Pulse & Plate

Best Smart Rings Without a Subscription

Three rings publish 'Subscription: none' and mean it. Ranked on battery life, what the app still shows once the box is open, and the sizing step that decides whether the ring fits at all.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

The RingConn Gen 2 is the subscription-free ring to buy for most people: a published 10–12 days per charge, a charging case RingConn states extends that past 150 days, 100 m water resistance at about 2 g, and the full app feature set included with the ring. Samsung’s Galaxy Ringis the pick if you carry a Galaxy phone — up to 7 days, and the data lands in Samsung Health, which is free. The Amazfit Helio Ring is the cheapest honest way into a titanium ring and the only one here with a dedicated EDA sensor for stress, which is a different signal rather than a restatement of heart-rate variability.

This page exists because “smart ring” and “Oura” have become near-synonyms, and Oura is the one major ring whose data sits behind a monthly membership. Oura is clear about what that means: without an active membership the app shows only the three daily scores and basic settings. That is a reasonable deal if the insights are what you want — Oura’s sleep and readiness analysis is still the most developed in the category — but it is a deal, and a lot of buyers do not realise they are making it until the trial ends.

So the three rings here were chosen on a single published fact: each one’s own specification states Subscription: none. Everything else on this page ranks them against each other on the specs that decide whether a screen-free ring is actually pleasant to live with. In order of how much they matter: battery life (a ring you have to charge every other day stops being worn to bed, which is the only reason to own one), sizing (every maker here uses its own sizing and a ring cannot be adjusted), and what the sensors actually measure as opposed to estimate.

Every figure below is the maker’s own published specification, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up. We own none of these rings and have tested none of them, and nothing here is a medical device or a diagnosis — a sleep apnea or heart-rate reading from a consumer ring is a prompt to see a doctor, not an answer.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
RingConn Gen 2 Smart Ring

RingConn Gen 2 Smart Ring

The subscription-free answer to Oura, with the longest battery of any ring here and a charging case that carries months of top-ups.

Best overall
$251.70 · View on Amazon

$299.0016% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Samsung Galaxy Ring

Samsung Galaxy Ring

A comfortable, subscription-free smart ring with solid sleep tracking, but it's at its best paired with a Samsung Galaxy phone.

Best for Galaxy phones
$239.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Amazfit Helio Smart Ring

Amazfit Helio Smart Ring

The cheapest way into a titanium smart ring with no subscription, and the only one here with a dedicated EDA sensor for stress.

Best for stress tracking
$162.16 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What each maker publishes - and what it does not

Row one is the reason all three are on this page. Row two is what decides whether a ring is worn long enough to be useful - and note that Amazfit publishes no battery figure for the Helio at all, which is a real gap on the headline spec of a ring.

SpecRingConn Gen 2 Smart RingSamsung Galaxy RingAmazfit Helio Smart Ring
SubscriptionNoneNone (Samsung Health is free)None
Published battery life10-12 days (varies by size)Up to 7 days (varies by size)Not published
Charging case extends it?Yes - 150+ days statedNo (puck)Not published
Water resistance100 m10 ATM + IP68Water-resistant (level not published)
WeightAbout 2 g (varies by size)Not publishedNot published
Dedicated stress sensorNo - derived from HR/HRVNo - derived from HR/HRVYes - EDA
Sleep apnea signal (AHI)Yes - wellness signal onlyNot publishedNot published
Phone platformiOS and AndroidBest with a Samsung Galaxy phoneiOS and Android (Zepp)
Published warranty12 monthsNot publishedNot published
SizingRingConn-specific; kit recommendedSamsung sizing kitAmazfit-specific; kit recommended

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

RingConn Gen 2 Smart Ring

The subscription-free answer to Oura, with the longest battery of any ring here and a charging case that carries months of top-ups.

Strengths

  • 10-12 days per charge, and the case is stated to extend that past 150 days
  • No subscription - the full app feature set is included with the ring
  • 100 m water resistance at roughly 2 g on the finger

Trade-offs

  • RingConn uses its own sizing, so a sizing kit first is close to mandatory
  • Sleep apnea monitoring is a wellness signal, not a diagnosis - treat an AHI number as a prompt to see a doctor
Battery life10-12 days (varies by size); case 150+ days
TrackingSleep, sleep apnea (AHI), activity, stress, HR, HRV, SpO2
SubscriptionNone
Water resistance100 m
WeightAbout 2 g (varies by size)
SizingRingConn-specific; sizing kit recommended
Warranty12 months

Worth knowing. Ships with a charging case rather than a puck - that is what turns a 10-day ring into something you can leave the charger at home for.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best for Galaxy phones

Samsung Galaxy Ring

A comfortable, subscription-free smart ring with solid sleep tracking, but it's at its best paired with a Samsung Galaxy phone.

Strengths

  • No subscription — data lives in free Samsung Health
  • Up to 7-day battery in a light titanium build
  • HR, SpO2, skin temperature and sleep tracking

Trade-offs

  • Full features favor a paired Samsung Galaxy phone
  • No display and no built-in GPS
Battery lifeUp to 7 days (varies by size)
SensorsHR, SpO2 (blood oxygen), skin temperature, accelerometer
GPS / displayNone
Water resistance10 ATM + IP68
SubscriptionNone (Samsung Health is free)

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best for stress tracking

Amazfit Helio Smart Ring

The cheapest way into a titanium smart ring with no subscription, and the only one here with a dedicated EDA sensor for stress.

Strengths

  • EDA sensor plus HRV for stress tracking, which most rings estimate from heart rate alone
  • Titanium alloy build with no subscription for the full Zepp feature set
  • Zepp reports VO2 max and recovery alongside the ring's sleep data

Trade-offs

  • This listing does not publish a battery figure, and battery is the headline spec for a ring
  • Helio uses Amazfit's own sizing, so buy the sizing kit before the ring
MaterialTitanium alloy
TrackingSleep stages, HR, HRV, SpO2, stress (EDA), VO2 max via Zepp
SubscriptionNone
AppZepp (iOS and Android)
SizingAmazfit-specific; sizing kit recommended
Battery lifeNot published
Water resistanceWater-resistant (level not published on listing)

Worth knowing. The EDA sensor is the reason to pick it over a cheaper band: skin conductance is a different signal from heart-rate variability, not a restatement of it.

Specs read from the product listing, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a subscription-free smart ring

1. Battery is the spec, not a feature

A ring has no screen, no buttons and nothing to interact with. Its entire value is that you forget you are wearing it, which means the only failure mode that matters is a ring sitting on a charger at bedtime. Every night it spends off your finger is a night of the data you bought it for.

That is why RingConn leads this page. 10–12 days published, and crucially it ships with a charging case rather than a puck, which RingConn states carries over 150 days of top-ups. The practical difference is travel: a puck is one more cable in the bag and one more thing to forget, while a case that holds months of charge means the ring simply never runs out. Samsung publishes up to 7 days, which is still a week and comfortably past the threshold where charging becomes a weekly chore rather than a nightly decision.

Amazfit publishes no battery figure at all for the Helio Ring on the listing we read, and we are not going to borrow one from a sibling product or a review. On a device whose headline spec is battery life, an unpublished figure is a genuine mark against it, and it is the reason the Helio ranks third here despite having the most interesting sensor.

2. Get the sizing right before you buy the ring

This is the step that generates most returns in the category, and it is entirely avoidable. A ring cannot be resized, loosened or padded. All three makers here use their own sizingrather than standard jewellery sizes, so a US 9 from one brand is not a US 9 from another, and your jeweller’s measurement does not transfer. Buy or request the maker’s sizing kit, wear the trial ring for a full day including overnight, and order from that.

Two things worth knowing. Fingers swell over the course of a day and in heat, so a ring that fits perfectly at 9 am can be tight at 9 pm — which is exactly why the kit is meant to be worn for 24 hours rather than tried on. And fit affects the data as well as the comfort: the optical sensors need consistent skin contact, so a loose ring that rotates produces worse readings, not just a looser fit.

3. Understand which signals are measured and which are inferred

All three rings report heart rate, heart-rate variability, blood oxygen, sleep stages and a stress or recovery figure. They do not all produce those the same way, and the distinction is where the Amazfit Helio earns its place.

Most rings and watches derive a stress score from heart-rate variability — a real physiological signal, but a single one, and one that is also moved by caffeine, alcohol, illness and the time you went to bed. The Helio adds an EDA sensor, which measures electrodermal activity: skin conductance changes driven by sweat-gland activity, which is a separate autonomic signal rather than another way of looking at the heartbeat. Two independent signals is a better basis for a stress estimate than one. Whether the resulting number tells you anything actionable is a different and more open question — consumer stress scores are not validated clinical measures, and should be read as trends rather than readings.

The RingConn’s sleep apnea feature deserves the same care. It reports an AHI-style figure, and an elevated one is worth taking to a doctor. It is not a diagnosis, a sleep study or a substitute for either. Clinical reviews of consumer sleep tracking are consistent on this point: these devices are reasonable at detecting time asleep and weak at distinguishing sleep stages, so treat a stage breakdown as indicative and a trend over weeks as the useful output.

4. Check the phone in your pocket

The Galaxy Ring is the one pick here with a real platform caveat: Samsung publishes that its full feature set favours a paired Samsung Galaxy phone. If you carry a Galaxy, that is an advantage — the ring folds into Samsung Health alongside a Galaxy Watch and costs nothing extra. If you carry an iPhone or a Pixel, it is a reason to choose one of the other two, both of which publish iOS and Android support. Our fitness trackers for iPhone page goes through the platform question in detail, including which companion apps demand which iOS version.

What an Oura membership actually buys

It is worth stating plainly rather than implying, because Oura is the ring most readers are comparing against. Oura’s hardware is excellent — the Ring 5 publishes 2.28 mm of thickness and 6.09 mm of width, the smallest ring Oura has made, with 6–9 days of battery and 100 m water resistance. The membership is what unlocks the analysis: Oura states that without an active membership the app shows only the three daily scores and basic settings.

So the honest framing is not “Oura charges you for your own data”. It is that Oura sells an ongoing analysis service with a ring attached, and the three rings on this page sell a ring with an app attached. If what you want is the best-developed sleep and readiness interpretation in consumer wearables, the membership is the product and it is not unreasonable. If what you want is a long-battery ring that logs your nights and lets you look at the trends yourself, you should not be paying monthly for it. Our smart ring roundup ranks the whole category including Oura, and Oura Ring vs Galaxy Ring is the head-to-head.

The subscription-free pattern across wearables

Rings are the sharpest version of a question that runs through the whole category, and it is worth knowing where each maker stands because their positions differ more than the marketing suggests. Garmin, launching a paid tier, committed that “all existing features and data in Garmin Connect will remain free”. Google moved Fitbit Premium to Google Health Premium and keeps deeper coaching behind the paid tier. Oura requires a membership for insights. Samsung Health is free.

The useful test before any wearable purchase is the one this page is built on: with no subscription, what does this device still show me? Ask it of a ring, a band or a watch. Our fitness trackers without a subscription and sleep trackers without a subscription pages apply it to the wrist and the bedside respectively.

Wellness guidance, not medical advice. Pulse & Plate is written by a fitness enthusiast, not a doctor. Wearable heart-rate, SpO2, ECG and sleep readings are for general wellness, not diagnosis. For a heart concern, a symptom, or before starting a new exercise program, talk to a qualified professional.

Frequently asked questions

Which smart rings have no subscription?

Of the rings we cover, three publish 'Subscription: none' in their own specifications: the RingConn Gen 2, the Samsung Galaxy Ring (its data lives in free Samsung Health) and the Amazfit Helio Ring, whose full Zepp feature set is included. Oura is the notable exception - it requires an active membership, and Oura states that without one the app shows only the three daily scores and basic settings.

Which subscription-free smart ring has the longest battery life?

The RingConn Gen 2, which publishes 10-12 days per charge depending on ring size, and ships with a charging case RingConn states extends that past 150 days. The Samsung Galaxy Ring publishes up to 7 days. Amazfit publishes no battery figure for the Helio Ring on the listing we read, which on a ring is a real gap rather than a detail - battery life is the headline spec of a device with no screen.

Is the Samsung Galaxy Ring worth it without a Samsung phone?

Less so, and Samsung says why: it publishes that the full feature set favours a paired Samsung Galaxy phone. If you carry a Galaxy, the ring is excellent value - up to 7 days of battery, titanium build, and the data folds into Samsung Health at no extra cost. On an iPhone or a Pixel, the RingConn Gen 2 or the Amazfit Helio are the better subscription-free choices, since both publish iOS and Android support.

Do I need a sizing kit for a smart ring?

Effectively yes, and skipping it is the most common mistake in the category. All three makers here use their own sizing rather than standard jewellery sizes, so a size from one brand does not transfer to another or from your jeweller. Wear the trial ring for a full 24 hours including overnight, because fingers swell through the day and in heat. Fit also affects data quality - the optical sensors need consistent skin contact, so a ring that rotates produces worse readings.

What does an Oura membership actually add?

The analysis layer. Oura's hardware is strong - the Ring 5 is 2.28 mm thick and 6.09 mm wide with 6-9 days of battery - and the membership is what unlocks the detailed sleep, readiness and recovery interpretation. Oura publishes that without an active membership the app shows only the three daily scores and basic settings. The honest framing is that Oura sells an ongoing analysis service with a ring attached; the rings on this page sell a ring with an app attached.

Can a smart ring detect sleep apnea?

The RingConn Gen 2 reports an AHI-style sleep apnea figure, and an elevated reading is a reasonable prompt to see a doctor. It is not a diagnosis and not a substitute for a sleep study. Clinical reviews of consumer sleep tracking are consistent that these devices are reasonable at estimating time asleep and weak at distinguishing sleep stages, so read a trend across weeks rather than a single night's breakdown.

What is an EDA sensor and does it matter?

EDA is electrodermal activity - changes in skin conductance driven by sweat-gland activity, which is an autonomic signal separate from the heartbeat. The Amazfit Helio Ring is the only ring here with a dedicated one; most rings and watches derive stress from heart-rate variability alone. Two independent signals is a better basis for a stress estimate than one. Whether the resulting score is actionable is a separate question: consumer stress numbers are not validated clinical measures and are best read as trends.

Smart ring or fitness band for sleep tracking?

A ring is the more comfortable thing to wear to bed and has no screen to light up, which is most of why people buy one. A band usually costs less and, in the case of a dedicated sleep band, may publish a longer battery. The trade is daytime: a ring records no steps-with-display, no notifications and no GPS. Our sleep tracker bands page ranks the band form factor on its own, and our smart ring roundup covers the whole ring field.

Sources

Keep reading