Pulse & Plate

Best Sleep Tracking Smartwatches

A sleep tracker you have to put on the charger at bedtime is not a sleep tracker. Six watches ranked on nights per charge first, then on what the morning report contains and what it costs.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Buy the Garmin Venu 4 if you want a smartwatch that tracks sleep. The reason is battery, not sensors. Garmin publishes up to 12 days in smartwatch mode on the 45 mm Venu 4, and the sleep, recovery and HRV detail in Garmin Connect is not behind a paywall — Garmin states that all existing features and data in Connect remain free, with Connect+ positioned as optional. A watch that goes almost two weeks between charges is a watch you can wear every night without deciding when to charge it, and that single property matters more than any sensor on this page.

That is the axis this roundup ranks on, and it is deliberately different from every other sleep page on this site. Best sleep trackers compares every form factor — ring, band, mat, watch. Best sleep tracker bands ranks the screenless band category on its own. Best smart rings does the same for rings. This page takes the one form factor people already own — the full smartwatch — and ranks it on the problem a smartwatch has that a ring and a band do not: it is the device most likely to be flat at 11 pm.

Three published figures decide the order. Nights per charge comes first, and the spread here is enormous — 30 days on the Withings ScanWatch 2, 25 on the Amazfit Active Max, 12 on the Venu 4, up to 40 hours on the 45 mm Pixel Watch 5, and roughly a day each on the Galaxy Watch9 and the Apple Watch Series 12. What the night report contains comes second, because a sleep score is not the same thing as sleep-apnea notifications or an HRV trend. Whether any of it costs money comes third, and it separates these six cleanly. A note before you read on: consumer sleep tracking estimates sleep from movement and heart signals rather than measuring it the way a clinical study does, and the Cleveland Clinic is worth reading on those limits. We own none of these watches and have tested none of them.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Garmin Venu 4

Garmin Venu 4

A do-everything AMOLED Garmin with multi-band GPS, ECG and 12-day battery and no subscription — the price is the only thing that stings.

Best overall
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2

Withings ScanWatch 2

A classic-looking hybrid watch with medical-grade ECG, AFib detection and a month of battery — you trade a full smart display for elegance.

Most nights per charge
3
Apple Watch Series 12

Apple Watch Series 12

The most sensor-complete watch an iPhone can pair with: ECG, hypertension and sleep apnea notifications, a sleep score and a morning readiness score, on a 24-hour battery that charges fast enough to wear overnight.

Best for iPhone
$399.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Google Pixel Watch 5

Google Pixel Watch 5

The Wear OS watch that finally stopped being a one-day watch: up to 40 hours on the 45 mm, with Fitbit's deepest sleep and health tracking.

Most detailed on Android
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Samsung Galaxy Watch9

Samsung Galaxy Watch9

The most complete Wear OS watch: a 3,000-nit screen, dual-band GPS and Samsung's full sensor stack — still about a day of battery, and ECG needs a Galaxy phone.

Best for Galaxy phones
$379.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Amazfit Active Max

Amazfit Active Max

Close to a month of battery, real built-in positioning and offline maps for well under $200 — the trade is Amazfit's Zepp software rather than Apple's or Google's.

Best budget
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Battery, night report and what it costs

Battery is row one because it decides whether the watch is on your wrist at bedtime at all. Every figure is the maker's published claim for its own device - none of it is a measurement of ours.

