Pulse & Plate

Best Fitness Trackers for Women

Nothing about a heart-rate sensor is gendered. What actually differs is whether the thing fits a smaller wrist and what the app does with a cycle - so these five are ranked on published wrist-fit range, weight on the wrist, and how far the cycle features go.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

Most “best trackers for women” lists are the general tracker list with the pink colorway moved to the top. That is not useful, because the sensors are identical: an optical heart-rate sensor does not know or care who is wearing it, and the accuracy limits that apply to one wrist apply to every wrist.

Two things genuinely do differ, and both are checkable before you buy. The first is fit. A tracker that is too wide for the wrist it sits on reads worse, not just looks worse, because optical heart rate depends on the sensor staying flat against skin. Makers publish fit data in four different units — a wrist circumference range, a band length, a case size, or nothing at all — and the spread between the smallest and largest device here is about 15 grams, which is the difference between forgetting you are wearing it and noticing it all night.

The second is what the app does with a cycle. Every tracker here can log a period; they differ enormously in what they estimate from it, whether the estimate needs a paid tier, and whether the device contributes a measurement (temperature, resting heart rate) or just stores what you typed. We rank those honestly and we do not overstate them — these are wellness features, not medical devices, and none of them is contraception.

Apple Watch SE 3 leads because Apple is the only maker here that publishes the wrist range each case size is designed for, and its cycle app goes furthest. Garmin’s vivosmart 5 is the slim subscription-free band with published wrist ranges in millimeters. Fitbit Charge 6 ships both band sizes in the box. Samsung’s Galaxy Fit3 is the lightest body of the group. Oura Ring 5leaves the wrist entirely, which is the right answer for some people and the wrong one for anyone who wants a screen. Every figure below comes from the maker’s own published specification on the dated visit linked under each write-up. We own none of these devices and have tested none of them.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Apple Watch SE 3

Apple Watch SE 3

The cheapest way into watchOS finally gets an always-on screen, sleep apnea alerts and fast charging — it still leaves out ECG and blood oxygen.

Best overall
$222.21 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Garmin vivosmart 5

Garmin vivosmart 5

A simple, slim band with Garmin's trusted health metrics and no subscription, but the display is basic monochrome and GPS relies on your phone.

Best slim band, no subscription
$142.99 · View on Amazon

$149.995% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Fitbit Charge 6

Fitbit Charge 6

The most feature-complete fitness band you can buy, with built-in GPS, ECG and Google apps, but the deepest insights sit behind Fitbit Premium.

Best for logging a cycle
$132.00 · View on Amazon

$159.9517% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Samsung Galaxy Fit3

Samsung Galaxy Fit3

A big-screen band with close to a fortnight of battery and nothing behind a paywall — as long as you carry an Android phone, because it will not pair with an iPhone.

Lightest on the wrist
$53.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Oura Ring 5

Oura Ring 5

Oura shrank the ring by 40% without losing the week of battery — the sleep and recovery data is still the best here, and still behind a membership.

Best if you hate wrist wear
$399.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

Fit first, then what the cycle features actually do

Makers publish fit in four different units, which is itself the finding: a wrist circumference range (Apple, Garmin), a band circumference range (Fitbit), a strap length (Samsung) or a finger size (Oura). 'Not published' means we read the maker's own page and the figure was not there.

SpecApple Watch SE 3Garmin vivosmart 5Fitbit Charge 6Samsung Galaxy Fit3Oura Ring 5
Published fit figureFits 130–200 mm wrists (40 mm case)122–188 mm (S/M); 148–228 mm (L)5.1–6.7 in (S band); 6.7–8.3 in (L band)Strap published as 122 mm longSized to a finger, not a wrist
Published weight26.3 g (40 mm, GPS)24.5 g (S/M); 26.5 g (L)About 30 g18.5 g body only, band excludedPublished as the thinnest Oura yet
Both band sizes in the box?One band, size chosen at purchaseNo — size chosen at purchaseYes — small and large includedOne bandNot applicable
Case / device size40 x 34 x 10.7 mm19.5 mm wide, 10.7 mm thick band36.73 x 23.09 x 11.20 mm42.9 x 28.8 x 9.9 mm2.28 mm thick, 6.09 mm wide
Cycle features publishedAdvanced Cycle Tracking: fertile-window and retrospective ovulation estimates, perimenopause supportLogging and reminders in Garmin ConnectPeriod and symptom logging, cycle patterns, estimated ovulation windowLogging in Samsung HealthPeriod prediction in the Oura app
Subscription for the full dataNoneNone — Garmin Connect is freeFitbit Premium for the deeper insightsNone — Samsung Health is freeYes — Oura membership
ScreenAlways-on RetinaMonochrome OLEDColor AMOLED touchscreen1.6 in AMOLEDNone
Water ratingSwim-proof (Apple)5 ATM50 m (5 ATM)5 ATM, IP68Water resistant

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Apple Watch SE 3

The cheapest way into watchOS finally gets an always-on screen, sleep apnea alerts and fast charging — it still leaves out ECG and blood oxygen.

Strengths

  • Always-on Retina display, new to the SE tier
  • Sleep apnea notifications plus wrist temperature sensing
  • Fast charging — up to 80% in about 45 minutes

Trade-offs

  • Still no ECG app and no blood-oxygen sensor
  • About 18-hour battery, and it needs an iPhone
Battery lifeUp to 18 hrs (up to 32 hrs Low Power Mode)
ChargingUp to 80% in about 45 min
GPSBuilt-in L1 GPS
Heart rateSecond-generation optical heart sensor
ECG / SpO2Not available on SE
HealthSleep apnea notifications + wrist temperature sensing
DisplayAlways-On Retina OLED, up to 1000 nits
RequirementsRequires iPhone; 50m swimproof (WR50)

Worth knowing. The first SE with an always-on display, in 40 mm and 44 mm cases.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best slim band, no subscription

Garmin vivosmart 5

A simple, slim band with Garmin's trusted health metrics and no subscription, but the display is basic monochrome and GPS relies on your phone.

Strengths

  • No subscription — full data in the free Garmin Connect app
  • Body Battery, stress and Pulse Ox (SpO2) tracking
  • Comfortable, lightweight and unobtrusive

Trade-offs

  • No built-in GPS — uses connected phone GPS
  • Basic black-and-white OLED display
Battery lifeUp to 7 days
GPSConnected GPS (uses phone)
Heart rateWrist-based HR + Pulse Ox (SpO2)
DisplayMonochrome OLED touchscreen
Water rating5 ATM
SubscriptionNone — Garmin Connect is free

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best for logging a cycle

Fitbit Charge 6

The most feature-complete fitness band you can buy, with built-in GPS, ECG and Google apps, but the deepest insights sit behind Fitbit Premium.

Strengths

  • Built-in GPS maps runs and rides without your phone
  • FDA-cleared ECG app plus SpO2, EDA stress and 24/7 heart rate
  • Google Maps, Google Wallet and YouTube Music controls on the wrist

Trade-offs

  • Full sleep and health analytics require a paid Fitbit Premium subscription
  • Small band display limits on-device workout detail
Battery lifeUp to 7 days
GPSBuilt-in GPS
Heart rate / ECG24/7 optical HR + FDA-cleared ECG app (US)
Blood oxygenSpO2 monitoring
Water resistance50m (5 ATM)
SubscriptionFitbit Premium for full insights (6-mo trial included)

Worth knowing. Slim tracker with a bright color AMOLED touchscreen and a haptic side button.

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Lightest on the wrist

Samsung Galaxy Fit3

A big-screen band with close to a fortnight of battery and nothing behind a paywall — as long as you carry an Android phone, because it will not pair with an iPhone.

Strengths

  • Up to 13-day battery on a budget
  • Large 1.6-inch AMOLED display
  • Sleep stages, snore detection, hourly stress and 100+ exercise modes, all free in Samsung Health

Trade-offs

  • No built-in GPS — needs your phone for routes
  • Android only — it will not pair with an iPhone
  • No ECG, and blood oxygen is a spot or overnight reading rather than continuous
Battery lifeUp to 13 days (208 mAh)
GPSConnected GPS (uses phone)
Heart rate24/7 optical HR
Blood oxygenSpO2 spot check and overnight
Display1.6 in AMOLED touchscreen (256 x 402)
Water resistance5 ATM, IP68
SubscriptionNone — Samsung Health is free

Specs read from the product listing, on August 21, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best if you hate wrist wear

Oura Ring 5

Oura shrank the ring by 40% without losing the week of battery — the sleep and recovery data is still the best here, and still behind a membership.

Strengths

  • Class-leading sleep, readiness and recovery tracking
  • 2.28 mm thick and 6.09 mm wide — the smallest ring Oura has made
  • Typically 6–9 days per charge, and about 80 minutes to refill

Trade-offs

  • Requires a paid monthly Oura membership for full insights
  • No display and no built-in GPS
Battery lifeTypically 6–9 days; about 80 min to charge
SensorsRed, green and infrared LEDs + digital temperature sensor
Dimensions2.28 mm thick, 6.09 mm wide
GPS / displayNone (screen-free ring)
Water resistance100m — sauna and water sports, not diving
Sizes6–13
SubscriptionOura Membership required for full insights

Worth knowing. Full titanium inside and out with a superhard PVD coating, 40% smaller than Ring 4.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a tracker for a smaller wrist

Four questions, in this order. The first one is the one nobody asks and the one that decides whether you keep wearing the thing.

1. Does the maker publish a fit range — and in what unit?

This is the finding that organizes the page. Four makers, four different disclosures:

Applepublishes the wrist range the case is built for, which is the most directly useful form: the 40 mm SE 3 case “fits 130–200 mm wrists” and the 44 mm fits 140–245 mm. Put a tape measure round your wrist and you have your answer before you spend anything. Garmindoes the same thing for its band sizes — small/medium for 122–188 mm wrists, large for 148–228 mm — and publishes a printable paper sizing guide, which is the only one of its kind here. Fitbitpublishes band circumferences in inches instead (small 5.1–6.7 in, large 6.7–8.3 in) and, usefully, ships both sizes in the box, so the Charge 6 is the hardest device here to get wrong. Samsungpublishes a strap length of 122 mm rather than a wrist range, which is a different number and needs converting in your head.

Why it matters beyond comfort: wrist-based optical heart rate works by shining light into skin and reading what comes back, so a sensor that lifts off a narrow wrist during movement produces worse data. Fit is not cosmetic on a tracker — it is an accuracy input. Our guide to how accurate fitness trackers are goes into the limits in detail, and the short version is that placement and fit are the two things the wearer actually controls.

2. How heavy is it, in the figure the maker actually publishes?

The spread here is bigger than it sounds. Samsung’s Galaxy Fit3 publishes 18.5 g — and publishes the caveat with it, that the figure “refers to the body only and excludes the weight of the band.” That is an honest disclosure and also a reason not to compare it directly with Garmin’s 24.5 g or Apple’s 26.3 g, which are device weights for the band-included and case-only cases respectively. Fitbit’s Charge 6 sits around 30 g.

Ten grams is the difference between a band you sleep in without noticing and one you take off at night — and a tracker you take off at night does not track sleep. If sleep data is a main reason you are buying, weight is not a vanity spec. The logical end point of that argument is the Oura Ring 5, which moves the sensor to a finger: published as the thinnest ring Oura has made at 2.28 mm, with no screen to light up at 3 a.m. Our smart ring vs smartwatch comparison covers what you give up, which is most of the daytime workout features.

3. What do the cycle features actually do?

There is a real hierarchy here and it is not the one the marketing implies. At the bottom, every device logs what you type: period start, symptoms, notes. Samsung Health and Garmin Connect sit here, free, with logging and reminders.

In the middle, Fitbitadds pattern analysis across logged cycles and an estimated ovulation window, with the deeper insight tiers sitting behind Fitbit Premium — so check which half of the feature you are buying. Oura offers period prediction in its app, and the entire Oura data set requires an active membership, which is the thing to know before you buy the hardware.

At the top, Applepublishes the most: an Advanced Cycle Tracking app with fertile-window estimates, retrospective ovulation estimates and perimenopause support, included with the watch and with no subscription. Those are the published feature names, and the important caveat is in the word “estimates.” Cycle features on consumer wearables are wellness tools built on logged data and sensor trends. They are not diagnostics, they are not contraception, and nothing here replaces a conversation with a clinician about a cycle that has changed.

4. What does the data cost after the device?

Three of these five give you everything with the hardware. Garmin Connect is free, SamsungHealth is free, and the Apple Watch’s health features come with the watch. Fitbit puts its richer analysis behind Premium, and Oura requires a membership for the data the ring exists to produce. Neither of those is a scandal; both are a recurring cost that changes the real price of the device over three years. If a subscription is a dealbreaker, our roundup of fitness trackers without a subscription is built entirely around that constraint.

What a tracker is good at — and where it stops

What these devices do well is persistence. They count steps and active minutes reliably enough to tell you whether this week looked like last week, they track sleep duration well, and they put a number on resting heart rate over months, which is one of the genuinely useful long-run signals a wearable produces. That is plenty: federal guidance asks adults for 150 to 300 minutes of moderate activity a week plus muscle strengthening on two or more days, and a tracker is a good tool for noticing you are not getting it.

What they are not is instrumentation. Calorie estimates are the weakest number on any tracker. Sleep staging is an inference from movement and heart rate, not a measurement, and how accurate sleep trackers are works through what that means for the nightly score. Cycle predictions are patterns over logged data. Treat every one of those as a trend line, not a fact, and the device stays useful instead of becoming something to argue with.

Which one we would buy

If you want the most capable device and the clearest fit information, Apple Watch SE 3at 40 mm — with the caveat that it needs an iPhone, and that the SE tier leaves out ECG and blood oxygen. If you want something slim and genuinely subscription-free that works with either phone platform, Garmin vivosmart 5, accepting a monochrome screen and phone-dependent GPS. If you are not sure of your wrist size and do not want to think about it, Fitbit Charge 6 ships both bands and has the best cycle logging short of Apple. If the lightest possible band is the priority, Samsung Galaxy Fit3 — check our Android tracker roundup for the platform caveats first. And if you simply do not like wearing something on your wrist, the Oura Ring 5 is the best screen-free answer, as long as the membership is a cost you accept and you are willing to be sized properly rather than guessing.

Wellness guidance, not medical advice. Pulse & Plate is written by a fitness enthusiast, not a doctor. Wearable heart-rate, SpO2, ECG and sleep readings are for general wellness, not diagnosis. For a heart concern, a symptom, or before starting a new exercise program, talk to a qualified professional.

Frequently asked questions

Are there real differences between fitness trackers for women and for men?

Not in the sensors. An optical heart-rate sensor, an accelerometer and a skin-temperature sensor work the same way on any wrist, and the accuracy limits are the same too. Two things genuinely differ: fit, because a device that is too wide for a narrower wrist both looks wrong and reads worse when the sensor lifts off during movement, and the cycle features in the companion app, which range from plain logging to published fertile-window and perimenopause features. Those are the two axes this page ranks on.

Which fitness trackers publish a wrist size they fit?

Apple and Garmin publish a wrist circumference range: the 40 mm Apple Watch SE 3 fits 130-200 mm wrists and the 44 mm fits 140-245 mm, while Garmin's vivosmart 5 comes in small/medium for 122-188 mm wrists and large for 148-228 mm. Fitbit publishes band circumferences instead - small fits 5.1-6.7 in, large 6.7-8.3 in - and ships both in the box. Samsung publishes a strap length of 122 mm rather than a wrist range. Measure your wrist with a tape measure before you buy; it is a 30-second job that prevents the most common disappointment in this category.

What is the lightest fitness tracker?

Of these five, Samsung's Galaxy Fit3 publishes the lightest body at 18.5 g - and Samsung states that the figure is the body only and excludes the band, which is an honest caveat worth repeating. Garmin's vivosmart 5 publishes 24.5 g for the small/medium size, and the 40 mm Apple Watch SE 3 is 26.3 g in aluminum. The Oura Ring 5 is lighter than any of them because it is a ring rather than a watch, but it has no screen and far fewer workout features.

Which tracker has the best cycle tracking?

On published features, the Apple Watch SE 3: Apple lists an Advanced Cycle Tracking app with fertile-window estimates, retrospective ovulation estimates and perimenopause support, with no subscription. Fitbit is next, with period and symptom logging, cycle patterns and an estimated ovulation window, though the deeper insights sit behind Fitbit Premium. Oura offers period prediction but requires an active membership for its data. Garmin Connect and Samsung Health provide logging and reminders for free. All of these are wellness features rather than medical devices, and none is a contraceptive method.

Do fitness trackers measure a cycle, or just record it?

Mostly they record what you log and look for patterns in it. Some devices add sensor trends - overnight skin temperature and resting heart rate shift across a cycle, and makers use those signals to refine estimates - but the prediction is still a pattern over your own logged history rather than a measurement of ovulation. That is why the published feature names use the word estimate. It is genuinely useful for noticing that a cycle has changed; it is not a diagnostic, and a change worth worrying about is a conversation with a clinician, not with an app.

Does a tracker need a subscription?

It depends on the brand, and it changes the real cost. Garmin Connect and Samsung Health are free, and the Apple Watch's health features come with the watch. Fitbit puts its richer analysis behind Fitbit Premium, and Oura requires a membership for the data the ring is bought to produce. Over three years a membership can cost more than the hardware did, so decide on it before you choose the device - our no-subscription roundup is built around exactly that constraint.

Is a smart ring better than a wrist tracker for sleep?

For sleep specifically, a ring has two real advantages: it weighs a few grams, so you forget it is there, and it has no screen to light up when you move. The Oura Ring 5 is published as the thinnest ring Oura has made. What you lose is everything a screen does - live workout metrics, notifications, a visible step count - plus the ability to buy without being sized, because a ring has to fit a finger. If a wrist device keeps coming off at night, a ring will collect more nights of data than a better watch you do not wear.

Can I wear a tracker during pregnancy or perimenopause?

These are consumer wellness devices, so there is nothing stopping you, and Apple explicitly publishes perimenopause support within its Cycle Tracking app. What they cannot do is tell you anything clinical. Heart rate, sleep and temperature all shift during pregnancy and perimenopause, which makes the usual baselines less meaningful and the daily scores noisier, so treat the numbers as loose trend lines during those periods. Anything that concerns you belongs with a clinician who can order a real measurement.

Sources

  • Apple — Apple Watch SE 3 Technical Specifications — The most complete fit disclosure of any tracker we cover, because Apple publishes the wrist range the case is designed for: the 40 mm case is 40 x 34 x 10.7 mm, weighs 26.3 g in aluminum GPS form and 'Fits 130-200mm wrists'; the 44 mm case is 44 x 38 x 10.7 mm, 32.9 g, and fits 140-245 mm wrists. Apple also lists an Advanced Cycle Tracking app with fertile-window estimates, retrospective ovulation estimates and perimenopause support (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Garmin — vivosmart 5 (published sizes and weights) — Garmin's product page is JS-rendered and returned only navigation to our fetcher, so these figures are as indexed by a live search of garmin.com on the day: two band sizes with published wrist ranges - small/medium for 122-188 mm wrists at 24.5 g, large for 148-228 mm at 26.5 g - on a 19.5 mm wide, 10.7 mm thick silicone band. Garmin publishes a printable vivosmart band sizing guide as a PDF, which is the only paper sizing tool any maker here offers (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Google Store — Fitbit Charge 6 Technical Specs — Read for the two figures that decide fit on a small wrist, as indexed by a live search of store.google.com on the day (the spec page itself returned truncated content to our fetcher): both band sizes ship in the box, the small fitting wrists 5.1-6.7 in around and the large 6.7-8.3 in, on a 36.73 x 23.09 x 11.20 mm tracker weighing about 30 g. Menstrual health logging - periods, symptoms, cycle patterns and an estimated ovulation window - is listed as a feature of the Fitbit app (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Samsung — Galaxy Fit3 (published dimensions and weight) — The lightest body of any band we cover, and Samsung is explicit about what the figure excludes: a 42.9 x 28.8 x 9.9 mm body at 18.5 g where 'the specified weight refers to the body only and excludes the weight of the band', a 1.6 in (40.0 mm) AMOLED at 256 x 402, Bluetooth 5.3 and up to 13 days of battery. The replacement sport band is published as 22 x 122 x 9.5 mm in fluoroelastomer - a strap length figure rather than a wrist range (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • Oura — Membership — Without an active membership the app shows only the three daily scores and basic settings (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Google — Google Health Premium (formerly Fitbit Premium) — Fitbit Premium rebranded to Google Health Premium; deeper coaching sits behind the paid tier (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Garmin — Garmin Connect+ announcement — Optional paid tier; “all existing features and data in Garmin Connect will remain free” (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • Cleveland Clinic — Fitness Trackers: Benefits and What To Look For — Cleveland Clinic on tracker accuracy and choosing by the metrics you care about (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • Accuracy of Optical Heart Rate Sensing in Wearable Fitness Trackers (NIH/PMC) — Validation study of wrist optical HR accuracy across activities and ages (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. HHS / ODPHP — Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans (2nd ed.) — Federal guideline: 150–300 min/week moderate aerobic + muscle strengthening 2+ days (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • CDC — Adult Activity: An Overview — CDC on muscle-strengthening 2+ days/week, 8–12 reps, all major muscle groups (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading