Pulse & Plate

Best Fitness Trackers for iPhone

Which trackers actually pair with an iPhone, which iOS version each companion app demands, what reaches Apple Health - and the two big brands that will not work with your phone at all.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

Most “best fitness tracker” lists quietly assume you carry an Android phone. On an iPhone the field is smaller than it looks, because two of the biggest names in wearables will not pair with your phone at all. Samsung’s own support site states that newer models “like the Galaxy Watch4 and later are not compatible with iOS”, and its US Galaxy Watch8 page lists an Android 11 phone as a requirement without mentioning iPhones anywhere. Google is blunter: its Pixel Watch help page says “iPhones aren’t supported.” That removes every Galaxy Watch, every Galaxy Fit band and every Pixel Watch from the shortlist before a single sensor gets compared.

What is left splits four ways, and none of the four is step-count accuracy. Will it pair at all? What iOS version does its companion app demand — because the floor is set by the app, not the watch? Does the data land in Apple Health, where the rest of your iPhone can read it? And what does iOS take away, which is mostly the ability to answer a message from your wrist. The Apple Watch Series 12 wins on all four for the obvious reason: it is built for exactly one phone. The Apple Watch SE 3 is the cheaper way into the same integration if you can live without ECG. The Fitbit Charge 6 is the pick for anyone who wants a week of battery, two-way Apple Health sync and the lowest iPhone requirement in the set after Amazfit, and the Garmin Venu 4is the one to buy for real training data with no subscription — as long as your iPhone is current, because Garmin Connect demands a newer iOS than any other app here. An Oura Ring 5, an Amazfit Active Max and a Withings ScanWatch 2 close the list for people who want a ring, a month of battery on a budget, or a watch that looks like a watch.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Apple Watch Series 12

Apple Watch Series 12

The most sensor-complete watch an iPhone can pair with: ECG, hypertension and sleep apnea notifications, a sleep score and a morning readiness score, on a 24-hour battery that charges fast enough to wear overnight.

Best overall for iPhone
$399.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Apple Watch SE 3

Apple Watch SE 3

The cheapest way into watchOS finally gets an always-on screen, sleep apnea alerts and fast charging — it still leaves out ECG and blood oxygen.

Best value watchOS
$201.58 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Fitbit Charge 6

Fitbit Charge 6

The most feature-complete fitness band you can buy, with built-in GPS, ECG and Google apps, but the deepest insights sit behind Fitbit Premium.

Best band for iPhone
$132.50 · View on Amazon

$159.9517% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Garmin Venu 4

Garmin Venu 4

A do-everything AMOLED Garmin with multi-band GPS, ECG and 12-day battery and no subscription — the price is the only thing that stings.

Best for training data
$549.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Oura Ring 5

Oura Ring 5

Oura shrank the ring by 40% without losing the week of battery — the sleep and recovery data is still the best here, and still behind a membership.

Best screenless option
$399.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Amazfit Active Max

Amazfit Active Max

Close to a month of battery, real built-in positioning and offline maps for well under $200 — the trade is Amazfit's Zepp software rather than Apple's or Google's.

Best battery on a budget
$169.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

7

Withings ScanWatch 2

A classic-looking hybrid watch with medical-grade ECG, AFib detection and a month of battery — you trade a full smart display for elegance.

Best for a classic watch look

The seven on what decides it on an iPhone

Minimum iPhone requirement is the stricter of the device maker's own figure and the published iOS floor of the companion app the device cannot work without - Apple's compatibility table for the two watches, and each app's App Store listing for the rest. Battery figures are each maker's own claim, not a measurement of ours. The reply row is the one most buyers discover after the purchase.

SpecApple Watch Series 12Apple Watch SE 3Fitbit Charge 6Garmin Venu 4Oura Ring 5Amazfit Active MaxWithings ScanWatch 2
Form factorSmartwatch (watchOS)Smartwatch (watchOS)Wrist bandSmartwatchRing, no screenSmartwatchHybrid analog watch
Minimum iPhone requirementiPhone 11 or later, iOS 27 or lateriPhone 11 or later, iOS 26 or lateriOS 16.4 or later (Google Health app)iOS 18.2 or later (Garmin Connect app)iOS 16.0 or later (Oura app)iOS 15.0 or later (Zepp app)iOS 18.0 or later (Withings app)
Apple HealthNative - it is the Health app's own watchNative - it is the Health app's own watchTwo-way with Google Health; reads 3 months of historyGarmin offers to sync with Apple HealthYes, iOS only, and only with an active membershipZepp app syncs to Apple HealthWithings app connects to Apple Health
Reply to a text from the wristYesYesNo - Google states quick replies are Android onlyNo - Garmin states the feature is Android onlyNo display, so no notifications at allNo - Amazfit's iOS workaround excludes this modelNo reply function on the sub-dial
Battery per charge (maker claim)Up to 24 hrs (38 in Low Power Mode)Up to 18 hrs (32 in Low Power Mode)Up to 7 daysUp to 12 days (45 mm)Typically 6-9 daysUp to 25 daysUp to 30 days
ECG on the wristYes - ECG appNo - not on any SE modelYes - FDA-cleared ECG app (US)Yes - Garmin ECG App (US)NoNo ECG app is listedYes - FDA-cleared, with AFib detection
Subscription for the full dataNoneNoneFitbit Premium for the full insightsNoneOura Membership requiredNoneNone

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall for iPhone

Apple Watch Series 12

The most sensor-complete watch an iPhone can pair with: ECG, hypertension and sleep apnea notifications, a sleep score and a morning readiness score, on a 24-hour battery that charges fast enough to wear overnight.

Strengths

  • Health Sensing System reads heart rate every five seconds, and Apple states HRV is sampled up to 24 times more often than the previous model
  • ECG app for AFib checks, plus hypertension and sleep apnea notifications and a nightly sleep score
  • 15 minutes on the charger buys up to 12 hours, so a shower is enough to cover a night of sleep tracking

Trade-offs

  • Needs an iPhone 11 or later running iOS 27 - older iPhones cannot pair with it at all
  • 24 hours of normal use still means charging every day, against a week or more from a band or ring
Battery lifeUp to 24 hrs normal use; up to 38 hrs Low Power Mode; up to 10 hrs workout tracking
ChargingUp to 80% in about 30 min; 15 min for up to 12 hrs of normal use
ChipS11, 64-bit dual-core with a 4-core Neural Engine
Heart rate / ECGAlways-on optical heart sensor reading every 5 sec + second-generation electrical heart sensor (ECG app)
HealthHypertension notifications, sleep apnea notifications, sleep score, readiness score, blood oxygen and temperature sensing
DisplayAlways-On Retina wide-angle OLED, LTPO3, up to 2,000 nits
GPSPrecision L1 GPS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS, BeiDou)
Water resistance50m swimproof (ISO 22810:2010), depth gauge to 6 m
RequirementsiPhone 11 or later, including iPhone SE (2nd generation or later), with iOS 27 or later

Worth knowing. 42 mm and 46 mm aluminum or titanium cases (43 mm and 47 mm in ceramic), announced September 2026.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best value watchOS

Apple Watch SE 3

The cheapest way into watchOS finally gets an always-on screen, sleep apnea alerts and fast charging — it still leaves out ECG and blood oxygen.

Strengths

  • Always-on Retina display, new to the SE tier
  • Sleep apnea notifications plus wrist temperature sensing
  • Fast charging — up to 80% in about 45 minutes

Trade-offs

  • Still no ECG app and no blood-oxygen sensor
  • About 18-hour battery, and it needs an iPhone
Battery lifeUp to 18 hrs (up to 32 hrs Low Power Mode)
ChargingUp to 80% in about 45 min
GPSBuilt-in L1 GPS
Heart rateSecond-generation optical heart sensor
ECG / SpO2Not available on SE
HealthSleep apnea notifications + wrist temperature sensing
DisplayAlways-On Retina OLED, up to 1000 nits
RequirementsRequires iPhone; 50m swimproof (WR50)

Worth knowing. The first SE with an always-on display, in 40 mm and 44 mm cases.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best band for iPhone

Fitbit Charge 6

The most feature-complete fitness band you can buy, with built-in GPS, ECG and Google apps, but the deepest insights sit behind Fitbit Premium.

Strengths

  • Built-in GPS maps runs and rides without your phone
  • FDA-cleared ECG app plus SpO2, EDA stress and 24/7 heart rate
  • Google Maps, Google Wallet and YouTube Music controls on the wrist

Trade-offs

  • Full sleep and health analytics require a paid Fitbit Premium subscription
  • Small band display limits on-device workout detail
Battery lifeUp to 7 days
GPSBuilt-in GPS
Heart rate / ECG24/7 optical HR + FDA-cleared ECG app (US)
Blood oxygenSpO2 monitoring
Water resistance50m (5 ATM)
SubscriptionFitbit Premium for full insights (6-mo trial included)

Worth knowing. Slim tracker with a bright color AMOLED touchscreen and a haptic side button.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best for training data

Garmin Venu 4

A do-everything AMOLED Garmin with multi-band GPS, ECG and 12-day battery and no subscription — the price is the only thing that stings.

Strengths

  • Up to 12 days of battery in smartwatch mode (45 mm)
  • Garmin ECG App, Pulse Ox and detailed sleep and recovery data
  • Multi-band GPS, an LED flashlight and on-wrist calls

Trade-offs

  • Premium price for a lifestyle smartwatch
  • No onboard offline maps like pricier Garmin models
Battery lifeUp to 12 days smartwatch mode (45 mm)
GPSMulti-band GPS
Heart rate / ECGWrist HR + FDA-cleared ECG App (US)
Blood oxygenPulse Ox (SpO2) — not available in all countries
DisplayAMOLED touchscreen, 41 mm and 45 mm cases
ExtrasBuilt-in LED flashlight; speaker and mic for calls
SubscriptionNone — Garmin Connect is free

Worth knowing. Adds an LED flashlight and a full metal bezel to the Venu line.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best screenless option

Oura Ring 5

Oura shrank the ring by 40% without losing the week of battery — the sleep and recovery data is still the best here, and still behind a membership.

Strengths

  • Class-leading sleep, readiness and recovery tracking
  • 2.28 mm thick and 6.09 mm wide — the smallest ring Oura has made
  • Typically 6–9 days per charge, and about 80 minutes to refill

Trade-offs

  • Requires a paid monthly Oura membership for full insights
  • No display and no built-in GPS
Battery lifeTypically 6–9 days; about 80 min to charge
SensorsRed, green and infrared LEDs + digital temperature sensor
Dimensions2.28 mm thick, 6.09 mm wide
GPS / displayNone (screen-free ring)
Water resistance100m — sauna and water sports, not diving
Sizes6–13
SubscriptionOura Membership required for full insights

Worth knowing. Full titanium inside and out with a superhard PVD coating, 40% smaller than Ring 4.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best battery on a budget

Amazfit Active Max

Close to a month of battery, real built-in positioning and offline maps for well under $200 — the trade is Amazfit's Zepp software rather than Apple's or Google's.

Strengths

  • Amazfit states up to 25 days of battery — weeks rather than days between charges
  • Built-in positioning across five satellite systems, with free downloadable offline maps
  • 4 GB of onboard storage for music and maps, 170+ workout modes and no subscription

Trade-offs

  • Zepp ecosystem has far fewer third-party apps than Apple, Google or Samsung
  • No ECG app is listed, and hands-free message replies need an Android phone
Battery lifeUp to 25 days (Amazfit)
GPSBuilt-in positioning, five satellite systems
Display1.5 in AMOLED, quoted at 3,000 nits
Storage4 GB for music and downloaded maps
NavigationFree downloadable terrain and ski maps, turn-by-turn
Training170+ workout modes, Zepp Coach plans, BioCharge score
CallsBluetooth calling with built-in speaker and mic
Water resistanceNot published
SubscriptionNone

Specs read from the product listing, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#7Best for a classic watch look

Withings ScanWatch 2

A classic-looking hybrid watch with medical-grade ECG, AFib detection and a month of battery — you trade a full smart display for elegance.

Strengths

  • Up to 30-day battery life
  • FDA-cleared ECG with AFib detection plus on-demand SpO2
  • Timeless analog design with no subscription needed

Trade-offs

  • Connected GPS only — needs your phone for mapped routes
  • Tiny sub-dial display with limited smart features
Battery lifeUp to 30 days
Heart rate / ECGHR + FDA-cleared ECG app with AFib detection (US)
Blood oxygenOn-demand SpO2 (30-second reading)
Body temperatureTempTech24/7 skin-temperature sensor
DisplayAnalog hands + grayscale PMOLED sub-dial
GPS / subscriptionConnected GPS (via phone); no subscription

Worth knowing. Hybrid analog watch with real hands and a small grayscale OLED sub-dial.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we ranked trackers for an iPhone

Compatibility is not a yes-or-no question on iOS. It has four layers, and we ranked in that order, because a device that fails an early layer cannot be rescued by anything further down.

1. Will it pair with your phone at all

Two brands are simply out. Samsung’s support documentation says certain older iPhones can pair with the original Galaxy Watch, the Galaxy Watch Active and the Gear series, “but newer models like the Galaxy Watch4 and later are not compatible with iOS” — which is every Galaxy Watch Samsung currently sells. Google’s Pixel Watch support page lists an Android version floor for each generation, from Android 8.0 for the first Pixel Watch to Android 12.0 for the Pixel Watch 5, and then states plainly that “iPhones aren’t supported.” Samsung’s Galaxy Fit3 band is Android-only too.

The Apple Watch has the same restriction pointing the other way, and it is worth being precise about it: every single row of Apple’s compatibility table names an iPhone. Series 12 and Ultra 4 need an iPhone 11 or later running iOS 27 or later; Series 11, SE 3 and Ultra 3 need an iPhone 11 or later on iOS 26 or later. An Apple Watch is not a tracker you keep when you switch phones. Everything else on this page — Fitbit, Garmin, Oura, Amazfit, Withings — is cross-platform, which is the quiet argument for buying one of them if you are not certain you will still be on an iPhone in three years.

2. What iOS version the app demands — and it is the app, not the device

This is the layer nobody checks, and it is where the surprises live. A tracker is useless without its companion app, so the real requirement is whichever is stricter: the hardware’s own floor, or the app’s. The published floors are further apart than you would guess. The Zepp app that every Amazfit watch pairs with runs on iOS 15.0 or later. The Oura app needs iOS 16.0. Google Health, the renamed Fitbit app, needs iOS 16.4. Then it jumps: the Withings app needs iOS 18.0, and Garmin Connect needs iOS 18.2— the highest floor of any app here, higher than some iPhones still in daily use can reach.

Put that next to Apple’s own requirement and a clear rule falls out. If your iPhone cannot run iOS 26, no current Apple Watch will pair with it, and neither Garmin nor Withings will either. The Fitbit Charge 6, the Oura Ring 5 and the Amazfit Active Max all still work. That is the opposite of the usual assumption that the Apple device is the safe choice on an Apple phone. One honest wrinkle: Amazfit publishes two different numbers — the Active Max support page says “Android 7.0 or iOS 14.0, or later”, while the Zepp app’s App Store listing requires iOS 15.0. We use the higher of the two, because the app is the thing you actually have to install.

3. Whether the data reaches Apple Health

On an iPhone, Apple Health is where your workouts, sleep and heart data get to be useful to something other than the app that recorded them. Both Apple Watches are native to it. Google Health is the most thoroughly documented of the rest: Google states the connection runs bothways, pulling in Apple Watch, iPhone and iPad data and pushing Fitbit fitness, vitals, sleep sessions and stages, body measurements, nutrition, cycle and mindfulness data back out, reading three months of Apple Health history when you first connect it. Garmin Connect offers to “sync with other apps like Apple Health, MyFitnessPal and Strava” in its own App Store description, and the Withings app offers to “connect your health apps like Apple Health”.

Two caveats are worth more than the rest of this section. Oura publishes that its Apple Health integration is iOS only andrequires an active membership on Gen3 or later — so the bridge into Apple Health is part of what the subscription buys, and it goes away with the subscription. And Amazfit documents Apple Health sync for the Zepp app generally (“the watch data can be synced to Strava /Apple Health/Google Fit/Relive”) but says nothing about it on the Active Max’s own support page; we report it as app-level behavior rather than a per-model promise, because that is how Amazfit publishes it.

4. What the iPhone takes away

Here is the single thing most buyers discover a week after the purchase. On an iPhone, no third-party wearable can answer a message from your wrist, and three makers say so in their own documentation. Garmin’s Venu 4 manual marks both the text-message reply and the message signature as “available only for compatible Android phones”. Google states its quick replies are “currently available on devices paired to an Android phone”, and that an iPhone-paired Fitbit can only respond to Google Health app notifications — cheers, taunts and friend requests, not texts. Amazfit states the underlying rule most plainly of all: “Apple doesn’t allow third-party wearables to reply directly to notifications.” Amazfit’s documented workaround routes chat apps through a third-party service and only covers the Balance, Cheetah 2 Pro, T-Rex series, Active 3+ and Bip 6 — not the Active Max.

The second, smaller difference is where notifications get configured. Garmin’s manual splits the instructions: on Android you choose which apps notify you inside Garmin Connect, while on an iPhone you do it in the iOS notification settings. The practical effect is that a non-Apple wearable on an iPhone is a read-only notification screen. If answering a text from your wrist matters to you, that is a reason to buy an Apple Watch, and it is a better reason than any sensor on the spec sheet.

5. Battery, and the daily-charge tax

Every figure in the battery row is the manufacturer’s own claim; we own no units and have measured nothing. The spread is the whole trade-off of this category. Apple quotes up to 24 hours of normal use for the Series 12 and about 18 for the SE 3, against up to 7 days for the Charge 6, up to 12 for the Venu 4, 6 to 9 for the Oura Ring 5, up to 25 for the Active Max and up to 30 for the ScanWatch 2. A watch you charge daily is a watch that is on the charger at bedtime, which is why so many people with an Apple Watch do not get sleep data from it. Apple’s answer is charge speed rather than capacity: the Series 12 reaches about 80% in 30 minutes, and 15 minutes on the charger buys up to 12 hours of normal use — a shower is enough to cover a night. If that routine sounds like a chore, buy something from the week-or-more column and read our sleep tracker band roundup instead.

What not to buy if you own an iPhone

It is worth naming these explicitly, because they are among the most-recommended wearables on the internet and none of them will work with your phone:

  • Any Samsung Galaxy Watch from the Watch4 onward, including the current models. Samsung’s US page requires an Android 11 phone, and its support site states the incompatibility outright. Our Apple Watch vs Galaxy Watch comparison walks through what the Samsung side gives up and gains.
  • Any Google Pixel Watch, first generation through the Pixel Watch 5. Google’s own help page states that iPhones are not supported, and the setup app is Android-only.
  • The Samsung Galaxy Fit3 band, which is Android-only even though it is one of the better cheap sleep bands otherwise.
  • Anything sold with “works with all smartphones” as its only compatibility claim.Check which app it needs, then check that app’s iOS requirement in the App Store. That is the number that decides it.

If your iPhone is a few years old

This is where the ranking changes shape. An iPhone that cannot be updated to iOS 26 rules out every Apple Watch Apple currently sells, and an iPhone below iOS 18.2 rules out Garmin and, below iOS 18.0, Withings. What is left and documented as working lower down: the Amazfit Active Max (Zepp, iOS 15.0), the Oura Ring 5 (iOS 16.0) and the Fitbit Charge 6 (Google Health, iOS 16.4). Of those three, the Charge 6 is the one we would point most people at — it has built-in GPS, an FDA-cleared ECG app in the US, a week of battery and the best-documented two-way Apple Health connection of any non-Apple device here. Its honest cost is that Fitbit keeps the deeper sleep and health analysis behind Fitbit Premium, which is the trade we flag on every Fitbit pick across the site.

An Apple Watch, or something that is not a watch?

If you want one device for workouts, notifications, replies, GPS and health sensors, and you will charge it every day, buy the Apple Watch; the integration is real and nothing else on an iPhone comes close to it. If what you actually want is night-time data and a battery you forget about, a ring or a band is the better buy, and the Apple Watch’s advantages mostly evaporate. The smart rings roundup covers the ring option against itself, and the main fitness tracker roundup ranks the whole field on sensors and battery without the platform filter this page applies. If you are weighing the two ecosystems rather than two products, the Apple Watch vs Garmin comparisonis the one to read next — it is the same argument as our Garmin pick here, at more length.

What this data is good for, and what it is not

Three devices on this page carry an FDA-cleared ECG feature in the US, and Apple’s hypertension and sleep apnea notifications are regulated features with published limits — Apple states hypertension notifications are not intended for people under 22, people already diagnosed with hypertension, or pregnant people, and that sleep apnea notifications are available on Series 9 and later, Ultra 2 and later, and the SE 3. None of that makes any of these a diagnostic device. Readiness and sleep scores are directional: useful for noticing that your resting heart rate has drifted across a hard month, much weaker as an account of any single night. Treat a heart-rhythm, breathing or blood-pressure flag as a reason to talk to a doctor, not as a result.

Wellness guidance, not medical advice. Pulse & Plate is written by a fitness enthusiast, not a doctor. Wearable heart-rate, SpO2, ECG and sleep readings are for general wellness, not diagnosis. For a heart concern, a symptom, or before starting a new exercise program, talk to a qualified professional.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best fitness tracker for an iPhone?

The Apple Watch Series 12, because it is the only category of device here built for exactly one phone: ECG, hypertension and sleep apnea notifications, a nightly sleep score and a morning readiness score, all native to Apple Health, plus the ability to actually answer a message from your wrist. If you do not want to charge a watch every day, the Fitbit Charge 6 is the better buy - a week of battery, built-in GPS and the best-documented two-way Apple Health sync of any non-Apple device.

Do Fitbit trackers work with an iPhone?

Yes. The Fitbit app is now called Google Health, and Google states it needs an iPhone running iOS 16.4 or higher plus a Google Account. It also connects to Apple Health in both directions, reading three months of your Apple Health history when you first link them. The one thing you lose on an iPhone is quick replies: Google states those are available only on devices paired to an Android phone, and an iPhone-paired Fitbit can only respond to Google Health app notifications.

Does a Samsung Galaxy Watch work with an iPhone?

No. Samsung's support site states that newer models like the Galaxy Watch4 and later are not compatible with iOS, and Samsung's US Galaxy Watch8 page requires pairing with an Android 11 phone. Only the much older Galaxy Watch, Galaxy Watch Active and Gear models ever supported iPhones. The Galaxy Fit3 band is Android-only as well.

Does the Google Pixel Watch work with an iPhone?

No. Google's Pixel Watch support page lists an Android requirement for every generation - Android 8.0 for the original up to Android 12.0 for the Pixel Watch 5 - and states that iPhones are not supported. The setup app is only on the Play Store.

Can a Garmin watch reply to texts on an iPhone?

No. Garmin's own Venu 4 manual marks both the text-message reply and the message signature as available only for compatible Android phones. You can read and dismiss notifications on an iPhone, and you choose which apps notify you in the iOS notification settings rather than in Garmin Connect. Amazfit states the underlying rule directly: Apple does not allow third-party wearables to reply to notifications.

Which fitness trackers sync with Apple Health?

Apple Watch is native to it. Google Health (Fitbit) documents a two-way connection. Garmin Connect's App Store listing offers to sync with Apple Health, as does the Withings app, and Amazfit's documentation says Zepp app data can be synced to Apple Health. Oura is the one with a condition attached: its Apple Health integration is iOS only and needs an active Oura membership on Gen3 or later.

What is the best fitness tracker for an older iPhone?

Check the companion app's iOS requirement, not the device's marketing. The published floors are Zepp (Amazfit) at iOS 15.0, Oura at 16.0, Google Health (Fitbit) at 16.4, the Withings app at 18.0 and Garmin Connect at 18.2 - and every current Apple Watch needs an iPhone 11 or later on iOS 26 or later. On an iPhone that cannot reach iOS 26, the Fitbit Charge 6, Oura Ring 5 and Amazfit Active Max still work; the Apple Watch, Garmin and Withings do not.

Do I need an Apple Watch if I have an iPhone?

No, and for some people it is the wrong buy. An Apple Watch gives you the deepest integration, on-wrist replies and the most regulated health features, but it needs charging daily and it is the one device here you cannot keep if you ever switch to Android. A band, a ring or a long-battery watch runs for a week to a month and still feeds Apple Health. Buy the watch for integration; buy the band or ring for sleep data and a battery you ignore.

Does the Apple Watch SE 3 do ECG?

No. Apple's footnotes state the ECG app is available on Series 4 and later, excluding every SE model, so the SE 3 has no ECG and no blood-oxygen sensor. It does carry sleep apnea notifications, wrist temperature sensing and an always-on display. If an ECG on the wrist is the reason you are buying, the Series 12, the Fitbit Charge 6 and the Withings ScanWatch 2 all have an FDA-cleared ECG feature in the US at three very different prices.

Sources

  • Apple — Apple Watch and iPhone compatibility — Apple's per-model requirement table. Series 12 and Ultra 4 need an iPhone 11 or later with iOS 27 or later; Series 11, SE 3 and Ultra 3 need an iPhone 11 or later with iOS 26 or later; Series 10 and Ultra 2 need an iPhone XS or later. Every row names an iPhone, so no Apple Watch pairs with anything else (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple — Apple Watch Series 12 technical specifications — S11 chip; Always-On Retina wide-angle OLED with LTPO3 at up to 2,000 nits; second-generation electrical heart sensor with the ECG app, always-on optical heart sensor, blood oxygen sensor and temperature sensor; Precision L1 GPS across GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, QZSS and BeiDou; 50 m swimproof to ISO 22810:2010 with a depth gauge to 6 m; up to 24 hours of normal use, up to 38 in Low Power Mode and up to 10 hours of workout tracking; up to 80% in about 30 minutes and 15 minutes for up to 12 hours; system requirement stated as 'iPhone 11 or later, including iPhone SE (2nd generation or later), with iOS 27 or later' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple — Apple Watch Series 12 — Apple's own wording for the health features and their limits: hypertension notifications ('Series 12 can notify you if it identifies patterns of hypertension', not intended for people under 22, already diagnosed or pregnant); sleep apnea notifications (Series 9 and later, Ultra 2 and later, and SE 3); a nightly sleep score; a morning readiness score from recent activity, vitals and sleep; and the ECG app, which the footnotes limit to Series 4 and later and exclude on every SE model (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple Newsroom — Introducing Apple Watch Series 12, with the all-new Health Sensing System (September 2026) — Larger power-efficient green LEDs on the optical heart sensor measure heart rate every five seconds, and Apple states HRV is measured up to 24 times more frequently than the previous model; adds a Readiness Score, a daytime Vitals view and a steps complication; pre-orders September 9, 2026 and in stores September 18, 2026 (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — Google Health (Fitbit) setup requirements — The app a Fitbit needs states its own floor: 'An iPhone with iOS 16.4 or higher' or 'An Android phone with Android 11 or higher', plus a Google Account requirement for former Fitbit-account users (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — How do I use Apple Health with the Google Health app? — Two-way: Google Health can bring in data from Apple Watch, iPhone and iPad health apps and share its own data back to Apple Health, across fitness, vitals, sleep sessions and stages, body measurements, nutrition, cycle health and mindfulness. It reads three months of Apple Health history, and needs iOS 16.4 or higher plus an adult Google Account (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — How do I respond to messages with my Fitbit device? — Google states the quick-reply feature 'is currently available on devices paired to an Android phone', and that devices paired to an iPhone 'can respond to Google Health app notifications, such as messages, cheers, taunts, and friend requests' - not to texts or third-party chat apps (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple App Store — Garmin Connect — Garmin's companion app is free and lists the highest iOS floor of any app on this page: 'Requires iOS 18.2 or later.' Its own description offers to 'Sync with other apps like Apple Health, MyFitnessPal and Strava' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Garmin — Venu 4 Series owner's manual: Enabling Phone Notifications — Garmin's own manual splits setup by platform - on an iPhone you choose which notifications appear in the iOS notification settings, on Android in the Garmin Connect app - and marks both the text-message reply and the message signature 'available only for compatible Android phones' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple App Store — Oura — Free app from Oura Health Oy; 'Requires iOS 16.0 or later.' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Oura — Apple Health Integration — Oura publishes that the Apple Health integration is iOS only and needs an active membership on Gen3 or later. It exports active energy, heart rate, mindful minutes, respiratory rate, sleep (duration, start and end times, and stages), steps, weight and workouts, and states that exported workouts 'will contribute to both the Move and Exercise rings' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple App Store — Zepp — The app every Amazfit watch pairs with: free from Zepp Inc., 'Requires iOS 15.0 or later' - the lowest iOS floor of any companion app on this page (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Amazfit — Active Max support documentation (US) — Amazfit's own requirement for the Active Max: 'The operating system of your mobile phone must be Android 7.0 or iOS 14.0, or later.' The page says nothing about Apple Health, which is documented separately for the Zepp app (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Amazfit — How can I sync to Strava / Apple Health / Google Fit / Relive? — Amazfit's Zepp-app sync documentation: 'the watch data can be synced to Strava /Apple Health/Google Fit/Relive', set up by adding the account in the Zepp app profile. This is app-level behavior rather than a per-model claim (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Amazfit — How to reply to iOS message notifications on Amazfit devices — Amazfit states the platform rule plainly - 'Apple doesn't allow third-party wearables to reply directly to notifications' - and documents a workaround that routes chat apps through the third-party Beeper service and the Zepp app, listing the Balance, Cheetah 2 Pro, T-Rex series, Active 3+ and Bip 6 as the compatible models (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple App Store — Withings — Read here because support.withings.com and withings.com both return 403 to our fetcher: the Withings (Health Mate) app is free with in-app purchases, 'Requires iOS 18.0 or later', and offers to 'Connect your health apps like Apple Health, Strava, MyFitnessPal, and more'. The listed subscriptions are Withings+ and a paid cardiologist ECG review - neither is needed to read your own data (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Samsung (US) — Galaxy Watch8 — Samsung's own US product page states 'Galaxy Watch8 Series or later must be paired with a smartphone with Android 11.0 or above and minimum 1.5 gigabyte Memory', and never mentions iOS or iPhone anywhere on the page (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Samsung — Samsung smart watch and phone compatibility — Samsung's support site says it outright: certain iPhones (iPhone 5 or later, iOS 9 or higher) pair with the older Galaxy Watch, Galaxy Watch Active and Gear series, 'but newer models like the Galaxy Watch4 and later are not compatible with iOS'. Read on Samsung's regional English support site; the US product pages state the Android requirement without naming iOS (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — Phones that work with your Google Pixel Watch — Android floors per generation (8.0 for the original Pixel Watch up to 12.0 for the Pixel Watch 5) and, in Google's own words, 'iPhones aren't supported' (accessed October 3, 2026)

Keep reading