SpecGarmin Venu 4Withings ScanWatch 2Apple Watch Series 12Google Pixel Watch 5Samsung Galaxy Watch9Amazfit Active Max
Published battery lifeUp to 12 days smartwatch mode (45 mm)Up to 30 daysUp to 24 hrs normal use (38 hrs Low Power)Up to 40 hrs (45 mm); up to 30 hrs (41 mm)About a dayUp to 25 days (Amazfit)
Charge timeNot publishedNot publishedAbout 30 min to 80%; 15 min for up to 12 hrsNot publishedNot publishedNot published
ScreenAMOLEDAnalog hands + grayscale PMOLED sub-dialAlways-On Retina OLED, up to 2,000 nitsActua 360 AMOLED LTPO, up to 3,000 nitsSuper AMOLED, up to 3,000 nits1.5 in AMOLED, quoted at 3,000 nits
Heart rhythm checkGarmin ECG AppFDA-cleared ECG app with AFib detection (US)Second-generation electrical heart sensor (ECG app)Google ECG app (US)ECG (US, needs a Galaxy phone)No ECG app listed
Blood oxygenPulse OxOn-demand SpO2 (30-second reading)Blood oxygen sensingSpO2 (red + infrared)SpO2Not published
Skin temperatureNot publishedTempTech24/7 sensorTemperature sensingFar-field skin temperatureSkin temperatureNot published
Subscription for the dataNone - Garmin states Connect features and data remain freeNoneNoneSome Fitbit insights require Google Health PremiumNone (Samsung Health is free)None
Phone requiredNot publishedNot publishediPhone 11 or later on iOS 27 or laterAndroid onlyAndroid 11.0 or above (Samsung)Not published

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Garmin Venu 4

A do-everything AMOLED Garmin with multi-band GPS, ECG and 12-day battery and no subscription — the price is the only thing that stings.

Strengths

  • Up to 12 days of battery in smartwatch mode (45 mm)
  • Garmin ECG App, Pulse Ox and detailed sleep and recovery data
  • Multi-band GPS, an LED flashlight and on-wrist calls

Trade-offs

  • Premium price for a lifestyle smartwatch
  • No onboard offline maps like pricier Garmin models
Battery lifeUp to 12 days smartwatch mode (45 mm)
GPSMulti-band GPS
Heart rate / ECGWrist HR + FDA-cleared ECG App (US)
Blood oxygenPulse Ox (SpO2) — not available in all countries
DisplayAMOLED touchscreen, 41 mm and 45 mm cases
ExtrasBuilt-in LED flashlight; speaker and mic for calls
SubscriptionNone — Garmin Connect is free

Worth knowing. Adds an LED flashlight and a full metal bezel to the Venu line.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Most nights per charge

Withings ScanWatch 2

A classic-looking hybrid watch with medical-grade ECG, AFib detection and a month of battery — you trade a full smart display for elegance.

Strengths

  • Up to 30-day battery life
  • FDA-cleared ECG with AFib detection plus on-demand SpO2
  • Timeless analog design with no subscription needed

Trade-offs

  • Connected GPS only — needs your phone for mapped routes
  • Tiny sub-dial display with limited smart features
Battery lifeUp to 30 days
Heart rate / ECGHR + FDA-cleared ECG app with AFib detection (US)
Blood oxygenOn-demand SpO2 (30-second reading)
Body temperatureTempTech24/7 skin-temperature sensor
DisplayAnalog hands + grayscale PMOLED sub-dial
GPS / subscriptionConnected GPS (via phone); no subscription

Worth knowing. Hybrid analog watch with real hands and a small grayscale OLED sub-dial.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best for iPhone

Apple Watch Series 12

The most sensor-complete watch an iPhone can pair with: ECG, hypertension and sleep apnea notifications, a sleep score and a morning readiness score, on a 24-hour battery that charges fast enough to wear overnight.

Strengths

  • Health Sensing System reads heart rate every five seconds, and Apple states HRV is sampled up to 24 times more often than the previous model
  • ECG app for AFib checks, plus hypertension and sleep apnea notifications and a nightly sleep score
  • 15 minutes on the charger buys up to 12 hours, so a shower is enough to cover a night of sleep tracking

Trade-offs

  • Needs an iPhone 11 or later running iOS 27 - older iPhones cannot pair with it at all
  • 24 hours of normal use still means charging every day, against a week or more from a band or ring
Battery lifeUp to 24 hrs normal use; up to 38 hrs Low Power Mode; up to 10 hrs workout tracking
ChargingUp to 80% in about 30 min; 15 min for up to 12 hrs of normal use
ChipS11, 64-bit dual-core with a 4-core Neural Engine
Heart rate / ECGAlways-on optical heart sensor reading every 5 sec + second-generation electrical heart sensor (ECG app)
HealthHypertension notifications, sleep apnea notifications, sleep score, readiness score, blood oxygen and temperature sensing
DisplayAlways-On Retina wide-angle OLED, LTPO3, up to 2,000 nits
GPSPrecision L1 GPS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS, BeiDou)
Water resistance50m swimproof (ISO 22810:2010), depth gauge to 6 m
RequirementsiPhone 11 or later, including iPhone SE (2nd generation or later), with iOS 27 or later

Worth knowing. 42 mm and 46 mm aluminum or titanium cases (43 mm and 47 mm in ceramic), announced September 2026.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Most detailed on Android

Google Pixel Watch 5

The Wear OS watch that finally stopped being a one-day watch: up to 40 hours on the 45 mm, with Fitbit's deepest sleep and health tracking.

Strengths

  • Up to 40 hrs on the 45 mm (30 hrs on the 41 mm) with the display always on
  • Google ECG app, SpO2 and far-field skin temperature sensing
  • Domed Actua 360 AMOLED at up to 3,000 nits

Trade-offs

  • Android-only, and some insights still require Fitbit Premium
  • Priced above the Wear OS competition
Battery life45mm: up to 40 hrs (72 hrs Battery Saver); 41mm: up to 30 hrs (48 hrs)
Battery465 mAh (45mm) / 332 mAh (41mm)
GPSDual-frequency GPS, Galileo, GLONASS
Heart rate / ECGMulti-path optical HR + Google ECG app (US)
Blood oxygen / tempSpO2 (red + infrared) + far-field skin temperature
DisplayActua 360 AMOLED LTPO, up to 3,000 nits
Water resistance5 ATM + IP68
PlatformWear OS 7; Fitbit metrics (some need Premium)

Worth knowing. Domed Actua 360 display in 41 mm and 45 mm, with 64 GB of storage.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best for Galaxy phones

Samsung Galaxy Watch9

The most complete Wear OS watch: a 3,000-nit screen, dual-band GPS and Samsung's full sensor stack — still about a day of battery, and ECG needs a Galaxy phone.

Strengths

  • Dual-frequency (L1+L5) built-in GPS
  • ECG, SpO2, skin temperature and BIA body composition
  • 3,000-nit Super AMOLED on Wear OS 7 / One UI 9 Watch

Trade-offs

  • Roughly one-day battery life
  • ECG requires a paired Samsung Galaxy phone (blood pressure unavailable in the US)
Battery390 mAh (40mm) / 445 mAh (44mm) — about a day
GPSBuilt-in dual-frequency GPS (L1+L5)
Heart rate / ECGBioActive sensor + ECG (US, needs Galaxy phone)
Blood oxygen / tempSpO2 + skin temperature
DisplaySuper AMOLED, up to 3,000 nits peak
Water resistance5 ATM + IP68 (MIL-STD-810H)
PlatformWear OS 7 / One UI 9 Watch

Worth knowing. Cushion-shaped case in 40 mm and 44 mm, on the Snapdragon Wear Elite platform.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best budget

Amazfit Active Max

Close to a month of battery, real built-in positioning and offline maps for well under $200 — the trade is Amazfit's Zepp software rather than Apple's or Google's.

Strengths

  • Amazfit states up to 25 days of battery — weeks rather than days between charges
  • Built-in positioning across five satellite systems, with free downloadable offline maps
  • 4 GB of onboard storage for music and maps, 170+ workout modes and no subscription

Trade-offs

  • Zepp ecosystem has far fewer third-party apps than Apple, Google or Samsung
  • No ECG app is listed, and hands-free message replies need an Android phone
Battery lifeUp to 25 days (Amazfit)
GPSBuilt-in positioning, five satellite systems
Display1.5 in AMOLED, quoted at 3,000 nits
Storage4 GB for music and downloaded maps
NavigationFree downloadable terrain and ski maps, turn-by-turn
Training170+ workout modes, Zepp Coach plans, BioCharge score
CallsBluetooth calling with built-in speaker and mic
Water resistanceNot published
SubscriptionNone

Specs read from the product listing, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a watch you will actually sleep in

Battery is the sleep spec

Every sleep-tracking feature on every watch here is useless on a night the watch spent on a charger, and a one-day watch has to be charged every single day. In practice that means finding a window — the shower, the commute, the hour after dinner — and never missing it. Miss it and you lose the night, and a sleep trend with holes in it is a much weaker thing than one without.

This is where the two one-day watches diverge. The Apple Watch Series 12 publishes up to 24 hours of normal use, which on paper is the same problem as the Galaxy Watch9 at about a day — but Apple also publishes a charge rate that solves it: about 30 minutes to 80 percent, and 15 minutes for up to 12 hours of normal use. A shower is enough to cover a night. Samsung publishes no equivalent figure we can cite, so on the Galaxy Watch9 the daily charge is a genuine routine rather than a quick top-up.

At the other end, the Withings ScanWatch 2 publishes up to 30 days and the Amazfit Active Max up to 25. Those are watches you charge monthly, which removes the problem entirely. The price is what they are: the Withings is a hybrid with real hands and a small grayscale sub-dial rather than a full smart display, and the Amazfit runs Zepp’s software rather than Apple’s, Google’s or Samsung’s. Both are deliberate trades, not compromises, and for a reader whose priority is the sleep data rather than the smartwatch, both are excellent.

What is in the morning report

All six of these estimate sleep stages and produce a score. The differences are at the edges, and the edges are where the value is. The Apple Watch Series 12 is the most complete sensor package an iPhone can pair with: Apple publishes hypertension notifications, sleep apnea notifications, a nightly sleep score and a morning readiness score, with the optical sensor reading heart rate every five seconds and HRV sampled far more often than the previous model. The Pixel Watch 5 carries Fitbit’s sleep stack, which is the most mature consumer sleep analysis there is, with far-field skin temperature sensing — and the caveat that some insights sit behind Google Health Premium, which Google rebranded from Fitbit Premium.

The Garmin Venu 4 and the Withings ScanWatch 2 take the opposite approach: deep overnight data with nothing paywalled. Withings adds a TempTech24/7 skin-temperature sensor and an FDA-cleared ECG app with AFib detection, in a watch that looks like a watch. Garmin gives you the sleep, HRV and recovery detail its training platform is built on, free. The Galaxy Watch9 has the broadest raw sensor set of any Wear OS watch here — ECG, SpO2, skin temperature and BIA body composition — with two conditions worth knowing: ECG requires a paired Samsung Galaxy phone, and blood pressure is unavailable in the US.

Which phone you own narrows this fast

Platform rules out more of this list than specs do. The Pixel Watch 5 is Android-only, and Google states plainly that iPhones are not supported. Samsung’s own US product page states that the Galaxy Watch8 series and later must be paired with an Android phone and never mentions iOS; its support site is more direct, saying newer models from the Watch4 on are not compatible with iOS. The Apple Watch Series 12 needs an iPhone 11 or later running iOS 27 or later, which also means an older iPhone rules it out. Garmin, Withings and Amazfit work with both platforms. We have mapped the whole iPhone side of this in best fitness trackers for iPhone.

What a wrist sensor can and cannot tell you

Worth stating plainly on a page like this: none of these watches measures sleep the way a sleep study does. They infer sleep and sleep stages from movement, heart rate and heart-rate variability, which is a model rather than a measurement, and the Cleveland Clinic is worth reading on where that model is useful and where it is not. The clinical review we cite reaches a similar place — consumer sleep trackers are reasonable at estimating total sleep time and much weaker at staging it.

That is not an argument against buying one. It is an argument for what to use it for. Trends over weeks are the valuable output: bedtime consistency, total time asleep, how your resting heart rate and HRV drift when you are under load or getting ill. Treat a single night’s stage breakdown as entertainment. And treat sleep apnea notifications for what Apple and the others describe them as — a prompt to see someone, not a diagnosis. If a watch flags something, that is a conversation with a clinician, which is also where any question about your own health belongs.

Comfort, and the light in your face

Two practical points that no spec sheet ranks. A full smartwatch is a hard object worn against a wrist for eight hours, and on a 44 or 46 mm case with a metal link bracelet it is the reason many people give up on wearing one at night. Fit a soft band before you decide the watch is the problem. The Withings, being a slim hybrid, is the least intrusive of the six to sleep in.

The other is brightness. The Galaxy Watch9, the Pixel Watch 5 and the Amazfit all publish peak brightness figures around 3,000 nits, and the Apple Watch runs an always-on display. That is wonderful outdoors and unhelpful at 3 am. Every one of these platforms has a sleep or bedtime mode that dims the screen and suppresses notifications; turn it on before the first night, not after it wakes you.

If the watch is the wrong device

Be honest about whether you want a watch at all. If the appeal is the sleep data rather than the smartwatch, a ring or a dedicated band does it better: they are lighter, they last longer, and they are designed for the one job. The Garmin Index Sleep Monitor runs up to seven nights on the upper arm with no screen at all, and the RingConn Gen 2 publishes 10 to 12 days with no subscription. We rank those in best sleep tracker bands, best smart rings and — on price rather than form factor — best sleep trackers without a subscription.

Wellness guidance, not medical advice. Pulse & Plate is written by a fitness enthusiast, not a doctor. Wearable heart-rate, SpO2, ECG and sleep readings are for general wellness, not diagnosis. For a heart concern, a symptom, or before starting a new exercise program, talk to a qualified professional.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best smartwatch for sleep tracking?

On published specs, the Garmin Venu 4 - because it combines up to 12 days of battery on the 45 mm with sleep, HRV and recovery data that is not paywalled; Garmin states all existing features and data in Garmin Connect remain free. If battery alone is your priority, the Withings ScanWatch 2 publishes up to 30 days and the Amazfit Active Max up to 25. If you want the broadest health sensor set and own an iPhone, the Apple Watch Series 12.

Can you sleep with an Apple Watch and still charge it?

Yes, and Apple publishes the figures that make it workable: up to 24 hours of normal use, about 30 minutes to 80%, and 15 minutes on the charger for up to 12 hours of normal use. A shower is enough to cover a night of sleep tracking. It still means building a daily charging habit, which is the fundamental difference between a one-day watch and a twelve-day one.

Which sleep-tracking watches need a subscription?

Of these six, only the Pixel Watch 5 - some Fitbit insights sit behind Google Health Premium, which Google rebranded from Fitbit Premium. Garmin states that all existing Garmin Connect features and data remain free, with Connect+ as an optional extra tier. Samsung Health is free, Withings' app subscriptions are for extras rather than reading your own data, and Amazfit lists no subscription.

How long does a sleep-tracking smartwatch battery need to last?

Long enough that you never choose between wearing it at night and having it charged in the morning. In practice, anything over about a week removes the decision: the Withings ScanWatch 2 at up to 30 days, the Amazfit Active Max at up to 25 and the Garmin Venu 4 at up to 12 all qualify. The 40-hour Pixel Watch 5 is workable with an every-other-day habit; the one-day Galaxy Watch9 and Apple Watch Series 12 require a daily one.

Are smartwatch sleep stages accurate?

Treat them as estimates. These watches infer sleep and stages from movement, heart rate and heart-rate variability rather than measuring brain activity the way a sleep study does, and the clinical review we cite finds consumer devices reasonable at total sleep time and considerably weaker at staging. The useful output is the trend over weeks - bedtime consistency, total sleep, resting heart rate and HRV drift - not any single night's pie chart.

Will a sleep-tracking watch detect sleep apnea?

Some publish a notification feature - Apple lists sleep apnea notifications on the Series 12 - and that is what it is: a prompt to go and get assessed, not a diagnosis. We are a fitness publisher rather than a clinical one and cannot tell you what any alert means for you. If a watch flags something, or if you snore heavily and wake unrefreshed, that is a conversation with a doctor.

Does the screen brightness keep you awake?

It can, and it is worth setting up on night one. The Galaxy Watch9, Pixel Watch 5 and Amazfit Active Max all publish peak brightness around 3,000 nits, and the Apple Watch has an always-on display. Every platform here has a sleep or bedtime mode that dims the screen and silences notifications - enable it before you wear the watch to bed rather than after it has woken you.

Is a ring or band better than a watch for sleep?

For sleep alone, usually yes: rings and dedicated sleep bands are lighter, last longer and are built for the single job. The Garmin Index Sleep Monitor publishes up to seven nights on the upper arm with no screen, and the RingConn Gen 2 publishes 10 to 12 days with no subscription. A watch wins when you want one device for training, notifications, payments and sleep rather than two.

Will any of these work with my phone?

Check before you buy, because two of them will not. Google states iPhones are not supported by the Pixel Watch; Samsung's own support site says models from the Galaxy Watch4 on are not compatible with iOS; and the Apple Watch Series 12 requires an iPhone 11 or later running iOS 27 or later, so an older iPhone rules it out too. The Garmin Venu 4, Withings ScanWatch 2 and Amazfit Active Max work with both platforms.

Sources

  • Cleveland Clinic — Do Sleep Trackers Help You Achieve Better Sleep? — Cleveland Clinic on the real limits of consumer sleep tracking (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Apps and fitness trackers that measure sleep: Are they useful? (Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine) — Clinical review of consumer sleep-tracking validity (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Garmin — Garmin Connect+ announcement — Optional paid tier; “all existing features and data in Garmin Connect will remain free” (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Google — Google Health Premium (formerly Fitbit Premium) — Fitbit Premium rebranded to Google Health Premium; deeper coaching sits behind the paid tier (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Apple — Apple Watch Series 12 — Apple's own wording for the health features and their limits: hypertension notifications ('Series 12 can notify you if it identifies patterns of hypertension', not intended for people under 22, already diagnosed or pregnant); sleep apnea notifications (Series 9 and later, Ultra 2 and later, and SE 3); a nightly sleep score; a morning readiness score from recent activity, vitals and sleep; and the ECG app, which the footnotes limit to Series 4 and later and exclude on every SE model (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple — Apple Watch Series 12 technical specifications — S11 chip; Always-On Retina wide-angle OLED with LTPO3 at up to 2,000 nits; second-generation electrical heart sensor with the ECG app, always-on optical heart sensor, blood oxygen sensor and temperature sensor; Precision L1 GPS across GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS and BeiDou; 50 m swimproof to ISO 22810:2010 with a depth gauge to 6 m; up to 24 hours of normal use, up to 38 in Low Power Mode and up to 10 hours of workout tracking; up to 80% in about 30 minutes and 15 minutes for up to 12 hours; system requirement stated as 'iPhone 11 or later, including iPhone SE (2nd generation or later), with iOS 27 or later' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple App Store — Withings — Read here because support.withings.com and withings.com both return 403 to our fetcher: the Withings (Health Mate) app is free with in-app purchases, 'Requires iOS 18.0 or later', and offers to 'Connect your health apps like Apple Health, Strava, MyFitnessPal, and more'. The listed subscriptions are Withings+ and a paid cardiologist ECG review - neither is needed to read your own data (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Samsung (US) — Galaxy Watch8 — Samsung's own US product page states 'Galaxy Watch8 Series or later must be paired with a smartphone with Android 11.0 or above and minimum 1.5 gigabyte Memory', and never mentions iOS or iPhone anywhere on the page (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Samsung — Samsung smart watch and phone compatibility — Samsung's support site says it outright: certain iPhones (iPhone 5 or later, iOS 9 or higher) pair with the older Galaxy Watch, Galaxy Watch Active and Gear series, 'but newer models like the Galaxy Watch4 and later are not compatible with iOS'. Read on Samsung's regional English support site; the US product pages state the Android requirement without naming iOS (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — Phones that work with your Google Pixel Watch — Android floors per generation (8.0 for the original Pixel Watch up to 12.0 for the Pixel Watch 5) and, in Google's own words, 'iPhones aren't supported' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Amazfit — Active Max support documentation (US) — Amazfit's own requirement for the Active Max: 'The operating system of your mobile phone must be Android 7.0 or iOS 14.0, or later.' The page says nothing about Apple Health, which is documented separately for the Zepp app (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Garmin — Venu 4 Series owner's manual: Enabling Phone Notifications — Garmin's own manual splits setup by platform - on an iPhone you choose which notifications appear in the iOS notification settings, on Android in the Garmin Connect app - and marks both the text-message reply and the message signature 'available only for compatible Android phones' (accessed October 3, 2026)

Keep reading