membership, so the real price is the machine plus years of membership; the Horizon and the Sunny both work fully without paying anyone monthly, and SunnyFit is free. If that is the axis you care about most, our screens-and-subscriptions breakdown applies the same test to rowers, where the paywalls are even more aggressive. One maintenance note for every machine on this page: belt-to-deck friction is what kills treadmill motors, and deck lubrication is the job nobody does — check the manual, because some decks are pre-lubricated and must not be treated.

Small things worth adding

Inexpensive extras that pair with the picks above. They do not change any recommendation on this page — they are just the things that tend to get bought second.

  • Action Fitness 100% Silicone Treadmill Lubricant

    Action Fitness 100% Silicone Treadmill Lubricant

    Belt-to-deck friction is what burns out treadmill motors, and deck lubrication is the maintenance job almost nobody does. Check your manual first - some decks are pre-lubricated and must not be treated.

    $9.99 · View on Amazon

    Price as of October 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Frequently asked questions

How much space does a folded treadmill actually save?

Less than the photos suggest, and only one maker here publishes enough to check. Horizon states the T101 at 70.5 x 33.5 x 59 in assembled and 46 x 34 x 61 in folded, so folding reclaims about two feet of length, none of the width, and makes the machine two inches taller than it stands open. A folded treadmill is a tall narrow tower rather than a flat panel, so the folded height and the doorway it has to roll through matter more than the folded length.

Is a hydraulic folding treadmill worth it?

If you will fold it often, yes. A hydraulic strut takes most of the deck weight on the way up and - the part people forget - controls it on the way down, which is the dangerous half with a 180 lb frame. Horizon's one-step FeatherLight fold and NordicTrack's EasyLift assist both work this way; NordicTrack's folding pages claim the assist cuts what you handle from roughly 50-60 lb to about 20-25 lb, though that figure is published for the line rather than for the EXP 7i specifically. A one-click or manual fold is quicker to describe and leaves you doing the lifting.

Do folding treadmills come assembled?

Mostly not. The Sunny auto-incline treadmill is the exception here and ships fully assembled, and the UREVO walking pad effectively does too. The Horizon T101, NordicTrack EXP 7i and XTERRA TRX1000 all arrive flat-packed, and the carton figures are the clue to the job: NordicTrack publishes 228 lb in the box for the EXP 7i, and Horizon publishes a 73 x 30 x 12 in carton at about 220 lb shipping weight. If the machine is going upstairs, check the box dimensions as carefully as the folded ones.

Are folding treadmills less sturdy than non-folding ones?

A hinge in the middle of a long frame is a real design compromise, but it is one every home treadmill in this price range makes, so it is not a reason to avoid folding. What matters more is the published maximum user weight, which runs 250 to 300 lb across these five. If you are near the limit, the folding joint is the part working closest to its margin, and that is a reason to buy the higher-rated frame rather than a non-folding one.

What is the best folding treadmill for a small apartment?

On published figures rather than on testing, the Horizon T101 - because it is the only machine here that tells you how big the folded result is, which is the one thing a small room needs to know. If the real goal is walking rather than running, a walking pad is the better answer entirely: it is a few inches tall, slides under a desk or bed with nothing to fold, and costs far less. The trade is no handrail, no incline and a walking-pace ceiling.

Can you run on a folding treadmill?

On most of these, yes, within limits. Four of the five reach a published 10 mph, and the decks on the Horizon, Sunny and NordicTrack are a full 20 in wide. The ones to think twice about are the 16 x 50 in XTERRA belt, which crowds a long stride at jogging pace, and the UREVO pad, which is a walking machine with no handrail and should not be run on. Motor duty rating matters too, and that is covered on our main treadmill roundup rather than here.

Do any of these need a subscription?

Only one depends on it. The NordicTrack EXP 7i's trainer-controlled incline and class library ride on an iFIT membership, so the honest price is the machine plus years of subscription. The Horizon T101 works fully unconnected, Sunny's SunnyFit app is free with no tier to buy, and the XTERRA and the UREVO pad have no subscription at all. Treat a membership as part of the purchase price, not an extra.

How often should I fold a treadmill?

Only as often as you actually need the floor - there is no mechanical benefit to folding a treadmill you are not moving out of the way. The practical point is the reverse: buy for the frequency you will realistically fold at. If the deck has to go up and down daily in a shared room, pay for the hydraulic or assisted fold. If it folds once a month when guests come, a one-click or manual fold is fine and the money is better spent on the deck.

Sources

  • Horizon Fitness — T101 Treadmill (published dimensions) — The only machine on the page whose maker publishes a FOLDED size, which is the figure a small room is actually measured against: 46 x 34 x 61 in folded against 70.5 x 33.5 x 59 in assembled, on a 180 lb machine with a "FeatherLight Folding" frame and one-step hydraulic folding. So folding reclaims about two feet of length, none of the width, and leaves the machine two inches TALLER than it stands open. Also published: a 20 x 55 in deck, 0.5-10 mph, 0-10% incline, 300 lb maximum user weight, and a 73 x 30 x 12 in carton at an estimated 220 lb shipping weight. NOTE: Horizon's current product page gives the assembled figure as 70.5 x 33.5 x 59 in while an older spec table says 71 x 34 x 57 in, and the same machine is listed as both "T101 Connect" and "T101 GO Series" - the current page's figure is the one used here (accessed October 31, 2026)
  • NordicTrack — EXP 7i Treadmill (published specifications) — Read for the fold and found the opposite of a disclosure: NordicTrack publishes a single footprint of 70.8 x 34.9 x 59.7 in WITHOUT stating whether that is the open or the folded machine, and publishes 228 lb as an in-box product weight with no bare machine weight. The fold is a SpaceSaver design with EasyLift assist, and NordicTrack's folding-treadmill pages claim the assist reduces what the user handles from roughly 50-60 lb to about 20-25 lb - a figure published for the folding LINE, not for the EXP 7i specifically, which is how the page reports it. Also published: 300 lb capacity, 0-12% incline, 0-10 mph. NOTE: the maker's own pages disagree with each other - the belt is given as 20 x 55 in on some pages and 20 x 60 in on others, and the top speed as 10 mph on the spec sheet and 12 mph in a NordicTrack blog review - so the conservative figure is used in both cases (accessed October 31, 2026)
  • American Heart Association — Recommendations for Physical Activity in Adults — AHA's 150 min/week moderate aerobic + 2 days strength recommendation (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Mayo Clinic — Exercise intensity: How to measure it — Mayo Clinic on light/moderate/vigorous heart-rate zones and how to measure them (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading