Pulse & Plate

Best Cast Iron Kettlebells

Every cast iron kettlebell is the same lump of metal. What separates them is the finish, the handle and whether the maker will tell you its dimensions at all - and on that last test, most of this category fails.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we research

A cast iron kettlebell is about as simple as fitness equipment gets: molten iron poured into a mold, allowed to cool, coated, and sold. There is no motor, no console, no app and nothing to break. Which raises the obvious question — if they are all the same object, why does a 44 lb bell cost $25 from one brand and $85 from another?

The answer is three things, and only one of them is the iron. The finish decides how the bell ages: a powder coat is baked on and is what serious makers use, a sprayed paint or enamel is cheaper and is the first thing to mark where the bell meets the floor, and a vinyl jacket protects your floor at the cost of a handle you cannot chalk. The handledecides whether you can actually use it — its thickness and the width of the window are what make a bell comfortable for two hands, one hand, or neither. And the size ladder decides whether the bell you buy today has a next step, because kettlebell training progresses by jumping to a whole new bell rather than by adding a plate.

Here is the finding that ended up organizing this whole page. Of the six bells below, exactly onemaker publishes the handle diameter. One publishes a weight tolerance. Two publish a warranty. Everyone else describes the handle as “wide” and leaves it there. So this ranking is not a ranking of how the bells feel in our hands — we own none of them and have tested none of them. It is a ranking of what each maker is willing to put in writing, which is the only thing a buyer can actually check before the box arrives, and which turns out to track price fairly well.

The Titan Fitness 20 kg wins because its spec sheet is the only complete one in the category. REP Fitness has the finish built for grip and a seventeen-size ladder behind it. Marcy’s Hammertone is the only bell here with a two-year warranty. CAP Barbell is the dependable middle. Yes4All is the budget route to a usable bell and the only one here that publishes a weight tolerance. And the Amazon Basics bell is the right first purchase for someone who is not yet sure they will keep doing this. Every figure below is published by the maker and read on the dated visit linked under each write-up.

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Picks at a glance

Ranked on published specs, footprint and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not tested these ourselves — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Titan Fitness 20 kg (44 lb) Cast Iron Kettlebell

Titan Fitness 20 kg (44 lb) Cast Iron Kettlebell

The only kettlebell we cover whose maker publishes the handle diameter in millimeters — 37 mm through an 8 in window, powder-coated, single-cast, flat-based. If you want to know what you are gripping before you buy, this is the spec sheet.

Best overall
$84.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
REP Fitness Kettlebell (10 kg / 22 lb)

REP Fitness Kettlebell (10 kg / 22 lb)

A gravity-cast bell with a textured matte finish made for chalk and high-rep swings, from a maker that sells every size from 1 to 48 kg - so the bell you learn on has a whole family to grow into.

Best grip and size ladder
$49.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Marcy Hammertone Kettlebell (HKB-025, 25 lb)

Marcy Hammertone Kettlebell (HKB-025, 25 lb)

The longest warranty in the category at two years, on an enamel-coated cast bell sold in ten sizes — and Marcy says plainly that it is not built for commercial use.

Longest warranty
$39.99 · View on Amazon

$49.9920% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
CAP Barbell Cast Iron Competition Kettlebell

CAP Barbell Cast Iron Competition Kettlebell

CAP's cast iron kettlebell is a dependable mid-priced pick with a slightly nicer finish than rock-bottom options.

Best mid-price all-rounder
$72.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Yes4All Cast Iron Kettlebell

Yes4All Cast Iron Kettlebell

A no-frills single-cast kettlebell that does the job for the least money; the painted finish is the compromise.

Best budget pick
$58.82 · View on Amazon

$79.9726% off

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

6
Amazon Basics Cast Iron Kettlebell

Amazon Basics Cast Iron Kettlebell

Amazon's house-brand kettlebell is a fine cheap single bell, with molded weight markings and a painted finish typical of the price.

Best first bell
$35.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 13, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

What each maker is willing to publish

Read the 'Not published' cells as the finding, not as a gap in our research. These are the figures that decide whether a kettlebell suits your hands and your training, and five of the six makers here decline to state most of them.

SpecTitan Fitness 20 kg (44 lb) Cast Iron KettlebellREP Fitness Kettlebell (10 kg / 22 lb)Marcy Hammertone Kettlebell (HKB-025, 25 lb)CAP Barbell Cast Iron Competition KettlebellYes4All Cast Iron KettlebellAmazon Basics Cast Iron Kettlebell
FinishPowder-coatedTextured matteHammertone enamelPaintedBaked paintPainted
ConstructionSingle-piece castGravity-castCast ironSingle-piece castSingle-piece castCast iron
Handle diameter37 mmNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Handle width8 inNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Published weight toleranceNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published±3%Not published
Sizes in the line4–32 kg (9–70 lb)1–48 kg, 17 sizes10–55 lb, 10 sizesMultiple, light to heavy5–80 lb10–50 lb
Weight markingsDebossed, KG and LBColor-coded ring at baseNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedCast into the body
Flat baseYes, 4.5 in wideNot publishedNot publishedYesYesNot published
Published warranty1 yearNot published2-year limitedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
This listing20 kg (44 lb)10 kg (22 lb)25 lb30 lb40 lb25 lb

Every figure above is one the maker publishes, read on the dated visit linked under each write-up below. “Not published” means the maker does not state it — we do not fill the gap with an estimate.

The picks in full

#1Best overall

Titan Fitness 20 kg (44 lb) Cast Iron Kettlebell

The only kettlebell we cover whose maker publishes the handle diameter in millimeters — 37 mm through an 8 in window, powder-coated, single-cast, flat-based. If you want to know what you are gripping before you buy, this is the spec sheet.

Strengths

  • Titan publishes handle diameter (37 mm), handle width (8 in), overall height (10.5 in) and base width (4.5 in) — almost no kettlebell maker publishes all four
  • Powder-coated finish rather than baked paint, on a single-piece casting
  • Weight debossed in both KG and LB, so there is no sticker to wear off
  • The line runs 4 kg (9 lb) to 32 kg (70 lb), so the whole progression keeps one handle shape

Trade-offs

  • Costs several times what a painted big-box bell of the same weight costs
  • An 8 in window on a 37 mm bar is wide and thick — good for two hands, less comfortable for single-hand pressing than a thinner handle
  • Titan publishes a one-year warranty and no weight tolerance for the line
ConstructionSingle-piece cast iron
FinishPowder-coated black (Titan)
This listing20 kg (44 lb), single
Handle diameter37 mm
Handle width8 in
Overall height10.5 in
Base width4.5 in
Weight markingsDebossed in KG and LB
Weight options4 kg (9 lb) to 32 kg (70 lb)
Weight toleranceNot published
Warranty1 year

Worth knowing. Titan lists the bell as a single solid casting with a flat base for push-ups and a smooth wide-loop handle. The published 37 mm handle diameter matters because handle thickness decides whether a bell is comfortable in one hand or two, and it is the figure the cheap end of the category never prints — Yes4All, CAP and Amazon Basics all say only that the handle is “wide.”

Specs read from the product listing, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best grip and size ladder

REP Fitness Kettlebell (10 kg / 22 lb)

A gravity-cast bell with a textured matte finish made for chalk and high-rep swings, from a maker that sells every size from 1 to 48 kg - so the bell you learn on has a whole family to grow into.

Strengths

  • Textured matte finish REP says holds up over hundreds of swings without slipping or tearing hands
  • Gravity-cast body with a wide handle (listed as a special feature)
  • Color-coded ring at the base, and REP lists sizes from 1 kg to 48 kg plus pairs

Trade-offs

  • Costs more per pound than plain painted or vinyl-coated kettlebells
  • This listing is a 10 kg bell, lighter than the usual first bell for many men
  • REP does not publish a warranty on the listing
ConstructionGravity-cast (REP)
FinishTextured matte finish (REP)
HandleWide handle (listing special feature)
This listing10 kg (22 lb), single
Weight options1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, 44 and 48 kg; singles or pairs (REP)
MarkingsColor-coded ring at the base
WarrantyNot published on the listing

Worth knowing. REP describes the finish as a textured matte coat applied for grip and rust protection - that is the maker's claim, not a result we measured. What is checkable is the range: a maker that sells the same bell in seventeen sizes is one you can buy the next weight from without changing handle feel.

Specs read from the product listing, on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Longest warranty

Marcy Hammertone Kettlebell (HKB-025, 25 lb)

The longest warranty in the category at two years, on an enamel-coated cast bell sold in ten sizes — and Marcy says plainly that it is not built for commercial use.

Strengths

  • Two-year limited warranty from delivery — longer than any other bell we cover
  • Enamel coating over cast iron, which Marcy states is there to prevent rust
  • Ten published sizes (10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50 and 55 lb), so the steps between bells are small

Trade-offs

  • Marcy states the product is not intended for commercial use
  • Marcy publishes no handle diameter, no base diameter and no weight tolerance for the line
  • A hammertone enamel is still a sprayed finish — it will mark where the bell meets the floor
ConstructionCast iron
FinishHammertone enamel coating (Marcy)
This listing25 lb single (HKB-025)
Weight options10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55 lb
Handle diameterNot published
Weight toleranceNot published
Warranty2-year limited, from delivery
Intended useNot for commercial use (Marcy)

Worth knowing. Hammertone is a finish, not a construction: a textured enamel sprayed over the casting. Marcy's stated purpose for it is corrosion protection rather than grip, and the maker's own product page is the only place the two-year term is written down — the Amazon listing does not state it.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 10, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best mid-price all-rounder

CAP Barbell Cast Iron Competition Kettlebell

CAP's cast iron kettlebell is a dependable mid-priced pick with a slightly nicer finish than rock-bottom options.

Strengths

  • One-piece cast iron construction
  • Flat base stays put for renegade rows and push-ups
  • Available across a broad weight range

Trade-offs

  • Coated finish can wear where hands and floor make contact
  • Handle thickness grows with heavier weights
ConstructionSingle-piece cast iron
Weight optionsMultiple (light to heavy)
FinishPainted
BaseFlat bottom
HandleCast, textured

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best budget pick

Yes4All Cast Iron Kettlebell

A no-frills single-cast kettlebell that does the job for the least money; the painted finish is the compromise.

Strengths

  • Solid one-piece cast iron with no welds
  • Sold across a wide range from light to heavy
  • Among the cheapest kettlebells available

Trade-offs

  • Baked paint rather than powder coat - Yes4All says it resists chipping, but paint is still the finish that roughens first on a swung bell
  • Handle size and texture vary between weights
ConstructionSingle-piece cast iron
Weight options5–80 lb, single or pair
This listing40 lb single
FinishBaked paint (Yes4All)
Weight tolerance±3% (Yes4All)
BaseFlat bottom
HandleWide cast handle, one- or two-hand grip

Specs read from the product listing, on September 20, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best first bell

Amazon Basics Cast Iron Kettlebell

Amazon's house-brand kettlebell is a fine cheap single bell, with molded weight markings and a painted finish typical of the price.

Strengths

  • Solid cast iron with the weight molded into the side
  • Wide handle fits two-handed swings
  • Inexpensive and widely stocked

Trade-offs

  • Painted finish can chip when dropped
  • Fewer weight options than specialist brands
ConstructionCast iron
Weight options10–50 lb (varies)
FinishPainted
HandleWide cast handle
MarkingWeight cast into the body

Specs read from the product listing, on July 19, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How to choose a cast iron kettlebell

Start by discarding the thing most listings lead with. Weight capacity, star ratings and the number of exercises pictured on the box tell you nothing, because a lump of iron has no capacity to exceed and every kettlebell does every kettlebell exercise. What is left is four questions, in this order.

1. The finish, and why powder coat is the answer

A kettlebell lives on a hard floor and gets dragged, dropped and swung through a chalked grip. The coating is the part that experiences all of that. Powder coat is a dry polymer applied electrostatically and then baked, which produces a slightly grainy, hard-wearing shell — it is the finish that holds chalk, and the one Titan uses on the bell at the top of this page. Sprayed paint and enamel are cheaper and smoother, and they are the finishes that chip first: Yes4All uses a baked paint and says it resists chipping, Marcy uses a hammertone enamel and says its purpose is rust prevention, and CAP and Amazon Basics simply say “painted.” None of those is a reason not to buy, but they are the reason a cheap bell looks rough after a year while a powder-coated one looks the same as the day it arrived.

Then there is the finish we did not pick at all: vinyl coating. A vinyl-jacketed cast iron bell is genuinely the right call in exactly one situation — a hard floor you cannot protect and light bells you set down rather than swing. Everywhere else it is a trap, because the jacket makes the handle slick when your hands are damp, it cannot take chalk, and the seam where the vinyl meets the iron is a wear point. If your worry is the floor, buy a mat and a bare bell rather than a coated one.

2. The handle, which is the only spec that matters and almost nobody prints

Handle thickness is the single most consequential dimension on a kettlebell and the one the category keeps to itself. Titan publishes 37 mm diameter through an 8 in windowon its 20 kg bell. That is a genuinely useful number: it is thick enough that heavy two-handed swings do not fold your fingers into your palm, and wide enough that both hands fit with room to spare. It is also, honestly, more handle than many people want for single-hand pressing or snatches — a thinner bar is easier to hold onto one-handed, and the heavier bells in any line get thicker handles because the casting has to carry more metal.

Every other maker here says the handle is “wide,” “textured” or a “special feature,” which is marketing rather than a measurement. If you have small hands, or you already know that a thick bar bothers you, that silence is a real risk and the Titan spec sheet is worth paying for. Two practical checks cost nothing: a bell you intend to swing two-handed needs a window wide enough for two hands side by side with no overlap, and a bell you intend to press needs a handle you can close your fingers fully around. A kettlebell you cannot grip is a kettlebell you will not use.

3. Single-piece casting, and the one weld to avoid

A traditional kettlebell is poured as one piece, so the handle and the ball are the same continuous metal with no joint anywhere in the load path. Titan, Yes4All and CAP all state single-piece construction; REP describes its bells as gravity-cast, which is the same idea named by the pouring method. What you are avoiding is the cheapest possible construction, a handle welded or bolted onto a body, which puts a seam at the exact point carrying the whole load through a swing. It is rare now, but it still turns up at the bottom of marketplace listings and it is worth one look at the product photos to confirm the handle flows into the ball rather than meeting it.

A flat base matters for a less dramatic reason: it lets the bell sit still for renegade rows and push-ups, and it means the bell does not tip when you set it down between sets. Titan publishes a 4.5 in base width, CAP and Yes4All state a flat bottom, and the rest leave it to the photos.

4. The size ladder, because you progress by buying another bell

This is the planning question people skip and then regret. Dumbbells progress by adding a plate or turning a dial. Kettlebells progress by picking up a heavier bell, and the jumps are big — the conventional ladder runs 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 and 32 kg, which in pounds is roughly 18, 26, 35, 44, 53 and 70. A single jump can be a 20% increase in load, which is far more than you would ever add to a barbell lift in one step.

So buy into a line with rungs close together. REP publishes seventeen sizes from 1 kg to 48 kg, which is the widest ladder here and means the next bell is always a small step with the same handle shape. Marcy publishes ten sizes in 5 lb steps from 10 to 55 lb, which is unusually fine at the light end and genuinely useful if you are pressing. Titan runs 4 kg to 32 kg. Yes4All spans 5 to 80 lb. If you have no idea where to start, our kettlebell weight guide works through the first bell, the second, and why the bell you swing is heavier than the bell you press.

What a published weight tolerance tells you

Yes4All states ±3%, and it is the only maker in this group that publishes a tolerance at all. On a 40 lb bell that is up to 1.2 lb of variance either way, which matters less than it sounds for swings and carries and more than you would think if you are chasing a one-arm press at the top of your range. The number itself is not the point — competition-grade bells hold much tighter tolerances and cost accordingly. The point is that a maker who prints a tolerance is a maker who measures, and in a category where nearly everyone declines to state anything checkable, that is information worth having.

Cast iron or adjustable?

Worth settling before you spend. A single-weight cast bell is cheaper per bell, has nothing to fail, and feels like a kettlebell should because it is one piece of iron. An adjustable bell replaces several weights in one footprint — the Bowflex SelectTech 840 covers six settings from 8 to 40 lb — which is the better answer in a small apartment, and the worse answer if you swing hard, because the body is bulkier and the mechanism is the thing you are trusting. We lay both cases out in cast iron vs adjustable kettlebell. The short version: if you have the floor space for two or three fixed bells, buy them.

And if you are still deciding what to load at all, kettlebells are not automatically the right first purchase. Dumbbells vs kettlebells is the comparison before this page, and a pair of adjustable dumbbells covers more exercises for most beginners. Kettlebells earn their place when you want swings, cleans and carries — movements a dumbbell does badly.

The bells to skip, and why

Being specific is more useful than being diplomatic. Skip any bell whose listing shows a welded or bolted handle— the seam sits in the load path. Skip vinyl-coated bells above about 25 lb, because the weights where you most want chalk and grip are exactly the weights where a slick jacket is worst. Skip sets sold as a single bundle of five mismatched weights unless the per-bell price genuinely beats buying the two sizes you will actually use; most people use two bells and store three. And be wary of any listing that states a weight only in pounds with no casting detail, no finish named and no size ladder behind it — that combination usually means a one-off import with no second bell to buy when you outgrow it.

One caution that applies to the whole category rather than any product in it: a kettlebell swing is a hip hinge performed fast, and it is the single most commonly mis-taught movement in home training. Learn the hinge before you add speed, and if the swing is the reason you are buying, the money is better spent on a lighter bell plus coaching than on a heavier bell alone. Public-health guidance asks for muscle-strengthening work twice a week; it does not ask for it to be fast.

Frequently asked questions

Are cast iron kettlebells better than coated ones?

Cast iron is the construction and the coating is what goes on top, so the real question is which coating. A powder coat is baked on, holds chalk and wears best - Titan uses one. Sprayed paint and enamel are cheaper and mark first, which is what Yes4All, CAP, Marcy and Amazon Basics use. A vinyl jacket is the odd one out: it protects your floor but makes the handle slick when your hands are damp and cannot take chalk, so it only makes sense for light bells on a floor you cannot otherwise protect.

What handle diameter should a kettlebell have?

Thick enough that heavy two-handed swings do not fold your fingers into your palm, thin enough that you can close your hand fully for presses. Titan publishes 37 mm through an 8 in window on its 20 kg bell, which is the only published handle figure in this group and is a sensible two-handed size. No other maker here states a number, so if you have small hands or know that thick bars bother you, that published spec is worth paying for.

Does a single-piece cast kettlebell matter?

Yes, and it is easy to check. A one-piece casting has no joint anywhere in the load path, so there is nothing to fail where the handle meets the ball. Titan, Yes4All and CAP all state single-piece construction and REP describes its bells as gravity-cast, which is the same thing named by the pouring method. What you are avoiding is a handle welded or bolted to a body, which puts a seam at the exact point carrying the whole load through a swing.

How heavy should my first cast iron kettlebell be?

Heavier than most people buy, because a kettlebell swing is driven by the hips rather than the arms and too light a bell turns it into an arm exercise. The conventional ladder runs 8, 12, 16, 20, 24 and 32 kg - roughly 18, 26, 35, 44, 53 and 70 lb - and the bell you swing should be heavier than the bell you press. Our kettlebell weight guide works through typical starting sizes and what to buy second.

Which kettlebell brand makes the best cast iron bells?

On what is published rather than on hands-on testing, Titan Fitness: it is the only maker in this group that states handle diameter, handle width, overall height and base width, and it uses a powder coat on a single-piece casting. REP Fitness is the strongest alternative because of the ladder behind it - seventeen sizes from 1 kg to 48 kg with the same handle shape throughout - and Marcy is the only brand here offering a two-year warranty. We own none of these bells and have tested none of them.

Do cast iron kettlebells rust?

Bare iron will, which is why every bell on this page is coated. Marcy states explicitly that its enamel coating is there to prevent rust; powder coat does the same job more durably. The places rust starts are the places the coating has been removed - chips on the base from being set down hard, and wear on the handle from chalk and repeated gripping. Wiping a bell down after a sweaty session and storing it off a damp concrete floor handles nearly all of it.

Is a kettlebell set better value than buying bells individually?

Usually not, for a reason that has nothing to do with price per pound: most people train with two bells and store the rest. A five-bell bundle sounds efficient and then leaves you with three sizes you never pick up. Buy the one bell you will swing, add a lighter one for pressing when you know you want it, and spend the difference on a bell from a line with close-spaced sizes so the next step up is a small one.

Do any of these kettlebells come with a warranty?

Two of the six publish one. Marcy states a 2-year limited warranty from the delivery date, the longest here, and also states that the product is not intended for commercial use. Titan publishes one year. REP, CAP, Yes4All and Amazon Basics publish no warranty term on the listings we read. On an object with no moving parts that matters less than it would on a treadmill, but it is still the clearest signal of what a maker expects its coating to survive.

Sources

  • Titan Fitness — 20 KG Cast Iron Kettlebell — The most complete kettlebell spec sheet of any maker we cover, and the only one that prints the handle in millimeters: 'Overall Height: 10.5-in.', 'Handle Width: 8-in.', 'Handle Diameter: 37 mm', 'Base Width: 4.5-in.', 'Finish: Powder-Coated Black', 'Material: Cast Iron', 'Product Weight: 20 KG / 44 lb.'. Titan describes a single-piece casting with a flat base and 'debossed weight indications in KG and LB', and states the line runs from 4 KG (9-pounds) up to 32 KG (70-pounds) with a one-year warranty. No weight tolerance is published (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • Marcy — 25 lb Hammertone Kettlebell (HKB-025) — Marcy's own page is the only place the warranty term appears: '2-Year Limited Warranty' from the delivery date, the longest of any kettlebell on this site. It also states 'Durable Hammertone Finish' and 'Enamel Coating Prevents Rust' over a 'Cast Iron Kettlebell', lists the line as 'Available in 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, and 55lb', and carries the limitation in Marcy's own words: 'This product is not intended for commercial use'. No handle diameter, base diameter or weight tolerance is published (accessed October 10, 2026)
  • Titan Fitness — Warranty policy — One-year coverage, and not transferable beyond the original purchaser who bought direct from Titan (accessed July 20, 2026)
  • CDC — Adult Activity: An Overview — CDC on muscle-strengthening 2+ days/week, 8–12 reps, all major muscle groups (accessed July 19, 2026)
  • U.S. HHS / ODPHP — Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans (2nd ed.) — Federal guideline: 150–300 min/week moderate aerobic + muscle strengthening 2+ days (accessed July 19, 2026)

Keep reading