Pulse & Plate

Best Fitness Trackers for Android

On Android the question is not which band is best - it is which band your particular phone will pair with, and which features Android gets that an iPhone never does. Five ranked on what each maker publishes.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

For most Android phones the tracker to buy is the Fitbit Charge 6: it has built-in GPS and an ECG app in a band rather than a watch, Google publishes a clear floor for the app it needs (“An Android phone with Android 11 or higher”), and it is the one band here where Google documents a feature that only works on Android — replying to messages from your wrist. If you carry a Samsung phone and want the most screen for the least money, the Galaxy Fit3 is the value pick at a published 13 days per charge. The Xiaomi Smart Band 10 is the battery champion at a stated 21 days. The Garmin vivosmart 5 is the pick if you want nothing behind a paywall. And the Pixel Watch 5 is the one to buy if you have decided you actually want a watch — it is Android-only by design, and Google says so.

Here is why this page exists separately from our main tracker roundup. On iOS every wearable faces the same wall, and we mapped it in best fitness trackers for iPhone. Android is the opposite problem: almost everything pairs, so the differences move beyond the badge — and if fit is the sticking point rather than the phone, start with best fitness trackers for women, which ranks on the published wrist range each maker will commit to. Here the differences move somewhere less obvious — the minimum Android version the companion app demands, whether the band is Android-only (two here are), and which features the maker unlocks on Android and withholds on iOS.

That last one is the interesting part, because it runs the other way from how people assume platform lock-in works. Google states that Fitbit quick replies are “currently available on devices paired to an Android phone”. Garmin’s own Venu 4 manual marks text-message replies and the message signature “available only for compatible Android phones”. Amazfit puts the reason in writing: “Apple doesn’t allow third-party wearables to reply directly to notifications.” If replying from your wrist matters to you, Android is the platform that lets you.

Every figure below is the maker’s or the platform owner’s own published specification, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up and in the sources at the foot of the page. Where nobody publishes a figure, the table says “Not published” rather than guessing. We own none of these devices and have tested none of them — here is exactly what we do instead.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Fitbit Charge 6

Fitbit Charge 6

The most feature-complete fitness band you can buy, with built-in GPS, ECG and Google apps, but the deepest insights sit behind Fitbit Premium.

Best overall on Android
$132.00 · View on Amazon

$159.9517% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Samsung Galaxy Fit3

Samsung Galaxy Fit3

A big-screen band with close to a fortnight of battery and nothing behind a paywall — as long as you carry an Android phone, because it will not pair with an iPhone.

Best value (Android only)
$53.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Xiaomi Smart Band 10

Xiaomi Smart Band 10

Three weeks of battery and a genuinely bright AMOLED for the price of a cheap pair of headphones — as long as you can live with Xiaomi's app and no onboard GPS.

Longest battery life
$54.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Garmin vivosmart 5

Garmin vivosmart 5

A simple, slim band with Garmin's trusted health metrics and no subscription, but the display is basic monochrome and GPS relies on your phone.

Best with nothing behind a paywall
$142.99 · View on Amazon

$149.995% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Google Pixel Watch 5

Google Pixel Watch 5

The Wear OS watch that finally stopped being a one-day watch: up to 40 hours on the 45 mm, with Fitbit's deepest sleep and health tracking.

Best if you want a full watch
$429.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What each maker publishes about Android

Row one is the row to read before you spend anything: an old Android phone rules devices out, and the floor is published per companion APP rather than per device. Row two is the one that surprises people - two of these five will not pair with an iPhone at all, which is a feature if you are staying on Android and a problem if you might not.

SpecFitbit Charge 6Samsung Galaxy Fit3Xiaomi Smart Band 10Garmin vivosmart 5Google Pixel Watch 5
Published Android floorAndroid 11 or higher (Google Health setup requirements)Not published for the Fit3; the listing states Android onlyNot published on the listing we readNot published on the pages we readAndroid 12.0 or higher for the Pixel Watch 5 (Google)
Pairs with an iPhone?Yes - iOS 16.4 or higher (Google)No - the listing states Android onlyNot published on the listing we readYes - Garmin Connect requires iOS 18.2 or laterNo - Google states plainly that 'iPhones aren't supported'
Published battery lifeUp to 7 daysUp to 13 days (208 mAh)Up to 21 days (Xiaomi)Up to 7 daysUp to 40 hrs on the 45 mm, 30 hrs on the 41 mm
GPSBuilt-in GPSConnected GPS (uses the phone)Not published - the Band 10 Pro is the GPS modelConnected GPS (uses the phone)Dual-frequency GPS, Galileo, GLONASS
DisplayColour AMOLED touchscreen1.6 in AMOLED, 256 x 4021.72 in AMOLED, 1,500 nits high-brightness (Xiaomi)Monochrome OLED touchscreenActua 360 AMOLED LTPO, up to 3,000 nits
ECG appYes - FDA-cleared ECG app (US)NoNoNoYes - Google ECG app (US)
Companion appGoogle Health (Google Account required)Samsung HealthXiaomi Fit (metric units only)Garmin ConnectGoogle Health / Fitbit metrics
Subscription for the full pictureGoogle Health Premium for deeper coachingNone - Samsung Health is freeNoneNone - Garmin Connect is freeSome insights need Google Health Premium
Water rating50 m (5 ATM)5 ATM + IP68Not published5 ATM5 ATM + IP68

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall on Android

Fitbit Charge 6

The most feature-complete fitness band you can buy, with built-in GPS, ECG and Google apps, but the deepest insights sit behind Fitbit Premium.

Strengths

  • Built-in GPS maps runs and rides without your phone
  • FDA-cleared ECG app plus SpO2, EDA stress and 24/7 heart rate
  • Google Maps, Google Wallet and YouTube Music controls on the wrist

Trade-offs

  • Full sleep and health analytics require a paid Fitbit Premium subscription
  • Small band display limits on-device workout detail
Battery lifeUp to 7 days
GPSBuilt-in GPS
Heart rate / ECG24/7 optical HR + FDA-cleared ECG app (US)
Blood oxygenSpO2 monitoring
Water resistance50m (5 ATM)
SubscriptionFitbit Premium for full insights (6-mo trial included)

Worth knowing. Slim tracker with a bright color AMOLED touchscreen and a haptic side button.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best value (Android only)

Samsung Galaxy Fit3

A big-screen band with close to a fortnight of battery and nothing behind a paywall — as long as you carry an Android phone, because it will not pair with an iPhone.

Strengths

  • Up to 13-day battery on a budget
  • Large 1.6-inch AMOLED display
  • Sleep stages, snore detection, hourly stress and 100+ exercise modes, all free in Samsung Health

Trade-offs

  • No built-in GPS — needs your phone for routes
  • Android only — it will not pair with an iPhone
  • No ECG, and blood oxygen is a spot or overnight reading rather than continuous
Battery lifeUp to 13 days (208 mAh)
GPSConnected GPS (uses phone)
Heart rate24/7 optical HR
Blood oxygenSpO2 spot check and overnight
Display1.6 in AMOLED touchscreen (256 x 402)
Water resistance5 ATM, IP68
SubscriptionNone — Samsung Health is free

Specs read from the product listing, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Longest battery life

Xiaomi Smart Band 10

Three weeks of battery and a genuinely bright AMOLED for the price of a cheap pair of headphones — as long as you can live with Xiaomi's app and no onboard GPS.

Strengths

  • Xiaomi states up to 21 days per charge, and about an hour to recharge fully
  • 1.72-inch AMOLED with 2 mm bezels, quoted at 1,500 nits in high-brightness mode
  • Electronic compass for swim direction, plus staged sleep analysis, at a budget price

Trade-offs

  • No built-in GPS on the listing — Xiaomi's GPS model in this family is the separate Band 10 Pro
  • The Xiaomi Fit app is metric-only; showing pounds and feet means bridging it through Google Fit
Battery lifeUp to 21 days (Xiaomi); about 1 hr to full charge
GPSNot published — the separate Band 10 Pro is the GPS model
Heart rateHeart rate monitoring (listed)
SleepSleep stages and sleep-quality analysis
Display1.72 in AMOLED, 1,500 nits high-brightness (Xiaomi)
SoftwareXiaomi HyperOS 2; Xiaomi Fit app (metric units only)
Water resistanceNot published

Specs read from the product listing, on September 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best with nothing behind a paywall

Garmin vivosmart 5

A simple, slim band with Garmin's trusted health metrics and no subscription, but the display is basic monochrome and GPS relies on your phone.

Strengths

  • No subscription — full data in the free Garmin Connect app
  • Body Battery, stress and Pulse Ox (SpO2) tracking
  • Comfortable, lightweight and unobtrusive

Trade-offs

  • No built-in GPS — uses connected phone GPS
  • Basic black-and-white OLED display
Battery lifeUp to 7 days
GPSConnected GPS (uses phone)
Heart rateWrist-based HR + Pulse Ox (SpO2)
DisplayMonochrome OLED touchscreen
Water rating5 ATM
SubscriptionNone — Garmin Connect is free

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best if you want a full watch

Google Pixel Watch 5

The Wear OS watch that finally stopped being a one-day watch: up to 40 hours on the 45 mm, with Fitbit's deepest sleep and health tracking.

Strengths

  • Up to 40 hrs on the 45 mm (30 hrs on the 41 mm) with the display always on
  • Google ECG app, SpO2 and far-field skin temperature sensing
  • Domed Actua 360 AMOLED at up to 3,000 nits

Trade-offs

  • Android-only, and some insights still require Fitbit Premium
  • Priced above the Wear OS competition
Battery life45mm: up to 40 hrs (72 hrs Battery Saver); 41mm: up to 30 hrs (48 hrs)
Battery465 mAh (45mm) / 332 mAh (41mm)
GPSDual-frequency GPS, Galileo, GLONASS
Heart rate / ECGMulti-path optical HR + Google ECG app (US)
Blood oxygen / tempSpO2 (red + infrared) + far-field skin temperature
DisplayActua 360 AMOLED LTPO, up to 3,000 nits
Water resistance5 ATM + IP68
PlatformWear OS 7; Fitbit metrics (some need Premium)

Worth knowing. Domed Actua 360 display in 41 mm and 45 mm, with 64 GB of storage.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose an Android tracker

1. Check your phone’s Android version first, not the band’s features

This is the step that turns a good purchase into a returned parcel, and it is invisible on the box. The floor is set by the companion app, not by the band, which is why it moves independently of the hardware. Google publishes the requirement for the app every Fitbit needs as “An Android phone with Android 11 or higher”. Google’s own phone-support page for the Pixel Watch publishes a floor per generation, rising from Android 8.0 for the original watch to Android 12.0 for the Pixel Watch 5 — so a watch two generations newer can demand a phone four versions newer.

Samsung publishes the same kind of requirement for its watches: its US product page for the Galaxy Watch8 states the watch “must be paired with a smartphone with Android 11.0 or above and minimum 1.5 gigabyte Memory”. Amazfit publishes the lowest floor we found anywhere: the Active Max support page asks only for “Android 7.0 or iOS 14.0, or later”. If you are on a budget phone or an older one you are keeping deliberately, that difference decides the shortlist before any spec sheet does.

Two of the five here publish no Android floor at all on the pages we could read — the Galaxy Fit3 and the Xiaomi Band 10. That is a real finding rather than a gap in our research, and the practical move is the same in both cases: check the Play Store listing for Samsung Health or Xiaomi Fit on your own phone, because the Play Store will tell you whether the app is compatible with the device you are holding.

2. Decide whether Android-only is a feature or a trap

The Galaxy Fit3 will not pair with an iPhone, and neither will the Pixel Watch 5 — Google states it in four words: “iPhones aren’t supported”. Samsung’s support site is similarly blunt about its watches, noting that while older Gear and Galaxy Watch Active models paired with certain iPhones, “newer models like the Galaxy Watch4 and later are not compatible with iOS”.

If you are staying on Android, that exclusivity costs you nothing and usually buys you something — the Fit3 is the cheapest 1.6-inch AMOLED on this page, and Samsung Health is free. If there is any chance you switch phones inside the device’s life, it is a write-off, and the Charge 6 or the vivosmart 5 are the picks that survive the move. One Samsung feature deserves a specific warning even on Android: on the Galaxy Watch line, the ECG app requires a paired Samsung Galaxy phone, not merely an Android one.

3. Understand what Android actually unlocks

Three makers document a feature that works on Android and not on iOS, and the reason is the platform rather than the band. Google states that Fitbit quick replies are “currently available on devices paired to an Android phone”, and that an iPhone-paired Fitbit can only respond to Google Health app notifications — “cheers, taunts, and friend requests” — not to texts or third-party chat apps. Garmin’s Venu 4 owner’s manual marks both the text-message reply and the message signature “available only for compatible Android phones”. Amazfit explains the cause outright: “Apple doesn’t allow third-party wearables to reply directly to notifications.”

So if the point of a wearable for you is not having to take the phone out, Android is the platform where that works, and a Fitbit or a Garmin is where it works best. It is worth weighing against the thing Android does not give you: nothing here reaches into Apple Health, which is the sync target that matters on the other side of the fence.

4. Then, and only then, buy on battery and GPS

With compatibility settled, the two specs that change daily life are days per charge and whether the device knows where it is without your phone. The spread here is enormous: a published 21 days on the Xiaomi Band 10 against 40 hours on the 45 mm Pixel Watch 5. That is not a small difference in convenience, it is a different relationship with a charger — and it is the whole subject of our long-battery-life roundup.

On GPS, only the Charge 6 and the Pixel Watch 5 have it built in. The Fit3, the vivosmart 5 and (on the listing we read) the Band 10 use connected GPS, which means your route is mapped by the phone in your pocket. For walking and gym work that is irrelevant. For running without a phone it is the whole purchase, and it is why the Charge 6 costs more than the Fit3.

Who should buy which

Buy the Charge 6 if you want one band that does everything and might not stay on Android forever. Buy the Galaxy Fit3 if you are a committed Samsung user who wants a big screen and a fortnight of battery for very little. Buy the Xiaomi Band 10 if battery life is the only spec you care about and you can live with a metric-only app. Buy the vivosmart 5 if the idea of a subscription on a thing you already own offends you — Garmin says all existing Connect features and data remain free, and our no-subscription roundup goes through which paywalls take what. Buy the Pixel Watch 5 if you have accepted that you want a watch, with the caveat that you are also accepting a charger by the bed.

None of these is a medical device, and nothing here is medical advice. The ECG apps on the Charge 6 and the Pixel Watch 5 are screening features that prompt a conversation with a doctor — they do not replace one.

Wellness guidance, not medical advice. Pulse & Plate is written by a fitness enthusiast, not a doctor. Wearable heart-rate, SpO2, ECG and sleep readings are for general wellness, not diagnosis. For a heart concern, a symptom, or before starting a new exercise program, talk to a qualified professional.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best fitness tracker for Android?

The Fitbit Charge 6, for most Android phones. It is the only band here with both built-in GPS and an FDA-cleared ECG app, Google publishes a clear requirement for the app it needs (Android 11 or higher), and it is the device where Google documents an Android-only advantage - quick replies to messages, which Google states are available on devices paired to an Android phone. If you carry a Samsung phone and want maximum screen for minimum money, the Galaxy Fit3 at a published 13 days per charge is the value pick.

Do fitness trackers work with Android phones?

Almost all of them do, which is the opposite of the iPhone situation - but the floor is set by the companion app, not the band. Google publishes Android 11 or higher for the app a Fitbit needs. Google's Pixel Watch support page publishes a floor per generation, up to Android 12.0 for the Pixel Watch 5. Samsung's own page for the Galaxy Watch8 asks for Android 11.0 or above with at least 1.5 GB of memory. Amazfit publishes the lowest floor we found, Android 7.0 for the Active Max. Check your phone's version before you shortlist anything.

Which fitness trackers are Android-only?

Of the five here, two. Samsung's Galaxy Fit3 listing states Android only, and Samsung's support site says newer Galaxy Watch models from the Watch4 onward are not compatible with iOS. Google is blunter still about the Pixel Watch: 'iPhones aren't supported'. That is fine if you are staying on Android and a write-off if you switch, so the Charge 6 and the Garmin vivosmart 5 are the picks that survive a move between platforms.

Can you reply to texts from a fitness tracker on Android?

On some devices, yes - and this is the clearest thing Android gives you that iOS does not. Google states that Fitbit quick replies are 'currently available on devices paired to an Android phone', while an iPhone-paired Fitbit can only respond to Google Health notifications. Garmin's Venu 4 manual marks text replies and the message signature 'available only for compatible Android phones'. Amazfit states the reason: 'Apple doesn't allow third-party wearables to reply directly to notifications.'

Which Android fitness tracker has the longest battery life?

Of these five, the Xiaomi Smart Band 10 at a stated 21 days, with the Samsung Galaxy Fit3 next at up to 13 days from a 208 mAh cell. Both are bands rather than watches, which is most of the explanation. The Pixel Watch 5 publishes up to 40 hours on the 45 mm case and 30 hours on the 41 mm - a genuine improvement on the one-day Wear OS watches, but still a nightly or alternate-night charge.

Do I need a Samsung phone for a Samsung watch?

For the watch to work, no - an Android phone meeting Samsung's published requirement is enough. For the ECG feature specifically, yes: on the Galaxy Watch line the ECG app requires a paired Samsung Galaxy phone, not merely any Android phone. If ECG is the reason you are buying, that detail decides whether the watch can do the job on your phone.

Is a Fitbit or a Garmin better on Android?

They answer different questions. The Fitbit Charge 6 gives you built-in GPS, an ECG app and Google's on-wrist apps, but Google Health Premium holds back the deeper coaching. The Garmin vivosmart 5 gives you Body Battery, stress and Pulse Ox with nothing behind a paywall - Garmin's own Connect+ announcement states that all existing features and data in Garmin Connect remain free - but the display is monochrome and GPS comes from your phone. Pick Fitbit for features, Garmin for no subscription.

Sources

  • Google — Google Health (Fitbit) setup requirements — The app a Fitbit needs states its own floor: 'An iPhone with iOS 16.4 or higher' or 'An Android phone with Android 11 or higher', plus a Google Account requirement for former Fitbit-account users (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — How do I respond to messages with my Fitbit device? — Google states the quick-reply feature 'is currently available on devices paired to an Android phone', and that devices paired to an iPhone 'can respond to Google Health app notifications, such as messages, cheers, taunts, and friend requests' - not to texts or third-party chat apps (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — Phones that work with your Google Pixel Watch — Android floors per generation (8.0 for the original Pixel Watch up to 12.0 for the Pixel Watch 5) and, in Google's own words, 'iPhones aren't supported' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Samsung (US) — Galaxy Watch8 — Samsung's own US product page states 'Galaxy Watch8 Series or later must be paired with a smartphone with Android 11.0 or above and minimum 1.5 gigabyte Memory', and never mentions iOS or iPhone anywhere on the page (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Samsung — Samsung smart watch and phone compatibility — Samsung's support site says it outright: certain iPhones (iPhone 5 or later, iOS 9 or higher) pair with the older Galaxy Watch, Galaxy Watch Active and Gear series, 'but newer models like the Galaxy Watch4 and later are not compatible with iOS'. Read on Samsung's regional English support site; the US product pages state the Android requirement without naming iOS (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Apple App Store — Garmin Connect — Garmin's companion app is free and lists the highest iOS floor of any app on this page: 'Requires iOS 18.2 or later.' Its own description offers to 'Sync with other apps like Apple Health, MyFitnessPal and Strava' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Garmin — Venu 4 Series owner's manual: Enabling Phone Notifications — Garmin's own manual splits setup by platform - on an iPhone you choose which notifications appear in the iOS notification settings, on Android in the Garmin Connect app - and marks both the text-message reply and the message signature 'available only for compatible Android phones' (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Garmin — Garmin Connect+ announcement — Optional paid tier; “all existing features and data in Garmin Connect will remain free” (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Amazfit — Active Max support documentation (US) — Amazfit's own requirement for the Active Max: 'The operating system of your mobile phone must be Android 7.0 or iOS 14.0, or later.' The page says nothing about Apple Health, which is documented separately for the Zepp app (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Amazfit — How to reply to iOS message notifications on Amazfit devices — Amazfit states the platform rule plainly - 'Apple doesn't allow third-party wearables to reply directly to notifications' - and documents a workaround that routes chat apps through the third-party Beeper service and the Zepp app, listing the Balance, Cheetah 2 Pro, T-Rex series, Active 3+ and Bip 6 as the compatible models (accessed October 3, 2026)
  • Google — Google Health Premium (formerly Fitbit Premium) — Fitbit Premium rebranded to Google Health Premium; deeper coaching sits behind the paid tier (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Cleveland Clinic — Fitness Trackers: Benefits and What To Look For — Cleveland Clinic on tracker accuracy and choosing by the metrics you care about (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading